Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:    (0)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars For the Bride, not the decorator
Let me start by saying I liked this book. However, it helps if you know what to expect. This book is really for the Bride wanting to choose a cake. It gives you the History of wedding cakes as well as a few ideas of how to choose what you want. It has pictures of types and styles of cake, but does not give any production details. It does also tell you useful info...
Published on 7 Mar. 2009 by Cake Lady

versus
50 of 52 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars good ideas
this book is full of good ideas if your american, but for me it just wasn't quite what i wanted as all the cakes were american ie: sponge cakes and very over the top with decorations apart from the one on the front cover the book does have some quite useful web page addresses at the back of the book.
Published on 30 Jan. 2004 by MRS R J NOKE


Most Helpful First | Newest First

50 of 52 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars good ideas, 30 Jan. 2004
This review is from: The Perfect Wedding Cake (Hardcover)
this book is full of good ideas if your american, but for me it just wasn't quite what i wanted as all the cakes were american ie: sponge cakes and very over the top with decorations apart from the one on the front cover the book does have some quite useful web page addresses at the back of the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars beautiful cover, 17 Aug. 2008
This review is from: The Perfect Wedding Cake (Hardcover)
But more a book written for brides then for cake decorators. I was a little dissapointed.
There are a few recipes but nu step by step help. It tells bride how to choose their cake, what should be things to look for at a cake decorator.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars For the Bride, not the decorator, 7 Mar. 2009
By 
Cake Lady (Rochford, Essex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Perfect Wedding Cake (Hardcover)
Let me start by saying I liked this book. However, it helps if you know what to expect. This book is really for the Bride wanting to choose a cake. It gives you the History of wedding cakes as well as a few ideas of how to choose what you want. It has pictures of types and styles of cake, but does not give any production details. It does also tell you useful info like which flowers are edible and how or if they can be put on cakes. The idea being you take the picture to your chosen decorator and use it as a base for designing a cake. An experienced decorator could look at the picture and work the rest out. To be fair, it doesnt claim to be an instruction manual.

I think brides who just want ideas would be better off getting the Wedding Cake Design Source magazine as it has many many more pictures to choose from. However, as a Decorator, I would be happy to make any of the cakes in this book, but I have to be honest and say I got it from the Library first to see if I liked it. I wouldnt buy it, as it is not really aimed at cake decorators, but for the Bride who still isnt sure what she wants. It would also perhaps help anyone studying the history of weddings or wedding cakes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars *** This book is an 'inspirational guide' for Brides and Grooms ***, 29 Aug. 2009
This review is from: The Perfect Wedding Cake (Hardcover)
This book is really only an 'inspirational guide' for Brides and Grooms.

A professional Cake Designer would spend about 2- 10 mins to flick through this book with a cup of tea.

It does give you a brief history of wedding cakes. and guides a Bride/Groom with a few ideas of how to choose a cake.

The pictures are ok, there are no production details. It does have some good information on edible flowers.

There are creations from Weinstock, Watson, Baumwoll, Hansen and a few others.

Kate Manchester is a well known freelance chef in culinary arts in New York,USA.

Zena Oelbaum is a food/still-life photographer.

Sylvia Weinstock is a pastry chef / cake decorator.

This book is really only an 'inspirational guide' for Brides and Grooms.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great book which I'm soon to use, 2 July 2003
This review is from: The Perfect Wedding Cake (Hardcover)
Getting a wedding just how you want it can be hard work, so a book like this is a real boon. Lots of ideas on different types of wedding cakes, and how to ensure the decoration remains in a good condition even when being on display in a reception.
The only problem is that there are so many good ideas I now want to have several wedding cakes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Perfect Wedding Cake
The Perfect Wedding Cake by Kate Manchester (Hardcover - 12 Nov. 2001)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews