Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great recipes but poor illustrations
This book is produced by Pierre Gagnaire who has held the title of the 3rd best restaurant in the world for the past few years (El Buli and the Fat Duck being 1st and 2nd respectively.

It is a good quality book with about 50 michelin 3 star recipes. As usual with these books some recipes are very do able by the skilled home chef and others really need a brigade...
Published on 28 July 2008 by Dr. Richard J. Pickard

versus
7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars self indulgent twoddle
call me old fashioned but, since the invention of the camera I expect photos to accompany all recipes and a minimum background to the dish if really needed when I buy cookery books. So that's not always the case but this is taking the biscuit! If photos don't accompany all the dishes as an issue of price why include hazy shots of raw turnips? To much self indulgence...
Published on 18 Nov 2010 by rod


Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great recipes but poor illustrations, 28 July 2008
By 
Dr. Richard J. Pickard (Winchester, UK.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pierre Gagnaire: Reinventing French Cuisine (Hardcover)
This book is produced by Pierre Gagnaire who has held the title of the 3rd best restaurant in the world for the past few years (El Buli and the Fat Duck being 1st and 2nd respectively.

It is a good quality book with about 50 michelin 3 star recipes. As usual with these books some recipes are very do able by the skilled home chef and others really need a brigade of chefs. That does not bother me as with all these books you are pushing the envolope as to what is possible at home which I like.

Although the recipes are on a par with the French Laundry (Thomas Keller 4th best restaurant)and Recipes of a 3 star chef (Gordon Ramsey) the book is not as sumptuous as these works in terms of layout and photos. Both of these books particularly the French Laundry have a wow factor which is a little lacking in this book. This a comparative statement however because if you had not seen these other two you might be impressed.

Although some of the recipes have photos with them 80% do not and although the dishes have assembly instructions I prefer a photo to aim for so for me this lets it down compared to the aforementioned works.

That said I like the fact that he has given 3 star recipes for this book from the last 40yrs of his practice and has included the menus on which these dishes appeared to set them in context.

At the end of the day I buy a cookbook for recipes and cookbooks from 3 star chefs for 3 star recipes. On this level therefore the book unquestionably delivers and will take pride of place with Recipes from a 3 Star Chef, the The French Laundry Cookbook, Essence: Recipes from Le Champignon Sauvage and soon the The Big Fat Duck Cookbook(Heston Blumenthal)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Providing huge inspiration for the open minded, 1 Jan 2012
This review is from: Pierre Gagnaire: Reinventing French Cuisine (Hardcover)
France's maverick genius, Pierre Gagnaire, is famous for publishing beautifully photographed books - works of art, in fact - that encompass his food philosophy and musings on ingredients, but lack recipes. So get ready for a shock: he's rectified that in the latest, English, version of Reinventing French Cuisine.

As he says himself in the book's preface, it was time for his "persistent and complete allergy to carefully weighted, well-expressed, and clearly articulated recipes" to bite the dust.

So here, in addition to a definitive laying out of his career in chronological order (from Lyon to Paris, and everything in between, from the mid-'60s to the present), is a definitive number of recipes reflecting the influences on, and development of, his cooking. So, if you have just one Gagnaire book in your library, it should be this one.

There are four main chapters, equating to certain phases in Gagnaire's culinary life, and within these each recipe has an identifying year. For instance, the first recipe - "La Marta", which refers directly to favourite childhood sweets - is stamped with 1965. Typically for Gagnaire, he gives you the bones of the recipe, in this case how to make little chocolate moulds, but leaves you to work out fillings for these, handing on tantalising suggestions, like redcurrant jelly and passion fruit seeds for white chocolate cases, without specifying quantities. It's a reflection of his well-known tendency to improvise, but you don't hold three Michelin stars without consistency, do you? Thankfully, other recipes are more detailed.

There's a bonus section of "basic" recipes at the back of the book, which besides stocks includes chantilly foie gras "in the style of Herve This", and various spice and aromatic pastes: anyone for tobacco powder? And the book is bursting with enough Gagnaire dishes to give a window on his culinary soul.

Gagnaire is known for surprising and multiple-ingredient matches, skilful temperature and texture contrasts, and unmatched visual artistry on the plate. The complexity of his food has divided opinion over the years, but there's no doubt the book sheds light on the very individual style of one of the world's great chefs, providing huge inspiration in the process
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars self indulgent twoddle, 18 Nov 2010
This review is from: Pierre Gagnaire: Reinventing French Cuisine (Hardcover)
call me old fashioned but, since the invention of the camera I expect photos to accompany all recipes and a minimum background to the dish if really needed when I buy cookery books. So that's not always the case but this is taking the biscuit! If photos don't accompany all the dishes as an issue of price why include hazy shots of raw turnips? To much self indulgence sir..the clue is in the title..COOKBOOK
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Must have, 21 Oct 2007
By 
D. Salmon - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pierre Gagnaire: Reinventing French Cuisine (Hardcover)
Having read most 3 star chefs books and tried to understand where they are coming from i found myself reading this book and what can i say its truly eye opening.
it gives an insight into this world class chef and his cusine and anyone who loves food and i mean LOVES food this should be on there to read list.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars chefs only, 10 Feb 2011
By 
This review is from: Pierre Gagnaire: Reinventing French Cuisine (Hardcover)
this is a brilliant book for chefs only and with ways to get out in the trade and cook with these fantastic ingredients
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful book - impossible recipes, 1 Feb 2009
This review is from: Pierre Gagnaire: Reinventing French Cuisine (Hardcover)
I was terribly dissapointed with my recent attempt to cook guinea fowl breasts described in this book. I am a professional cook and continually try new recipes that can be used to extend my repertoire. When cooking from a book I normally follow any recipe to the letter but I am afraid that the result of this dish was inedible. A splendid addition on the coffee table but which should never be relied upon in the kitchen. Too expensive. I gave the book away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great, 2 Mar 2009
By 
A. J. Eleveld (Haarlem, The Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pierre Gagnaire: Reinventing French Cuisine (Hardcover)
For those who is cooking a way of live you can not mis this book in your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pierre Gagnaire: Reinventing French Cuisine
Pierre Gagnaire: Reinventing French Cuisine by Jean-Francois Abert (Hardcover - 1 Nov 2007)
£24.16
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews