Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


35 of 38 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I've done the lecture course given by Rae at Birmingham Uni.
I've given this book a 4 star rating because I used it heavily for exam revision and successfully learned the required material from it. Bear in mind though, that the book was designed for my course and was given by the author. There are two problems I have with the book. One is the amount of typographical errors in equations. This is bad, considering the book is in...
Published on 25 Jan 2000

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fuzzy at times
Good book for getting to grips with a lot of quantum mechanics and is the go to book for many courses. Covers the topic brilliantly, gets concepts into your head really well and is quite rigorous with mathematics. However it does require alot of prerequisite mathematics. Other books I have read explain different functions and reasoning as they go along. I did not find...
Published 3 months ago by Nanaki


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

35 of 38 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I've done the lecture course given by Rae at Birmingham Uni., 25 Jan 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Quantum Mechanics (Paperback)
I've given this book a 4 star rating because I used it heavily for exam revision and successfully learned the required material from it. Bear in mind though, that the book was designed for my course and was given by the author. There are two problems I have with the book. One is the amount of typographical errors in equations. This is bad, considering the book is in its 3rd revision and is meant to have been proof read by collegues. Consequently, I would not recommend using it where you do not have access to lecturers who can check any queries, unless you are a first class student who can confidently discern the errors. Secondly, Dr Rae swaps notation for angular momentum in a way that could be confusing. To put it as simply as I can, people reading the book who have some previous knowledge of the J=L+S relationship, may be confused when he uses L as TOTAL angular momentum in the earlier parts of the book, where one does not "officially" know about intrinsic spin and spin-orbit coupling etc. This leaves the reader wondering if another glaring error has been made. A consistent approach with J being used early would be best, with a note at the beginning giving a brief explanation and refering the reader to the more detailed discussion when sufficient groundwork had been completed. Also, Rae is fond of "...and clearly it can be seen that..." statements, which sometimes left me flicking back through the book to find which relationship he was invoking. Overall, this is a good book covering a wide range of undergraduate material at the right level. I think it's best suited to a 3rd year course. For those completely new to QM, it doesn't meet the bible status which I can attribute to "Quantum Physics of Atoms..." by Eisberg and Resnick (Wiley).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book for my physics degree, 18 Nov 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Quantum Mechanics, Fifth Edition (Paperback)
The Quantum mechanics course on my physics degree is based around this book, so I needed it for that. This book is very useful and good at explaining the concepts involved and giving step by step examples of mathematical/physical problems. I recommend this book for anybody doing degree level quantum mechaincs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fuzzy at times, 14 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Quantum Mechanics, Fifth Edition (Paperback)
Good book for getting to grips with a lot of quantum mechanics and is the go to book for many courses. Covers the topic brilliantly, gets concepts into your head really well and is quite rigorous with mathematics. However it does require alot of prerequisite mathematics. Other books I have read explain different functions and reasoning as they go along. I did not find that this book did that, so it lets its self down. Be ready to come un stuck with some obsolete trig identities you learn't a few years ago.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very hard going, 28 Aug 2013
By 
This review is from: Quantum Mechanics, Fifth Edition (Paperback)
Right from the beginning, this book displays some of the best and worst traits of physics textbooks. Best features - it is VERY compact, to the point of being impenetrable. Complex topics are reduced to a few pages of terse and authoritative explanation. If you are already familiar with Quantum Mechanics then this could be an excellent reference. Worst features - this is a subject that can only be understood properly through a good understanding of the mathematics, but there is no attempt to introduce the reader gradually, and the first few pages could well put newcomers off for life. Phrases along the lines of 'thus it can be seen that ...' and 'after some rearrangement ...' and 'clearly, it can be seen that ...' occur frequently through the book. If I were to compare this style with the clear and lucid approach to topics in Stroud's 'Engineering Mathematics' series, or Fleisch's 'A Student's Guide to Maxwell's Equations', or by the very approachable introductions to Quantum Mechanics on the Hyperphysics site, then this book doesn't score well. There's no need to make this fascinating subject quite so unapproachable. It's a book written by a very knowledgeable author, designed to be understood by the already-knowledgeable or by those who are prepared to do some additional reading to get through it. As long as you buy it with that understanding, you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The lawyers got at it!, 30 Jun 2007
I own a 3rd edition of this book. Its coverage of introductory QM is excellent and the explanations are clear. What is missing in the latest edition is the set of pithy reviews of other texts that Rae recommends- hence my comment in the title.

The chapter on relativistic equations -Dirac's -lacks perspective and does not take one through the discussion of its explanation of the fine structure of the hydrogen spectrum. For this one needs the chapter entitled "relativistic wave equations" in Schiff's text Quantum Mechanics .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant book with updated material, 13 July 2002
By 
Paulo C. Rios Jr. (Europe) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book is not only fun to read, but contains the latest material on quantum computation, quantum teleportation, and the debate over the concepts of quantum mechanics. The text is clear and sharp. Written for undergraduate students, it can be read by anybody with college math (calculus, etc.). The beauty of quantum mechanics as exposed here will certainly make sure that you will read it nearly cover to cover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An Enjoyable text, 7 April 2005
By A Customer
This is an informative and enjoyable book which does a good job of introducing the reader to the elegance of quantum mechanics. It is concise and digestible with a good development of the topic from fundamental principles upwards. I think that the previous comment about functional analysis somewhat misses the point that this aims to be an introductory text. Infact I would say that it makes a good precursor to this topic and other more advanced ones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Lacking detail, 19 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Following the good old english academic tradition... book is short in detail, lacking proper explanations in 'obvious` mathematical derivations, physical deductions, and conclusions, despite the fact that in some cases sentences are repeated to add nothing new! You will find the always loved "it follows then..." "it can easily be shown...".
If this will be your introduction to QM you will need another parallel source otherwise you will be frequently wondering "where did that come from?" "how did he get that"? etc
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars quantum mechanics, 22 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Quantum Mechanics, Fifth Edition (Paperback)
Am studying the above course at university, this is the only book I need for undergraduate study of quantum mechanics
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very Helpful for studying QM, 24 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Quantum Mechanics, Fifth Edition (Paperback)
well written and compliments my lectures well, although it would not replace lectures as it skips steps in derivations.
Highly recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Quantum Mechanics, Fifth Edition
Quantum Mechanics, Fifth Edition by Alastair I. M. Rae (Paperback - 19 Sep 2007)
29.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews