Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


100 of 102 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very, very useful
I rate this book as a lucky chance find. Just about every page is packed with useful information. It covers it's subject comprehensively in a readable style, interspersed by interesting facts e.g. the original definition of a (Roman) mile.
Many books on navigation assume background knowledge, which may not always be available. Starting with basics including mapping...
Published on 30 Jan 2004 by Dai Dant

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Poorly done
Considering the big SAS from the cover , you would expect a really detailed and complete book. But it is not the case. Images are amateur done , and the text its just for general use . You can find most of the things from this book written on Wikipedia.
Published 9 months ago by Tudor Cotiga


Most Helpful First | Newest First

100 of 102 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very, very useful, 30 Jan 2004
By 
Dai Dant (Dyfed, West Wales) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The SAS Tracking & Navigation Handbook (Paperback)
I rate this book as a lucky chance find. Just about every page is packed with useful information. It covers it's subject comprehensively in a readable style, interspersed by interesting facts e.g. the original definition of a (Roman) mile.
Many books on navigation assume background knowledge, which may not always be available. Starting with basics including mapping conventions and grid reference systems, it goes on to give very detailed and valuable coverage to quite an advanced level. Use of handheld GPS instruments is thoroughly explored. The emphasis is on terrestrial navigation though coastal and maritime topics are also thoroughly described. The only significant and deliberate ommission is astro-navigation with a sextant, which would be of historical interest only to the great majority.
The book continues with very practical advice on survival planning, search & rescue procedures, and tracking. Lastly there is an chapter on escape and evasion which I hope will remain interesting theory to me!
In summary, a valued and interesting book which deserves to stay in print for a long time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Readable and useful, 15 Jun 2006
By 
Laurire P. Neale (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The SAS Tracking & Navigation Handbook (Paperback)
This book is a perfect introduction to this topic. The style of writing is very easy to follow and it allows you to drop in and out of the book as you please. It starts with the absolute basics but manages to keep each section more or less independent of the others. I would have liked some more information on astro-navigation. This guy has managed to explain all other complex ideas so simply that I think we expect him to be able to the same for astro-navigation, which simply is another book in its own right. I'm sure any beginner who buys this book will find it an enjoyable read and it will spark a curiosity to learn more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A perfect encyclopedia and handbook, 12 Nov 2007
By 
Brian Michael Bo Pedersen (Struer, Denmark) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The SAS Tracking & Navigation Handbook (Paperback)
This is the book every outdoor/soldier should have!

Every page is full of usefull and easy-to-understand information and how to use a compass and almost every navigation method used.

Perfect for the first-time user and for the experienced outdoor and soldier
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, 27 Feb 2010
By 
This review is from: The SAS Tracking & Navigation Handbook (Paperback)
This book should be interesting and informative to most people who open its covers. Some of it, eg how to escape when being pursued, will never be needed but never the less makes interesting reading. Most of the book is of usable info set out in an easily digestible manner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Poorly done, 6 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The SAS Tracking & Navigation Handbook (Paperback)
Considering the big SAS from the cover , you would expect a really detailed and complete book. But it is not the case. Images are amateur done , and the text its just for general use . You can find most of the things from this book written on Wikipedia.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Does exactly what it says on the cover, 28 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The SAS Tracking & Navigation Handbook (Paperback)
Great book for anyone interested in the subject both new and experienced trackers would find useful info in this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 1 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The SAS Tracking & Navigation Handbook (Paperback)
I got this book to give me ideas for a Scout Group, it has very good information, i have come back to the book several times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Really Usefull Advice, 22 Dec 2011
This review is from: The SAS Tracking & Navigation Handbook (Paperback)
I bought this title more for the map reading and navigational advice but found a lot of usefull information to help in emergencie's and survival i definately reccommend this to everyone very clear and usefull.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars navigation hand book, 4 May 2011
By 
Gp Russ "Russty" (essex uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The SAS Tracking & Navigation Handbook (Paperback)
navigation hand book this is an excellent book and its not just for the sas its perfect for hikers scouts young and old etc ....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The SAS Tracking & Navigation Handbook
The SAS Tracking & Navigation Handbook by Neil Wilson (Paperback - 1 May 2002)
11.71
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews