Customer Reviews


9 Reviews


3 star
0

2 star
0

1 star
0

 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unique patterns that will add to your stitch repertoire, 5 Feb. 2010
By 
jmai (London UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Knitted Socks East and West: 30 Designs Inspired by Japanese Stitch Patterns (Paperback)
I wanted to get a sock pattern book, and had a few choices before me and decided that this was the one. I was drawn to the unusual and almost awkward looking collection of socks in the book. There is intricate lace and cable work throughout, incorporating Japanese knitting styles normally unavailable to non-Japanese reading knitters. I consider myself an intermediate/advanced knitter and found the instructions clear - which is especially important as the author introduces a wealth of different stitch techniques. I have made three pairs so far and in two the pattern repeated over four needles which made it easy to keep track of.

The socks range from knee high to ankle using yarn weights ranging from fine to chunky. The socks themselves are also a mix of your average expected sock, toe-less manicure-socks, stirrup socks, slipper socks and dainty lacework not-so-functional socks.

Basically something for everyone! I think all the sizes are for women, but the ones that I made would have been easily adaptable for men's sizes by adding some k/p stitches between the repeats. If you're looking for unique and interesting patterns and a beautifully designed book for your library, I would recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow!, 12 Nov. 2009
By 
F. Jones (Chester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Knitted Socks East and West: 30 Designs Inspired by Japanese Stitch Patterns (Paperback)
I had a guilty conscience about buying yet another sock book but I am so glad I did.

The author has spent years studying Japanese patterns and introduces the reader to a number of new stitches with very clear instructions. The sock patterns are very varied and original but all eminently wearable. The emphasis is on pattern, not fancy yarns and the patterns use everything from 2 ply to chunky yarn. This book wouldn't suit a complete beginner (but then there are lots of others which do) but the author does offer a range of complexities explained in the introduction to each sock. All patterns are written and charted and the photography is both beautiful and helpful in the detail it shows.

I haven't had chance to knit any of the patterns yet but they receive very positive comments from knitters on Ravelry and I can't wait to get started. Reviews on Amazon.com, from American readers, give much more information that I won't repeat here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant result!, 8 Mar. 2010
By 
sandikirk (somerset, uk) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Knitted Socks East and West: 30 Designs Inspired by Japanese Stitch Patterns (Paperback)
I ordered this book about one month ago; I am an avid sock maker.

Every pattern I have used so far has turned out brilliantly and made me use my brain. It is the first book I have used for more than one pattern!

My family are now begging me not to give any more socks so I am looking around for feet!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant stitches, 1 Mar. 2015
By 
Margaret Foster (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have not knitted any socks from this book yet. I have given it 5 stars though because it has a wealth of new stitches to use elsewhere if you want to. The variety of socks is really broad. There are some that have a good lace pattern that can be used with shoes which is a bonus because many lace socks are too thick. To allow this the pattern ends at the ankle bone and the foot is plain. There is no lose of style though. Sock sizes can be adjusted by adjusting needle size or by relying on stretch. That is perhaps a little niggle. The sizes are a bit limited. I don't think this would be much of a problem for someone who can knit to this level anyway because repeats are given. I would say that it is not really a beginners' book. I would try plain socks to start with to get the hang of the terms and conditions of socks but once that is over with I wouldn't think there would be much trouble understanding this book's patterns. For the stitches alone the book is worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars :-), 2 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Knitted Socks East and West: 30 Designs Inspired by Japanese Stitch Patterns (Paperback)
Super fin bog - den skal jeg nok få megen glæde af. og hvad skal jeg så skrive mere :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars New designs and new stitches., 15 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Knitted Socks East and West: 30 Designs Inspired by Japanese Stitch Patterns (Paperback)
I have started one pattern already and shall try several others. Instructions are good as both charts and written patterns are given. Long , short, lacy and thick are all covered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Clearly illustrated,, 12 Jan. 2015
By 
Savvy Gran "marnie" (West Country Great Britain) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Knitted Socks East and West: 30 Designs Inspired by Japanese Stitch Patterns (Paperback)
Good, readable, with clear punctures. Not actually tried one yet though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Delightful book, 30 Jan. 2010
By 
J. M. Bastow (Yorkshire England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Knitted Socks East and West: 30 Designs Inspired by Japanese Stitch Patterns (Paperback)
A beautiful book, well written. Haven't tried the patterns yet but the stitches seems to be clearly explained. I think you will need to practise the stitches before attempting the socks. I would recommend this book for knitters looking for a new challenge !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just what I wanted, 27 Feb. 2015
By 
Mary Kersey (West Walesl UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Knitted Socks East and West: 30 Designs Inspired by Japanese Stitch Patterns (Paperback)
Brilliant book and good service
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Knitted Socks East and West: 30 Designs Inspired by Japanese Stitch Patterns
£12.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews