Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


115 of 124 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Recommended
This book contains 26 literary works from the early Christian Church. These "books" were extant in the early Church, but when the New Testament was officially organized into Canon Scripture (officially accepted books), these were among those left behind. This book was originally published in 1890, reprinted in 1926, and again in 1979.
As one might expect with any...
Published on 16 Sep 2004 by Kurt A. Johnson

versus
16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Books omitted from the New Testament
Although the book has interesting 'books' in it, I had not read the reviews prior to purchase (I have found most reviews of other books to be so different from my experience I usually don't bother).
I was therefore very disappointed to find that discoveries in the last 84 years were not there.
There are other books about the 'books' which were omitted from the...
Published on 16 July 2010 by jdb


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

115 of 124 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Recommended, 16 Sep 2004
By 
Kurt A. Johnson (Marseilles, IL USA) - See all my reviews
This book contains 26 literary works from the early Christian Church. These "books" were extant in the early Church, but when the New Testament was officially organized into Canon Scripture (officially accepted books), these were among those left behind. This book was originally published in 1890, reprinted in 1926, and again in 1979.
As one might expect with any collection of stories, this one is a mixed bag of good and bad stories. Some of these works are long and tedious, while some are short and don't seem to contain anything new. However, all of them allow a fascinating glimpse into the thoughts of various factions within the early Church.
Personally, I enjoyed The Epistles of Paul the Apostle to Seneca, with Seneca's to Paul, and the Epistles of Clement. I highly enjoyed this book and recommend it to you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


130 of 141 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I once was lost, but now am found..., 6 Jan 2006
By 
Kurt Messick "FrKurt Messick" (London, SW1) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Lost Books of the Bible (Paperback)
There is something somewhat misleading about the title of this book - in fact, most of the selections contained in this book are not 'lost' documents at all. For example, the Dead Sea Scrolls (which are not contained in this book) were well and truly lost - they were buried for centuries, and those who buried them did not leave notice of where they were in any way that survived; hence, when they were found, they were truly recovered from having been lost. What makes the documents in this book 'lost' contextually is that they were not included in the canon of the New Testament texts.
In the early church, there was no consistent agreement about what belonged in the Bible and what was not to be included. Modern-day readers of books such as the 'Da Vinci Code' can understand some of the issues and dilemmas here - there were no printing presses, no consistency of library cataloging or copyrighting, and no central authority in the oft-persecuted church as to who could make a decision of what texts were valuable. Indeed, even the Hebrew scriptures existed in variations, and the modern day issue of apocryphal books included or not included in the Bible stems from the difference between the Greek and Hebrew translations of the Hebrew scriptures/Old Testament texts.
For example, the book of the Shepherd of Hermas, included here, was well known to the early church, and continued to be a document known to church historians and scholars in the subsequent centuries, even if it was not commonly known and read by the laity in the churches. The apostle Paul was far from the only letter writer of the early church; the New Testament includes some other letters (Peter, John, etc.), but the canonical decision at one point was made that only those attributed to the original twelve apostles and Paul would be included - the letters of Clement, very important and useful in the early church, were excluded from the canon.
However, there is an important point to be made here. Just because something was not included in the canon of scripture did not mean that it was worthless. Just because a student gets an A rather than an A+ does not mean that student did not do good and worthwhile work. Many of these texts were 'A' texts for the early church, but lacked that certain something that made them canonical. The same is true for the gospels - this collection includes some extra-canonical gospel texts, and the reason for their non-inclusion in the canon is varied, but does not mean their value is insignificant.
There has been much work done on early church documentary history and the development of the canon since this book was first published more than a century ago, but these are reasonable (if not always reader-friendly) translations of relatively unknown texts, useful for general readers and undergraduates, or those who might want to know what the early Christians were reading and being influenced by apart from the canonical text.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Books omitted from the New Testament, 16 July 2010
Although the book has interesting 'books' in it, I had not read the reviews prior to purchase (I have found most reviews of other books to be so different from my experience I usually don't bother).
I was therefore very disappointed to find that discoveries in the last 84 years were not there.
There are other books about the 'books' which were omitted from the bible which are much more up to date.
Nonetheless worth having on its own terms.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars an overview of lost books of the bible, 24 Dec 2010
I found this a very useful bacvkground reading to my Bible Studies.
It is comprehensive [for a paperback] an gave me all the information I needed. It also provided a use feading list
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


79 of 96 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book! Very insightful!, 10 Dec 1997
By A Customer
An incredible resource for all Christians. Gospel of Nicodemus gives incredible insight to events surrounding the Crucifixion. Very insightful works also attributed to Clement, Barnabas, Hermas and letters sent between Herod and Pilate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating, 6 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really found this book fascinating as it contains some books which aren't included in the King James Bible, For any one interested in Theology this is the book for you .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Aspects of the Book, 14 Nov 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
There were aspects of the book which I could not go along with (in one chapter Jesus comes over as a precocious, horrible child). However, some chapters were believable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Books to be careful with, 4 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I would sagest one who is very advanced in scripture could read this with comfort. But not anyone who dose not knw the Bible very well
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Lost books of the Bible, 20 July 2011
A fascinating collection of 'epistles' and letters, excellently presented. A great insight into many documents that didn't make it into the Authorised Collection of the Bible - and in many cases, one can understand why !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Lost Books Of The Bible, 13 Sep 2009
By 
S. L. Jimoh "SL SAMSON" (UNITED KINGDOM) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The lost books of the bible was written in concised and clear forms, it gives the indepth to the historical character of lord jesus, mary her mother aswell as other
notable figures in the new testament, its simple language make it more fascinating to read. i will recommends the book for the student who wants to know the rudiments of theology and biblical histories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Lost Books of the Bible
The Lost Books of the Bible by William Hone (Paperback - 1 July 2004)
£18.32
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews