Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars12
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
11
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 31 December 2009
This is my first review so i will keep it short. I saw this book at a local skate shop priced at £60 which i saw as a little steep, i checked on amazon and couldn't believe the price, so well done there! the book is amazingly well put together and i would suggest it to anyone interested in design and illustration or the ideology behind OBEY. the delivery was also ace, I opted for the free option and ordered it in between the Christmas and new year period so the expected arrival was the 4th... but it turned up on NYE and couldn't be more pleased with their quick service!!

thanks amazon
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2011
Do you like art ?
Shepard Fairey ?
OBEY ?
Books ?

If yes to any of these questions put a copy in your shopping trolley and checkout fast because this book is amazing.

A stunning 500 pages thick this is a heavy book and one that you will continue to read and return too. Plenty to read too as the images are accompanied with critics from several esteemed writers and from Shepard himself. This book feels even more special as it is special edition and hardcover.

Shepard Fairey is an superb artist and this book is a retrospective of his career over the last 20 years. Many designs you'll recognize (Obama poster during his campaign, the OBEY face etc) and many you won't. Either way you will love it.

Add to basket now.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2009
One of the best Art books i have read in a long time, well worth the price tag!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2011
One of my favorite books! It does go on and on about his early OBEY giant history but wonderful quality of prints, well put together.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2012
I wanted to write this without mentioning Banksy simply because Fairey's work can stand on its own without comparison to Banksy. However, having said that, many possibly wouldn't be aware of Fairey without you-know-who. Where Banksy adds humour, Fairey adds the feeling of a totalitarian state.

Anyway, the book is a generous size with all images printed to a high standard. The restricted palette of colours he uses works well to underline the feeling that the images are from a...uh, regime "that knows best" for the population. I bet Kim Jon Il was a fan.

If you like this work make sure you check out the documentary, "Exit through the gift shop" where Fairey speaks about some of his art.

Oh, and don't forget - Obey!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2012
My wife bought me this book for my birthday. I have always been into the art of Shepard Fairey, and have 4 of his earlier prints. This book details his entire history, and not only why he does this, but also why he chose specific locations for his stickers and posters.

The only problem is I now want to collect more of his artwork, particularly the rarer ones, so will have to start saving hard.

This book is a serious must have for any Obey giant fan
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2012
I bought this for my son who is a fan of stencil art, he has been so pleased with it and has used it for inspiration for his own work.
Excellent buy for any budding artist!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2015
Big heavy book but the work is unique. I am studying graphic design and found this book a help in my search for ideas. If your a fan of his work you will like this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2013
Yes it is expensive but is totally worth the money, a truly comprehensive guide to Shepard Fairey's work. Also came with a free poster which was a nice touch.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2015
Book was as advertised and arrived within the delivery timescales promised at time of purchase. Would happily use again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)