Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bones of God
How does mankind deal with miracles? This question has assumed a more-than-theoretical importance in the life of Michael Glickman, who has been witnessing the miraculous on a regular basis since he investigated his first crop circle in 1990. In the years since then, an intensive study of the crop-circle phenomenon in the region of its most important appearances--the...
Published on 24 April 2009 by D. B. Limited

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Crop Circles The Bones of God
This is a beautifully produced book with a striking cover featuring the Barbury Pi formation. It is printed on quality shiny paper by Frog Books of Berkeley California.Over 13 chapters, Glickman studies the most magnificent circles of recent history and looks at their geometries with great care and beautiful photographs. Glickman is one of the foremost researchers of this...
Published on 19 July 2010 by Allie Allbright


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bones of God, 24 April 2009
By 
D. B. Limited (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Crop Circles: The Bones of God (Paperback)
How does mankind deal with miracles? This question has assumed a more-than-theoretical importance in the life of Michael Glickman, who has been witnessing the miraculous on a regular basis since he investigated his first crop circle in 1990. In the years since then, an intensive study of the crop-circle phenomenon in the region of its most important appearances--the English countryside--has given Glickman extraordinary personal insight into a subject usually known only through secondhand reports and speculation.

More than eight years in the writing, Crop Circles: The Bones of God is unique among books on this modern enigma in that it combines the author's firsthand field encounters with some of the most famous crop-circle formations (such as Alton Barnes 1990 and Silbury Hill 1997, as well as more recent circles) with intricate and dazzling analyses of the structure and content of those formations. This beautifully illustrated mix of personal narrative with detailed study informs a larger discussion of the role of crop circles in the modern world and their unprecedented promise of new chapters in the history of consciousness.

About the Author
A trained architect, Michael Glickman was a regular columnist in the legendary crop-circle journal The Cereologist, edited by John Michell, as well as The Sussex Circular and Swirled News. His books on the subject include Crop Circles and Cornography:The New Swirled Order. He lives in Wiltshire County, England.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Bones Of God, 7 Jun. 2010
By 
JAY BREMYER (McPherson, KS USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Crop Circles: The Bones of God (Paperback)
Michael Glickman's most recent book _Crop Circles: The
Bones of God_ is truly extraordinary and will long be
considered a classic -- a beautifully conceived and
executed book. I've been in the fields, attended the
conferences, and read Glickman's other books, as well
as John Michell's and Allan Brown's study of _Crooked
Soley_, which is terrific, and the general literature,
and recognize Glickman's further elaboration of all the
earlier studies here as a very significant
contribution.

Based on Glickman's lectures, that I've heard, but
particularly in this book, I'm keenly aware of what an
excellent, patient teacher he is. Beyond that he has
an amazing sense of how to build a picture from
fundamentals through interpretation. This is a great
job! As an architect, he is extraordinarily aware of
just how wonderful these "pictures in the fields"
really are.

I highly recommend this book to everyone with any
interest in anomalous phenomena. Regardless of their
initial viewpoint, they'll be entertained and informed.
At a minimum, their sense of wonder will be fed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An author who really communicates, 7 Sept. 2009
By 
R. Lund "Richard Lund" (Manchester UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Crop Circles: The Bones of God (Paperback)
This book is a series of meditations on and investigations of the most significant crop circles of the last 20 years. There is no real history of the crop circles phenomenon, the focus is on the circles themselves.

The author has clearly spent a long time considering these formations and has a deep personal knowledge of his subject. Unlike some books where the meanings of crop circles are all too glibly listed, Glickman's careful and thoughtful approach really made me feel that I understood what the numbers and the geometry meant.

This is not a long book but it is an enjoyable read if you are interested in the mysteries and meanings of crop circles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Crop Circles The Bones of God, 19 July 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crop Circles: The Bones of God (Paperback)
This is a beautifully produced book with a striking cover featuring the Barbury Pi formation. It is printed on quality shiny paper by Frog Books of Berkeley California.Over 13 chapters, Glickman studies the most magnificent circles of recent history and looks at their geometries with great care and beautiful photographs. Glickman is one of the foremost researchers of this phenomenon and I was disappointed with the final chapter, which presents a short and very watered down hypothesis of what the circles mean. This is a passionately argued subject and I feel Glickman's book doesn't do justice to this fact. It seems to me to be the work of a man who is trying too hard to cover all bases and in the process loses something of the passion that this subject stirs in the factions involved.Fabulous title though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Intriguing stuff, 22 Sept. 2010
This review is from: Crop Circles: The Bones of God (Paperback)
Having heard the author on the radio, where he sounded a very reasonable man, not a nutter, I ordered the book. Like many, I thought crop circles were just made by lads out for a jape but looking at the absolutely wonderful and intricate designs featured in this book, I rapidly saw this was quite impossible. The numerical logistics are also mind boggling. Some of these designs are huge, minutely detailed. The author doesn't ram any conclusions onto the reader but I was left with a sense of wonder and wanting to know more.
Great stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Passion and Delight, 19 Oct. 2010
By 
Delilah (West Country, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Crop Circles: The Bones of God (Paperback)
Michael Glickman has written a book that gently shares his love of beauty based on number and symmetry which is an utter delight. He leads us chronologically through more and more complicated designs until you begin to wonder what is really going on with this crop circle phenomenon. Glickman has very convincing arguments concerning the origins of these wonders which those with an open mind will enjoy following and find hard to dismiss. But best of all we see the heart and passion of the author, which makes this book not just a thing of beauty but a brave endeavour. I loved this book and came away with hope for the future of our planet and its people.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Crop Glyph Classic, 17 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crop Circles: The Bones of God (Paperback)
There are few published books on the crop glyph phenomena written by a researcher who has stuck around, observed and laboured to reveal some remarkable findings for us all to marvel at, and participate in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars crop circles, 17 Oct. 2010
This review is from: Crop Circles: The Bones of God (Paperback)
this is a beautiful book with stunning pictures and fantastic information Thank you so much Mr Glickman
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Crop Circles: The Bones of God
Crop Circles: The Bones of God by Michael Glickman (Paperback - 10 May 2009)
£13.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews