Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars classic Sedaris
David Sedaris Live at Carnegie Hall is a recording of excerpts from Sedaris 2002 tour, recorded at Carnegie Hall. Repeat After Me is a piece that explores the use of family anecdotes, in this case, of his somewhat paranoid sister Lisa, for material in his books and essays. Hilarious throughout, the last line none-the-less brings a lump to the throat. Who's the Chef...
Published on 22 Aug. 2011 by Cloggie Downunder

versus
13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good introduction to the man
Having heard him earlier in the year on Radio 4 I bought 'Holidays on Ice' for some friends, as it has '6 to 8 black men' on it, which I think is his funniest piece, but the rest of that disc wasn't really suitable. This is an ideal introduction to his work, as it's funny and the audience really helps sell the humour. At 70 mins though, it is a little short, hence only...
Published on 3 Nov. 2010 by SteekPie


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars classic Sedaris, 22 Aug. 2011
By 
Cloggie Downunder (Australia) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: David Sedaris Live at Carnegie Hall (Audio CD)
David Sedaris Live at Carnegie Hall is a recording of excerpts from Sedaris 2002 tour, recorded at Carnegie Hall. Repeat After Me is a piece that explores the use of family anecdotes, in this case, of his somewhat paranoid sister Lisa, for material in his books and essays. Hilarious throughout, the last line none-the-less brings a lump to the throat. Who's the Chef explores dinner party conversations and one-up-manship. Lesson Three explores going clothing shopping with Amy; Lesson Four, male accessories, in particular an external catheter. Six to Eight Black Men explores local gun laws and Christmas customs in foreign countries. As a Cloggie, this one was particularly entertaining. Throughout, Sedaris self-deprecating manner and original humour has the audience rolling in the aisles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Completely hilarious, 1 July 2011
By 
S. E. Walsh (Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: David Sedaris Live at Carnegie Hall (Audio CD)
I never tire of listening to David Sedaris. This recording includes 'Six to Eight Black Men', which is one of his funniest; I'd loved to have been in the audience in Carnegie Hall when this was recorded. I've also bought 'Me Talk Pretty One Day', which is equally delightful, and I intend buying more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars David Sedaris live at Carnegie Hall, 13 April 2010
By 
Pat45 "Pats" (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
We laughed till we cried when listening to this CD, haven't laughed so much in ages. A great tonic. BUY IT!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Strangely addictive, 4 Feb. 2012
This review is from: David Sedaris Live at Carnegie Hall (Audio CD)
A new find for me - and slightly mystifying: listening to someone who sounds like Woody Allen's younger brother producing yard upon yard of often random thoughts shouldn't be quite as hypnotically fascinating - but it certainly is!
Not always laugh-out-loud, but often wry-smile-out-loud.
And yes, I would go to hear him if he ever came to the UK.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good introduction to the man, 3 Nov. 2010
This review is from: David Sedaris Live at Carnegie Hall (Audio CD)
Having heard him earlier in the year on Radio 4 I bought 'Holidays on Ice' for some friends, as it has '6 to 8 black men' on it, which I think is his funniest piece, but the rest of that disc wasn't really suitable. This is an ideal introduction to his work, as it's funny and the audience really helps sell the humour. At 70 mins though, it is a little short, hence only 3 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars VERY FUNNY, THOUGHT PROVOKING AND DECEPTIVELY SIMPLE TO LISTEN TO ..., 7 Oct. 2013
By 
Anne Hopper "Gate-worm" (Cumbria, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: David Sedaris Live at Carnegie Hall (Audio CD)
Having heard David Sedaris on BBC Radio 4 I wanted to hear more - this audio CD came up to expectations - very funny, thought provoking and deceptivelfy simple to listen to. I think he is an aquired taste, thankfully I have acquired it and will seek out more CD. I enjoy his books, but hearing him read them adds immensely to the enjoyment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funny, funny David Sedaris, 9 Dec. 2011
By 
Cathedral Fan (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: David Sedaris Live at Carnegie Hall (Audio CD)
Love this CD - great for the car. Just a funny little guy reading out his essays - but it certainly appeals to me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars David Sedaris never bombs, 14 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: David Sedaris Live at Carnegie Hall (Audio CD)
How could David Sedaris fail to have his audiences crying with laughter. He is one of the world's greatest humorists
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great, 22 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: David Sedaris Live at Carnegie Hall (Audio CD)
Both funny and poignant and a great insight in to human behavior.
It brought to mind my own childhood and make be realize that parents are also human.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Seriously funny, 30 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: David Sedaris Live at Carnegie Hall (Audio CD)
David Sedaris is a funny man. We love playing this CD in our car ("It's got a CD player, player, player, player" ref. `Buck Rogers' by Feeder).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

David Sedaris Live at Carnegie Hall
David Sedaris Live at Carnegie Hall by David Sedaris (Audio CD - 6 Nov. 2003)
£14.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews