Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:    (0)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a real guide for those who are desperate
This book is great! It shows the suicidal person how to see the light again. There is worksheets which help you through your tough times. I am now receiving help but before i read this book everything was impossible, i was so alone and thought i deserved to be punished. If you feel at all like this; this book is for you. It is for the suicidal person, ivaluable to...
Published on 4 Feb. 2006

versus
13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A book for the suicidal not self harmers
As a self harmer I bought this book believing it was a book about how to overcome the problem. In fact this is a companion to help siucidal people get through their darkest moments and look to the future ahead of them. For that purpose I can see how this book may be useful but as a book for self harmers it is useless. I do feel that the title is misleading.
Published on 31 Oct. 2004


Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A book for the suicidal not self harmers, 31 Oct. 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Life After Self-Harm: A Guide to the Future (Paperback)
As a self harmer I bought this book believing it was a book about how to overcome the problem. In fact this is a companion to help siucidal people get through their darkest moments and look to the future ahead of them. For that purpose I can see how this book may be useful but as a book for self harmers it is useless. I do feel that the title is misleading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars I would`nt recommend this for self-harmers, 7 Feb. 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life After Self-Harm: A Guide to the Future (Paperback)
I bought this book, in order to understand my own self injury, and perhaps finally end it. However, this book states that self injury and attempted suicide are one and the same thing. I know this is not the case. I self-harm, as a way of coping...of living, as most people do, in one way or another. I have lost two people very close to me to suicide. One of them had self harmed for many years before ending her life. This was not self-harm gone wrong. The other one had never self harmed, but had been extremely depressed, and could see no way out, so decided to end his life. I attempted suicide, and know I wanted to die, not to get attention, which is what this book implies.
I found that this book is extremely stereotypical in many statements about self-harmers. While it states that many "cutters" are ashamed of their behavior, scars, etc, it implies that this is how they should feel, and they are seen as attention seekers, etc, etc.. Self-harmers are individuals who happen to self harm, not a huge swathe of attention seeking individuals, who cut, overdose, etc as soon as they`re out of the limelight, out of desperation to get attention. The majority of people who self-harm do se very privately, and therefore rarely get any attention for doing so. Thay are afraid of being judged negatively, which often stops them from seeking medical care for any damage they`ve done to their body. I know, from experience that many health care proffesionals hold very negative judgements on self harmers, and books like this only go to strengthen these judgements.
I would strongly recommend not buying this book if you are a self harmer, as it is likely to further lower any self worth you have left. I would also ask friends / family / staff caring forself harmers not to buy this book as you are likely to be given very unhelpful stereotypes, which will not be useful at all to the person you care for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars More for suicide than self-harm, 1 May 2008
By 
Mrs. M. L. Hillery "marymoose99" (Cumbria, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Life After Self-Harm: A Guide to the Future (Paperback)
The title of this book is misleading. The focus is really on suicide prevention rather than self-injury. Throughout the book there is no clear distinction made between suicide and self-injury as they are lumped together as one. It is also implied that self-injury/suicidal behaviour is often used as a tool for manipulating people.

That said, some of the exercises might be useful for people who self-injure, and a lot of the information is good advice for those who are suicidal. However, as a tool for dealing with most cases of self-injury, I can't see it as being particularly useful or groundbreaking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a real guide for those who are desperate, 4 Feb. 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Life After Self-Harm: A Guide to the Future (Paperback)
This book is great! It shows the suicidal person how to see the light again. There is worksheets which help you through your tough times. I am now receiving help but before i read this book everything was impossible, i was so alone and thought i deserved to be punished. If you feel at all like this; this book is for you. It is for the suicidal person, ivaluable to others.
If you are facing darkness, then PLEASE get help! Don't let the thought of suicide overwhelm you.
The only thing about the book is that i'm only a teen and it focuses more on adults. But it still helps.
I hope this book will give you courage to find the light and you recover soon!! Remember, Things CAN and WILL change!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great book on suicide with a misleading title, 28 Feb. 2008
By 
Amazon Customer (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life After Self-Harm: A Guide to the Future (Paperback)
As other reviewers have noted, this book's title is misleading. The authors use the term "self-harm" to cover suicide attempts as well as other forms of self-injury, and the book is mainly aimed at people who have attempted suicide, not those who self-harm for other reasons. Unfortunately, the book description and synopsis do little to clear up the misunderstanding.

If you read Life After Self-Harm as a self-help guide for people who feel suicidal, it's an excellent book. It's understanding, nonjudgemental, and full of practical suggestions for tackling the problems that led to the suicidal feelings in the first place. I didn't notice any of the negative judgements of self-injurers that a previous reviewer describes. Nor did I feel the authors are claiming that self-injury and suicide are the same thing - they even include a case study of someone who self-injures without suicidal intent. They just happen to use "self-harm" as an umbrella term to cover both.

I'd recommend this book to anyone who's attempted suicide or struggles with suicidal thoughts, whether or not they also self-harm. If Life After Self-Harm had a less confusing title, I'd give it five stars, no question.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Life After Self-Harm: A Guide to the Future
Life After Self-Harm: A Guide to the Future by Kate Davidson (Paperback - 18 Mar. 2004)
£17.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews