Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a very touching true story, 3 Feb 2008
This review is from: The Song of Bernadette (Paperback)
i read this book after seeing the film, and i must admit the book was quite good maybe even better than the film!!! a good story line about bernadette and her poor family, then the story goes more in depth as bernadetts visions of the lady increase, in the end the town is divided !!! some believe her and others are more wary.... after all the visions end bernadette is told by the village priest she must go into a convent " i told you at the beginning that you was playing with fire bernadette!!!!,he said.........the last chapters about her life in the convent was quite sad, she was very ill and had a hard time off the old cruel reverand mother, bernadette died very young and the ending is sad, but the story lives on today as strong as the day bernadette first told of her first vision........................
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, 12 Oct 2009
By 
Freya (Derry. N. Ireland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Song of Bernadette (Paperback)
The Song of BernadetteA brilliant book which I couldn't put down. Got hooked from the first page. This means so much when choosing a book. I would recommend it to anyone. Franz Werfel knows how to capture the reader.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Humbling Experience, 1 April 2008
By 
Mrs. K. Sims (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Song of Bernadette (Paperback)
I read this book, knowing a little about the Lourdes Visions, but now I know so much more. The author has gone so in depth and created such a vivid picture of how it all happened and the type of person Bernadette was and also her family. I felt very humbled after reading this book at the poverty and suffering this poor young girl went through without giving up on her faith. A wonderful experience that has left a mark on me
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent value for money, 3 July 2014
By 
Mr. N. Clarke (Lancashire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Song of Bernadette (Audio CD)
This is an uplifting novel of hope and optimism in the most poverty stricken of environments. I find that the audio book is a convenient medium: you can listen whilst doing other things. In this case, if you listen to a CD each day (around an hour and fifteen minutes), you will complete the novel in just over a fortnight (fifteen CDs). As such, excellent value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good film, 22 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The song of Bernadette (Hardcover)
We enjoyed this film, good story line, a classic to be viewed by all, especially those who practice the catholic religion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars beautiful to read, 3 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Song of Bernadette (Paperback)
Decided to buy this book after reading recommendations of it here on amazon, well I am really glad i bought this book as it is a pleasure to read, some parts of it really make you smile, the author does a brilliant job in setting the scene the characters really come to life, you can visualise all the places involved in the apparitions. The book is a joy I couldnt put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An inspired account of St Bernadette's life, 24 Dec 2010
By 
This review is from: The Song of Bernadette (Paperback)
I am sure that this account of the life of St Bernadette, basically true but with some filling in of details, is a major work that God wants known both to Christians and non Christians.

It demonstrates that being a committed Christian is the ultimate joy but also involves carrying your cross for Jesus which can test you to the utmost but never without the support of Jesus and knowing that He promised it would not be too much for you.

May God bless all who read this book or see the DVD of Bernadette's life,with the same tiltle, originally made as a film which got Jennifer Jones an Oscar.

John Middleton
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Song of Bernadette
The Song of Bernadette by Franz Werfel (Paperback - 30 Oct 2006)
11.63
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews