Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

45 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars better than ever, 2 April 2010
By 
This review is from: Kaffe Fassett's Simple Shapes Spectacular Quilts: 23 Original Quilt Designs (Hardcover)
This is a departure from the previous books in that the quilts really are inspirations rather than prescriptions. Whereas the series of Rowan books describe all that's needed to make a replica quilt this book stands a little further back, it has a wonderful broader approach, you could still make a replica quilt, but it encourages you to explore your own ideas and gives you the insight and inspiration to really think and create for yourself. Yes, there's a solid generic quilt recipe but the stabilisers can come off the bike and you can move along by yourself! It's like a workshop in a book with lots of guidance and the text is really thought provoking rather than being footnotes to images of completed quilts. Some quilt books work from the finished project and show you how to do it, here you're looking at things differently, you really can create your own quilt, thinking about all the important stuff for yourself. This book's not just about making copies of beautifully photographed masterpieces, the masterpieces are your starting point.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning book - really inspiring, 19 Mar 2010
By 
J. Maule (Bedford, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Kaffe Fassett's Simple Shapes Spectacular Quilts: 23 Original Quilt Designs (Hardcover)
I love the photography in this book as well as the quilts.
I'm not likely to make one of the quilts in the fabrics shown - but the design are gorgeous and would work in other fabrics.
The instructions look clear and templates are provided although some need enlarging on a photocopier.

Not sure a complete beginer would cope as there are few diagrams but for any one who has even a basic knowledge of patchwork would manage.
Stunning book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kafe Fasset's quilting book, 28 April 2010
By 
V. Anfilogoff (Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kaffe Fassett's Simple Shapes Spectacular Quilts: 23 Original Quilt Designs (Hardcover)
This book is quite inspirational; the usual wonderful explosion of colour one has come to expect from Kafe Fasset with wonderful colour combinations and stunning ideas. I would highly recommend this to any quilter or, of you know a quilter, it would make a great present.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb!, 22 April 2010
By 
M. Michaelides (Angleterre) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kaffe Fassett's Simple Shapes Spectacular Quilts: 23 Original Quilt Designs (Hardcover)
This book appealed to me because it contained a variety of squares, rectangles and triangles with clear instructions and supplies for each project. I love geometric shapes, squares in particular and I am quite new to the art of patchwork.
Quite some time ago I bought a copy of "Patchwork" by K F as I was fascinated by the front cover of that book, those beautiful squares in various tones of red with occasionally a touch of green, blue, orange, yellow... I made a sample but found difficult to execute it as I had to work out the sizes of each square, and I was not always pleased with my choice of colours! However at the V&A Quilt Exhibition I discovered "Simple Shapes, Spectacular Quilts" and now I am working on the "Earthy Mitered Boxes" project with the K F fabrics suggested. As the fabrics are all matching, it produces a fantastic result.
Every now and then, in the book, you find handsome photographs of basic shapes found in nature and thus echoed in K F's projects. It is a pure delight!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful book, 31 Mar 2010
By 
Lucy (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kaffe Fassett's Simple Shapes Spectacular Quilts: 23 Original Quilt Designs (Hardcover)
My first quilt came from Kaffe Fasset's Glorious Patchwork. I love his use of colour and simple shapes, he brings traditional quilting right up to date with his bright and adventurous fabrics.
This book is one of the best he has published in recent years. It has beautiful photography and is delightful just to browse through. There are some stunning quilts to make for both novices and experienced quilters alike. I plan to make his version of the Lone Star.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Kaffe book yet, 8 Mar 2010
This review is from: Kaffe Fassett's Simple Shapes Spectacular Quilts: 23 Original Quilt Designs (Hardcover)
Wow - what a truly gorgeously sumptuous delecticious cornucopia of quilts!!
Who could have thought that a quilt made out of just squares or triangles or circles etc could look so unctiously gorgeous...but they do.
Best quilt book yet from Kaffe.
Highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have book, 18 Nov 2010
This review is from: Kaffe Fassett's Simple Shapes Spectacular Quilts: 23 Original Quilt Designs (Hardcover)
I really love the book Simple Shapes Spectacular Quilts. The color of the textils, the desings, the photos. It inspire me so much. Thank you Kaffe Fassett.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring, 18 Aug 2010
This review is from: Kaffe Fassett's Simple Shapes Spectacular Quilts: 23 Original Quilt Designs (Hardcover)
Inspiring book. Beautiful photo's, both of the quilts and of things/landscapes that can inspire quilts. Kaffe invites the reader not to make his quilts, but to alter them, play with colors and fabrics, and create your own unique quilt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars lovely book, 16 Sep 2011
By 
D. Reynolds (dog walker) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kaffe Fassett's Simple Shapes Spectacular Quilts: 23 Original Quilt Designs (Hardcover)
What a lovely book , full of inspirational ideas and of course, wonderful colour that you come to expect with Kaffe Fassett. But I am having trouble in collecting suitable material in the bright colours for the designs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kate fassett, 9 July 2013
By 
Mrs. S. Mackenzie Smith (Sussex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kaffe Fassett's Simple Shapes Spectacular Quilts: 23 Original Quilt Designs (Hardcover)
An interesting and useful book full of inspirational photos. I never cease to be amazed with the way he uses colour
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa73b3c30)

This product

Kaffe Fassett's Simple Shapes Spectacular Quilts: 23 Original Quilt Designs
15.07
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews