Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential, Intelligent and with no Romanticization
Leslie Kaminoff, in one of the back cover reviews, states that this book is 'essential reading for any teacher training program that wishes to be considered state-of-the-art'. I am ambivalent about teacher training programs as a way of learning how to practice and teach yoga, especially in terms of value-for-money, but a good book is priceless. It can be read, and...
Published 15 months ago by Angie

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars ILLUSTRATION PROBLEMS
Hard to navigate around this book. When sequences are suggested there are just words and no illustrations. So when they say Sun Sequence A, you have to look it up and it is not indexed - many other things like that. Frustrating. It is as if the author requires you to read from page 1 to the end and to remember everything and also where to find them. Poor indexing. Poor...
Published 11 months ago by Clearthoughts


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential, Intelligent and with no Romanticization, 7 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yoga Sequencing: Designing Transformative Yoga Classes (Paperback)
Leslie Kaminoff, in one of the back cover reviews, states that this book is 'essential reading for any teacher training program that wishes to be considered state-of-the-art'. I am ambivalent about teacher training programs as a way of learning how to practice and teach yoga, especially in terms of value-for-money, but a good book is priceless. It can be read, and re-read, and through self-discipline it's teachings can be assimilated, slowly, purely, over a long time. This book is brilliant. Enjoyable. Intelligent. With no romanticization of the 'orient', which I appreciate. The bibliography is huge, and Stephens references everyone from Scaravelli to Shiva Rea. The sequences are taking me outside of my habitual practices, and I'm looking forward to incorporating Mark Stephen's suggestions into my teachings. Essential reading, I'll be recommending it to my students, and know that it will be opened regularly in the forthcoming years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Overall great book for teacher resource, 3 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yoga Sequencing: Designing Transformative Yoga Classes (Paperback)
This book has been really good for my own practice rather than any lesson planning application. The sequences and commentary are excellent and well written and chapters are very well divided and organised. My only reservation about this book is that the sequences don't have enough modifications in them for the different bodies we all have and this is key to a vinyasa style yoga sequence and maybe what I was searching for in my lesson planning area. I think for the more "advanced" postures in the beginners level section, modifications that could be easily incorporated in to the original sequence would have been really helpful. I enjoy the sequences and they can form the basis for further explorations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars ILLUSTRATION PROBLEMS, 20 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yoga Sequencing: Designing Transformative Yoga Classes (Paperback)
Hard to navigate around this book. When sequences are suggested there are just words and no illustrations. So when they say Sun Sequence A, you have to look it up and it is not indexed - many other things like that. Frustrating. It is as if the author requires you to read from page 1 to the end and to remember everything and also where to find them. Poor indexing. Poor illustrations. I am sure it is useful but I cannot use it as a reference book, as a yoga teacher, without spending ages flipping pages back and forth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent all round information, 28 Aug 2013
This review is from: Yoga Sequencing: Designing Transformative Yoga Classes (Paperback)
Good in depth background information. Gives lots of sequencing suggestions with background teaching instructions. As a teacher with only a couple of years teaching experience I am finding it one of the most useful texts on my journey so far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disapointing, 21 May 2014
By 
C. L. Challis - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yoga Sequencing: Designing Transformative Yoga Classes (Paperback)
Very disapointing, the sequencing is pretty derivative, based on Ashtanga Vinyasa and Anusara, with lots of sun salute warm ups. Despite some sequences being labled as levels 1-2 ie suitable for beginners, students would really need a good degree of competence to keep up with these lessons. Great for teaching flow classes at the gym but not much in here for the village hall crew.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent source for class sequencing...great teaching tool, 30 Mar 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yoga Sequencing: Designing Transformative Yoga Classes (Paperback)
A great book with regards to lesson plans/sequencing. Particularly helpful with yoga flow sequences/vinyasas. I would recommend this book for teachers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful teaching aid, 8 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yoga Sequencing: Designing Transformative Yoga Classes (Paperback)
This is a comprehensive and excellent teaching aid. Contains a broad selection of sequences for a myriad of class types. Well written. Gives the reader an interesting perspective and food for reflection on the importance and value of well-considered yoga sequences.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yoga Sequencing: Designing Transformative Yoga Classes, Mark Stephens, 6 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yoga Sequencing: Designing Transformative Yoga Classes (Paperback)
Amazing! Really clearly written. Concise. Down to earth and extremely useful. I wished there was a phonetic spell for the Latin/Sanskrit pronunciation of the asanas' names, but otherwise it is near perfection.
Helped me a lot to design my own yoga classes (Vinyasa Flow).
In short, buy it. It is really a useful guiding tool... Even if you do not teach yoga and just wish to stick to practicing at home.
It will help you to choose intelligently your yoga teacher, if you choose classes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for those teaching!, 9 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yoga Sequencing: Designing Transformative Yoga Classes (Paperback)
A great in depth book about sequencing Yoga classes. I have been teaching a while and its helped me to refresh some classes and to re invigorate my own practice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Invaluable & worth every penny!, 18 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yoga Sequencing: Designing Transformative Yoga Classes (Paperback)
Have another Mark Stephens' books - as a trainee yoga teacher this book is invaluable & really well written. It is a book that you can continually refer back to & will always be useful. Have recommended this book to others on my course. Arrived early as always with this supplier.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Yoga Sequencing: Designing Transformative Yoga Classes
Yoga Sequencing: Designing Transformative Yoga Classes by Mark Stephens (Paperback - 15 Oct 2012)
£15.08
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews