Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful translation by a spiritual practitioner
Eknath Easwaran's translation goes straight to the heart of the Upanishads. It is immediately clear that Easwaran was not primarily driven by scholarly or poetic ambitions. He was a spiritual practitioner himself, and as such, his aim was to help other practitoners on their path. In this context, it is important to note that the Upanishads can be seen as a universal...
Published on 27 Feb. 2011 by Vyasa

versus
0 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars ok
Not really impressed, full of fairy stories and lovely pictures though. Found it quite boring after a while and just put it aside.
Published 12 months ago by Suki Mar, London


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a must, 6 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Upanishads (Classic of Indian Spirituality) (Paperback)
This edition is particularly helpful. It definitely helps one to understand what is potentially a difficult text to understand.(I found it hard)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Upanishads., 24 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Upanishads (Classic of Indian Spirituality) (Paperback)
A great book for those seeking to find out a bit more about us Humans and what makes us tick. One to keep and read again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Upanishads, 29 May 2013
This review is from: The Upanishads (Classic of Indian Spirituality) (Paperback)
Eknath translates in such a way that makes the turn of the page totally impelling to a Western reader. Just beautiful
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Peace be with you, 2 Jan. 2013
By 
Ruth (South Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Upanishads (Classic of Indian Spirituality) (Paperback)
Read it, absorb it, very inspiring, and it arrived very quickly as well. I thought it was every good. Thankyou
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 3 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Upanishads (Classic of Indian Spirituality) (Paperback)
Beautifully presented a written book which I'm currently half way through. I highly recommend it to anyone Hindu or non hindu, religous or not there's a lot of meaningful truths that are still relevant today. So far I've loved this book. It came very quickly as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent., 13 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Upanishads (Classic of Indian Spirituality) (Paperback)
I remember a time when many texts from the east were more or less inaccessible or in bad translation that made them cryptic. Upanishads are part of mankind's ancient spiritual history. These are coherent translations that can be recited and memorised
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good Book, 13 Oct. 2013
By 
Mr. J. F. Krehan "sci-fi gourmet" (Milton Keynes , UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Upanishads (Classic of Indian Spirituality) (Paperback)
This an attractive version of the classic Upanishads and an informative one. The notes and the intoduction are very useful in appreciating these gems of Hindu wisdom.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it., 17 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Upanishads (Classic of Indian Spirituality) (Paperback)
I want to find out more about ancient religions and the meaning of life. I love reading these sort of scriptures and hope it can help me. Thank you so much:)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must have book for yoga teachers, 5 Jun. 2011
By 
George A. Watts (Mid Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Upanishads (Classic of Indian Spirituality) (Paperback)
When taking my Yoga Teacher Training course with the BWY, this book was at the top of the recommended books list along with the Gita (both by Easwaran). I've purchased other Upanishad and Gita books (not written by Easwaran)and they pale in comparison.

If you teach yoga, this is one of those must have resources for yoga teachers. I add a bit of Upanishad and Gita teachings into most of my classes (students love a bit of yoga philosophy, though not too much).

Other great yoga teacher resources include...

Yoga Teacher Lesson Plan Kit [DVD], which inludes 1001 Yoga Lesson Planning Tips, Tools & Templates For Yoga Teachers.

Yoga Teacher Business Kit [DVD], which inludes 201 Business Tips, Tools & Templates For Yoga Teachers.

Quick Yoga Sites [DVD], which shows yoga teachers how to set up a great looking website with zero technical skills.

Yoga Studio Business Plan Kit [DVD]which inludes 201 tips, tools and templates to help you build and grow a successful yoga studio.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic, 9 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am not qualified to review this book. Read it and become a better person. Don't become attached to my comment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Upanishads (Classic of Indian Spirituality)
The Upanishads (Classic of Indian Spirituality) by Eknath Easwaran (Paperback - 28 Aug. 2007)
£6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews