Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely, old-fashioned book
Bought for 7-year-old granddaughter to go with her first sewing box, she absolutely loved it. Lovely, old-fashioned illustrations and instructions. Just one thing: the book is an American publication, so it has American spellings.
Published 23 months ago by Patricia

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars This is not so simple - first of all one has to copy the picture and then paste it on to card or whatever before it can be enjoy
I did not give this 4 stars because the attractive front cover of See and Sew gives the impression that a child can pick this book up and see and sew. The inside page makes it very clear in stating that all projects in the book should be made with the assistance and supervision of an adult. I had already bought the book for a 5 year old after having read reviews of it...
Published 1 month ago by Consumer A


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely, old-fashioned book, 2 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: See and Sew: A Sewing Book for Children (Hardcover)
Bought for 7-year-old granddaughter to go with her first sewing box, she absolutely loved it. Lovely, old-fashioned illustrations and instructions. Just one thing: the book is an American publication, so it has American spellings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutelly perfect!!!, 13 Jan. 2010
By 
Marina Rocha "marina" (portugal) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: See and Sew: A Sewing Book for Children (Hardcover)
When i bought this book i was expecting only a childrens sewing book that had a beautiful cover but...it is so much more!!!!
Inspite of being a fisically modern book (spiral bound)everything in it is "old". It is full of vintage images, ideas,colours from the first to the last page.
I don't have children yet but i when i do i think this book is going to be hidden away! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant book, 9 Aug. 2011
This review is from: See and Sew: A Sewing Book for Children (Hardcover)
This is a great guide for kids beginning to sew. I am using it to help with a sewing group I run for little ones and I am finding it so useful. The illustrations are superb and it is useful, clear and unpretentious
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars This is not so simple - first of all one has to copy the picture and then paste it on to card or whatever before it can be enjoy, 2 April 2015
By 
Consumer A "ReaderAAA" (England. UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: See and Sew: A Sewing Book for Children (Hardcover)
I did not give this 4 stars because the attractive front cover of See and Sew gives the impression that a child can pick this book up and see and sew. The inside page makes it very clear in stating that all projects in the book should be made with the assistance and supervision of an adult. I had already bought the book for a 5 year old after having read reviews of it on Amazon that did not mention this. It is very obvious that an adult is needed when you see the main script. It is not written with children in mind. A child loves to read and discover how to do things. I was also under the impression I was buying a spiral bound book as advertised. It is not which makes it less tactile and attractive. The cover on the front shows a child sewing a card with holes. This is not so simple - first of all one has to copy the picture and then paste it on to card or whatever before it can be enjoyed. Anyone looking for a good sewing book for 5 year olds onwards would be well advised to buy 21 sewing projects SEWING SCHOOL by Amie Plumley et al which offers real patterns inside the back cover and is written for children and is about children.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sewing for children, 6 May 2013
By 
MRS J E CLAYTON (Preston, Lancashire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: See and Sew: A Sewing Book for Children (Hardcover)
A lovely book, great for little people interested in sewing like the grown ups. Good to follow and a nice present.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars AMERICAN BOOK...sigh, 9 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: See and Sew: A Sewing Book for Children (Hardcover)
I really liked the retro look of this book but was very disappointed to find it was American. The spellings and terminology used are not appropriate for British children so I have returned it on those grounds. How on earth are children supposed to learn to spell correctly when they are bombarded with (wrong) American spellings? Some of the terms used just aren't heard here either though I am sure that will change over time as there seems to be ever increasing Americanisation creeping into everything nowadays. I wish Amazon would include a warning when a book is American.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Its not spiral bound!, 27 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: See and Sew: A Sewing Book for Children (Hardcover)
Very lovely book and I agree with the previous reviews. However, I was looking forward to receiving the spiral bound version advertised. Mine is not and it will be difficult to have the book open and do the exercises. We will have to bend the spine right back and put weights on the pages. So disappointed but the actual book is charming and a good price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars what a treat, 3 Jun. 2011
This review is from: See and Sew: A Sewing Book for Children (Hardcover)
This book is charming from start to end. A delight to browse and a lovely gift to receive. I think this will become an heirloom book for my child and for future generations. Just love it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

See and Sew: A Sewing Book for Children
See and Sew: A Sewing Book for Children by Tina Davis (Hardcover - 3 Mar. 2008)
£9.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews