Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


57 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic book and a great starting point
In this book Freke & Gandy provides you with some of the most thought provoking text attributed to Hermes and adding their take on the meaning of these in a manner that aims to help you in understanding the texts themselves.

Corpus Hermeticum is a collection of texts compiled in 18 books (although they have not included anything from book 15 here), written...
Published on 10 Mar 2011 by A. Fosse

versus
13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Copy paste
I LOVE Freke and Gandy, and Jesus mysteries is one of the 3 most important books in my life. But this book is a simple copy paste of superficial ideas from the Hermetic basic books. I learnt nothing new, and authors didn't add any particular thought from their own. If you are interested in Hermetica read the Kybalion and you can skip this other book.
Published on 28 Feb 2012 by Jose from Madrid


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

57 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic book and a great starting point, 10 Mar 2011
By 
A. Fosse "Neet" (Brussels, Belgium) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hermetica: The Lost Wisdom of the Pharaohs (Paperback)
In this book Freke & Gandy provides you with some of the most thought provoking text attributed to Hermes and adding their take on the meaning of these in a manner that aims to help you in understanding the texts themselves.

Corpus Hermeticum is a collection of texts compiled in 18 books (although they have not included anything from book 15 here), written originally in Greek and in Alexandria. You will be given a short history of the origins and thoughts around wether or not it was written by the Sage himself or by several authors since it is written in Greek but referes to scrips written in hieroglyphs.
This history of the text itslf makes you realise how thought provoking it has been and still is, and makes you curious as to know why.

Each text is presented by Freke & Gandy's take on what Hermes trully means by what he writes and provides you with an idea of what frame of mind you need to put yourself in as you read it. This helped me greatly in opening my mind to let the words speak to me as Hermes would have had us do.

They have also chosen to write his words, not as the expected dialog which is the way Corpus Hermetica is originally written, but as clear cut speach. This is very helpfull for anyone not to familiar or comfortable with the usual form of writing, and or someone who is unfamiliar with philosophical writings and of Hermetic thought to begin with.

I highly reccommend anyone interested in understading the mythology of the Egyptians, ancient relligion, Sufis, philosophy or religion as a whole to purchase this book as a companion to the original writings of Corpus Hermeticum as it will help you understand the basis of these better.

One can really understand the many thinkers of our history that has been inspired by these writings, and also why so many rigid religious people has tried to destroy or discredit these words of ancient wisdom.

I hope to have provided you with some help, and wish you luck on your quest for knowledge!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


83 of 89 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent glimpse into Egypts past, 21 Mar 1999
By A Customer
This is one of the most accessible books on the works of the Hermetica available to the casual reader. It gives a fascinating glimpse into a philosophy that was held nearly 5000 years ago. After reading this book it is no wonder to me that the ideas expressed have endured so long and influenced so many of the greatest minds in history. It is definitely a 'must' for any student of Egypt and earlier religions, not to mention a thought provoking series of passages that force a re-evaluation of our place in the Universe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


68 of 74 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Discover the Egyptian religious beliefs from 5000 years ago., 21 Oct 2008
By 
Amazon Customer (Bournemouth UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
The Hermetica: The Lost Wisdom of the Pharaohs
The original "Hermetica" as compiled by Greek scholars in Alexandria in the early centuries CE is a complex work in eighteen volumes, Freke and Gander have extracted twenty key extracts presenting them with their own overviews and new translations.

These teachings from the earliest Egyptian records 5000 years ago bring together a comprehensive statement of the basis of subsequent religions, the zodiac, and astrology constituting a profoundly worthwhile study.

Highly recommended and essential for anyone discovering the fascination of the early pagan and Christians religions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Introduction to Hermetica, 14 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A good book for an introduction to hermeticism. The book basically gives a basic outline of hermetica but explains it well so it is easy to understand, you wont be overwhelmed by long, complicated text, plus a little history. Great as an introduction for beginers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Hermetica, 2 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hermetica: The Lost Wisdom of the Pharaohs (Paperback)
I highly recommend this book to anyone ready for it. Many interesting things are contained within. An excellent read and definitely a keeper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Copy paste, 28 Feb 2012
This review is from: The Hermetica: The Lost Wisdom of the Pharaohs (Paperback)
I LOVE Freke and Gandy, and Jesus mysteries is one of the 3 most important books in my life. But this book is a simple copy paste of superficial ideas from the Hermetic basic books. I learnt nothing new, and authors didn't add any particular thought from their own. If you are interested in Hermetica read the Kybalion and you can skip this other book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 16 Mar 2007
By 
Mrs. A. M. Chadwick (Lancashire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have been to Egypt, the first time was in 1993, and I made my mind up that I'd like to study Egyptology.

Although in my second year of studying Egyptology, during my third year I will be studying the Egyptian religion. Although it isn't one of the study books I will be required to read I still decided to purchase it.

This classical sacred literature is believed to have been written by Hermes, an Egyptian sage, it is believed that it was written 3000 B.C.

The people thought his wisdom was great.

This is the first times this has been available to others rather then just scholars, archaeologists and anthropologists. The books authors have done endless research to present a collection of excerpts that would be understand and relevant to today's people of the world. You could say it's the earliest form of a religious bible to be written.

It's very interesting to see the way they thought back then and how we'd translate to fit our present day. I have always been interested in the Ancient Egyptian Religion and I found this book informative, interesting and enjoyable to read.

Whether you are studying Egyptology or just want a little more knowledge about the Egyptian Religion this is a good starting point.

It makes an excellent edition to my little Egyptian library, which now stands at nearly 1000 books on this subject. :-)

Have a look at the rest of my reviews, you'll find number of Egyptian books mentioned. :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars at last it makes sense, 14 Feb 2011
This review is from: The Hermetica: The Lost Wisdom of the Pharaohs (Paperback)
I knew it was a good book, but thanks to Freke & Gandy, they made it a good read too. Excellent reference, thought provoking and now understandable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truths, 24 Nov 2010
This review is from: The Hermetica: The Lost Wisdom of the Pharaohs (Paperback)
Congratulations to you for being drawn towards this book. It is an excellent introduction to the eternal 'Truths' that make each of our lives on earth distinctly meaningful.
This book will help you on your journey of learning.
Equally important is the fact that it is also an enjoyable read!
Well done mssrs Freke and Gandy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ancient Egypt Spiritual, 2 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hermetica: The Lost Wisdom of the Pharaohs (Paperback)
Felt like I was an ancient Egyptian, well written translation of the Hermetica, and captures well, the idea of Atum- The godhead. It's a very small book, and I read it quickly. However brief, it was inspiring in its own spiritual way. Phrases nicely, and vivid language, enjoyed my journey through this book. Into the land of ancient egyptian thought.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Hermetica: The Lost Wisdom of the Pharaohs
The Hermetica: The Lost Wisdom of the Pharaohs by Timothy Freke (Paperback - 26 Dec 2008)
£5.88
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews