Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


61 of 67 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Seven universal principles - seven laws of nature
A number of other books has been written about these seven principles, using somewhat more modern language, but this book is the classic. This is not just a theory or a philosophy - the principles, being universal, are down-to-earth practical. If you apply them consciously in your life, your life will change.

While in times long gone by, these may have seemed...
Published on 11 Feb 2008 by Laura De Giorgio

versus
47 of 51 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A strange little book!
I came accross this book accidentally - or it came accross me, with an existing interest in philosophy & non-dualism.

Many of the ideas contained in the book are similar to those found in New Age reading and Eastern philosophy; everything in motion, opposites, vibration, you are not the body. There are also some very great differences,and the book is aimed at...
Published on 3 Mar 2010 by Ms. Ej Newell


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Kybalion, 11 Jan 2011
I thought this book was going to be boring when i brought it, but actually i was impressed by the content the writers had collected. Its really interesting and highly educational in a Hermetic way. Gives a basic outline to the keys of the Kybalion
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It takes time, 20 July 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this book exactly one year ago and it seems curious that I should stumble back to this page while looking up another book. I found this book invaluable as it verbalised and clarified ideas which had been formulating in my own head for some time. (Probably because modern writers are passing off similar ideas as new and improved!) The language is simple, if archaic, and pleasant to read. The ideas presented are clear. It is not hard work to understand but rewards the reader with repeated visits. Well worth the price. One could spend more on modern, rehashed versions but why?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the book is a stepping stone for the public, 7 stars, 7 Mar 1999
By A Customer
this book presents to the world 7 of the 9 commonly tought principles of the Hermetic philosophy. And for simple Initiates it does a very good job. (they were not suposed to write it) to assorb these principled on must need study them, put the book asire for a year or so and the return and re-study. This pattern must be repeated 7 times over a 7 year period then comes a 20 year respit in which the material is then internalized at that time you will be contacted and then become an initiate. The 3 inititates left out the stepsto grow by, that is why I put them here. I would encourage all open minded serious students of both religion and philosophy to study the KYBALION as the time has come for mankind to study and as a whole of humanity make a decision as to where the whole human race is going. The STUDENT OF HERMETIC STUDENTS
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Kybalion, 9 July 2011
Interesting book, requires your full attention as it can take time to understand was is being stated.

Discusses the 7 principles of the Hermatic Philosphy, broken down into chapters where it discusses and explore the meanings of the prinicple and how it can be introduced to your way of thought.

You need to be patient and absorb this book, like with all Philosopy you need to concentrate as it can be a little "what the??"

Recommened for any one interested in the Occult, or history of out ancient ideas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WITH TOC - A Great Supplementary To The Tarot Student Woking With Paul Foster Case, 13 Jun 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Depending on your circumstances you may find this book wacky, enlightening or life-changing. I read this book to supplement Paul Foster Case's 'Tarot Card Meanings: Fundamentals'. If you love Paul Foster Case, you'll love this.

This book explains the seven hermetic principles that make up the basic universal 'chassis' upon which all other religious and spiritual structures are built upon. Using Hermetic Axioms to begin the chapter, the authors then go on to explaining them fully. Considering this short little book is a timeless classic, the content is easy to understand and straightforward.

TOC

The Hermetic Philosophy
The Seven Hermetic Principles
- The Principle of Mentalism
- The Principle of Correspondence
- The Principle of Vibration
- The Principle of Polarity
- The Principle of Rhythm
- The Principle of Cause and Effect
- The Principle of Gender
Mental Transmutation
The All
The Mental Universe
The Divine Paradox
"The All" in All
Planes of Correspondence
Vibration
Polarity
Rhythm
Causation
Gender
Mental Gender
Hermetic Axioms
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A perfect metaphorical philosophy, hence a must., 1 Nov 2011
By 
This short pamphlet wants to present to "students" the hermetic philosophy of Ancient Egypt and Greece, particularly Hermes Trismegisto/us. It was published more than 100 years ago for the first time by the Yogi Publication Society in Chicago, Illinois. Since then it has been quoted, distorted, amplified, modified and most often referred to in allusions more than precise quotations and discussions. One of the most recent mention of the seven cosmic principles of Hermes Trismegisto/us is Burt Goldman in one of his introductory lectures to Quantum Jumping. I will discuss the book in this review, at least some important points.

There is an obsession with two numbers, 3 and 7 (I keep 2 aside because it is dualism). Page 31 the three great physical, mental, spiritual planes are each and all divided into seven sub-planes, themselves subdivided a second time into seven more levels. Seven is of course crucial here because of the seven basic principles. But why not 4, 5, 6, 8, 9? All these numbers are highly loaded with ideological, religious and philosophical meanings and we cannot erase these many meanings. Note most "pagan" religions have ternary divinities based most often on the sun, the moon and the stars, whereas Genesis, the Jewish vision of creation, reduced god to god and his spirit, hence a dual god, and the sky luminaries to two luminaries, the sun and the moon, with a side mention of the stars. Three is thus not surprising in Hermes Trismegisto/us, but the Jewish rewriting of this standard vision of god around them leads us to the dual principle, a dualism that the Jew Jesus will expand back to a trinity..

Dualism is an absolute obsession. In this book to make that dualism "evident", "obvious" the authors use the standard resources of English. Let me quote some of them: a measured motion, a to-and-from movement, a flow and inflow, a swing forward and backward, a pendulum-like movement, a tide-like ebb and flow, a high-tide and a low-tide, the two-poles, the principle of polarity, an action and reaction, an advance and a retreat, a rising and a sinking, the creation and destruction of worlds, the rise and fall of nations, Outpouring and Indrawing, Outbreathing and Inbreathing, two general planes of consciousness: the Lower and the Higher, and that's only a few. As George Lakoff would say we think and speak with metaphors. The dual metaphor here is absolute and it becomes some of the principles like "as above, so below; as below, so above." That upward and downward metaphor is all-pervasive. And I keep gender for later.

Vibration and Rhythm are close to Buddhism that has three concepts to account for these two phenomena. To use standard translations: all conditioned things are transient (Anicca), subject to suffering (Dukkha) and devoid of an immortal soul (Anatta). The fact that nothing has a stable essence is comparable to vibration and rhythm. But it does not reach the cyclical concept of "Dukkha": everything is born, lives (grows and decays) and dies with rebirth after that and a new cycle. That is not understood at all by this book. These Buddhist concepts imply that no one, nothing has an essence of any sort except to be submitted in its existence to Dukkha. On the other side the hermetic principle of analogy should be developed because it is the basic linguistic conceptualizing power of man: man thinks, that is to say understands the universe by using metaphors that refer to the basic concepts he has built and acquired when confronted to the trauma of birth and survival in a hostile world in which the new-born is particularly weak and dependent for a long period of time. That principle should be applied to the Kybalion itself and it would reveal how enslaved to human language this philosophy is.

We have to come back to gender and dualism. Gender today does not cover two basic elements that are sexually defined (masculine and feminine) but ten different orientations that are both sexual and emotional: male hetero, female hetero, male bi, female bi, gay, lesbian, male transvestite, female transvestite, male transsexual, female transsexual. All that Kybalion says about gender is thus mis-inspired, yet there is something true behind it, but it is not one dualism. It is the crossing and reinforcing of two ternary tensors: physiology with the nurturer - ego - superego or Ideal of the Ego on one hand, and authority with weaning, language, walking etc - ego - superego on the other hand. There is no mother and father. There is a nurturer (or several) that provides food, care and tenderness and the authority role or figure (or several) that weans and teaches the child the rudiments to integrate a communicating society, hence to respect laws and rules, and love. We can see the ego, a particular child in full swinging growth, is taken between two different axes that could be conflictive or complementary or competitive. We can see that between conflict and competition there is complementariness and in between there are all kinds of notches closer to conflictive or to competitive. This is reduced in Kybalion to pairs of antonyms that are at times meaningless.

Antonyms are just words and the authors forget it. Let's take their example of courage as opposed to fear. These two words are not antonyms at all. The greatest courage is supported by and challenges fear and the greatest fear inspires the greatest adventures, conquests, inventions: the fear of disease and death for example. Courage is the antonym of cowardice and fear is the antonym of, and this is ethics, fearlessness which may lead to temerity, extravagance, unconscious risk-taking and some others. Another pair they over-use is light and darkness. These are antonyms if we want. At one end you have full light at the other end you have the absence of light that darkness is and in between you have all the notches you want with more or less light. In the same way white is the presence of all colors, and black is the absence of all colors and hence is not a color, and in between you have the full spectrum with generally seven notches, but in fact as many as you want to get all the hues and tinges you desire.

We come then to "The ALL is MIND. The universe is mental." First element if "The ALL is in all, and all is in the ALL", if the universe is created as a mental invention of the MIND of the ALL, then what or who has the MIND that can invent or create the ALL. When Buddha was asked if he believed in god he answered: "If a god has created the world, then I ask who or what created this god". That's my first point. Where does the ALL come from?

Then if we follow Bertrand Russell and many others we have first the real universe outside us and our consciousness (man is a microscopic part of it). Then this world sends stimuli out that are captured by the sensorial organs of man and become sensations that have to go along the nerves as nervous influx to the brain where the man's sixth sense is going to analyze, classify, recognize, identify the sensations that become representations in a way or another. This sixth sense of man is his mind and this mind is two things: a potential potentiality (meaning a potentiality that may or may not be activated by experiential life) and the construct that this potentiality, if it is activated, will build little by little with the help of memory (another potential of the brain), structural and pattern analysis (another potential of the brain and the senses), etc. Here I come to the simple conclusion that the representations we may have of the universe are all mental, meaning they are nothing but representations of the universe built by the human (collective and individual) mind. It is not the universe that is mental because the universe does not give the slightest damn about us building any kind of representation of it, it is our representations of the universe that are mental.

Then what's the interest of the book? Historical about emerging humanity and how humanity developed a full vision of the world and life from their experience (dualism was of course carried into their minds with night and day for one and several other binary phenomena of daily life). A mental challenge to see if we can really take a distance from arguments that are entirely formulated and locked up in linguistic words and patterns, the metaphors of George Lakoff. An incitation to go beyond and explore alternative philosophies and mental or intellectual approaches of the basic question of this book: what is the universe and what is man in that universe. That should lead us to considering the great inventions humanity put down on the table to survive: language, religion (including poetry and art) and science (including technology)

Dr Jacques COULARDEAU
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A fun romp through Neoplatonism, 16 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a cute little book and requires only a couple of hours to race through. A psychedelic romp through neo-Platonism. Easy to digest and highly unoriginal. Its clear. concise and didactic in that it repeats the main themes throughout. I liked the way it is written. If anything lets it down it is the requirement for the reader to suspend belief, rather like reading the Da Vinci Code, you have to realise this a fiction, although I would say this is definitely a more beautiful myth, and one worthy of sustaining a certain world view, as it is positive rather than negative like the DVC. It is much, much better than its more recent imitators such as The Secret, and provides a metaphysical underpinning of some sort that the imitators fail to provide in a reasoned order, (despite the three initiates avowals that metaphysics is not their concern, it is a metaphysics). Is it practical for the aspiring neo-Platonist or Hermeticist? No, there are no exercises, formulas, affirmations; although it is obvious that this is where the authors would have taken the book, had they wished to write a lengthy manual of Hermeticism. Thankfully they did not and therefore I enjoyed this book, even if I disagree with its contents profoundly
.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't waste your money, 17 Jun 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Kybalion is new age waffle and not even decent hermeticism.

The book is peppered with quotes and references to 'The Kybalion', but is not that text.

Instead we get a supposed enlightened explication from 'Initiates' which is merely philosophical drivel of the most optimistic kind.

Almost any other purchase or self-help book would serve you better than this, try a true hermetic text, such as the Divine Pymander or something by Wynn Westcott or Thomas Taylor if you are in the mood for the neoplatonic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE BOOK ofALLbooks, 13 Mar 1999
By A Customer
THIS SI THE BOOK IF YOU READ NO OTHER IN your life! it sat for a year before i undertsood it,s depth .by mastering its principles YOU WILL UNDERSTAND!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Kybalion, 4 Feb 2009
This is a useful book for those who have the time and patience to work with it in a concentrated and serious way. It is clearly presented, and fairly easy to follow, but an unprejudiced background in esoteric knowledge is helpful to take the indications further and turn them into practices useful in daily life. The true seeker will look for other guides to supplement the wisdom contained here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Kybalion
The Kybalion by Three Initiates (Paperback - 1 Jan 2004)
10.56
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews