Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars15
4.3 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
3
3 star
4
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: PaperbackChange
Price:£9.50+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 September 2001
As a youth team coach, I find this book an invaluable tool. Each section deals with a specific discipline (passing, shooting, dribbling, etc), and the drills are keymarked for age groups. The drills themselves are imaginative, and evolve in complexity as the age-group grows. Most importantly, the authors deal with the psychology of coaching and learning. They stress that kids play soccer TO HAVE FUN - a fact that too many coaches overlook. I've based my teams' training sessions around this book. In our last tournament, we scored 15 goals against the opponents, while none were scored on us. The best part is that the kids HAD FUN. I've read many books on coaching; this is the best.
0Comment63 of 66 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2003
After being thrown in at the deep end of coaching an under 8s football team i decided i needed some help, so i got myself 3 coaching books.Although all 3 books have been of some help, Coaching youth soccer:an essential guide for parents and coaches has been invalueble.The book focuses on the main aspect of youth football,ENJOYMENT.In the short time i've been using this book i have become more confident in my ability to coach,but also the children have all improved there football ability and enjoy not only playing competative matches but also enjoy our training sessions.If you only buy one coaching book make it this one "it,s as good as it gets". At this moment our team is third in the leauge and only conceded 6 goals in 14 games, but most importantly the children are enjoying the game of football as much as i am coaching it.If you've been ask'ed to coach your local youth team and you are in two minds,dont be.Buy this book,coach the team,and watch the game of football being played by children who love playing football,win lose or draw.
0Comment52 of 55 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2005
I purchased three books last year when asked to coach an Under 7's team. This has proved to be the best (as well as cheapest) of them all.
It explains how it is all about kid enjoying themselves and how to create a positive atmosphere. It also has loads of great ideas for training sessions. I still return to this book 12 months on for ideas.
My team have been very successful which I put down to them enjoying themselves and playing in a stress free environment.
Buy it, its probably the only one you will need!
0Comment23 of 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2015
Have had this book for about five years now, and have used it and loaned it ever since. Not a "here's your session plan for the rest of the season" book - it's much better and much more helpful than that in encouraging coaching tailored properly to the characteristics of each age-group, The drills are simple, well thought out and progressive. They are designed to create situations where players of all abilities develop good football habits with the minimum of 'coaching'. I recommend it to all kids coaches. Read it and re-read.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2014
As I am going to be taking the level one coaching course, I decided to buy a few books to hopefully gain more insight and be better prepared. Seems to have some good tips and drills, but after the reading the first few chapters which are a background on creating the right environment, which is good advice, I think the rest of the book is to be used as a reference only, or flick through when looking at various areas of the team, rather then reading the book from cover to cover
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2006
Having looked at a number of football coaching books, manuals and the FA coaching package there is simply nothing as good as Denis Ford's book. There is so much for a new coach (like myself) or an established coach to utilise from the book in simple, well explained and diagrammatic form. This should be on every youth soccer coaches bookshelf. It isn't glossy, doesn't suffer from player endorsement (or some FA) baggage but gives advice the way it should be for coach, players and parents. It is simple, honest and totally practical.

I leant the book to a friend who has been coaching a team from U8's up to U11's. Overnight he changed his whole training regime.

This is a must buy book for all mini-soccer coaches.
0Comment9 of 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2008
Sorry to disagree with the prvious reviews, BUT there is better on the Market try the Sucess In Soccer basic manual. There is also supporting DVDS all age specific.

If you are starting out USE SIS very simple and well structured programme. very typically German in its approach which is its strength.

Level 3 Coach.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2013
Bought this for my partner and son for them to get some ideas to make football training fun. Lots of easy to do drills aimed at improving a variety of skills. Well laid out and easy to read, highly recommended
0Comment1 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2013
started coaching coaching an under 8's team when i couldn't play myself after a car accident found this book very helpful the players have fun doing the drills at this age football should be fun a good book for all ages
0Comment0 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2013
This is a good book for first time coaches who are coaching under 9s with plenty of drill and exercises to retain the childrens interest. More advanced drills would be required for older children
0Comment0 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse