Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


82 of 87 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars cognitive life coaching
This book is absolutely essential if you are an aspiring or practising life coach. It deals with numerous strategies that you can easily process and readily apply but without appearing high brow or unmanageable. Indeed, i was so impressed with both authors ability to couch complex language in such an impressive coherent fashion. Key chapters for me were the ones...
Published on 9 May 2003 by alexander666

versus
4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not sure this is life coaching?
This is a good book if you want to understand the basic core beliefs of Cognitive Behavioural therapy. Is it for life coaching? Not really, it is not focused on future issue so much as focusing on the issues you have in the present that are hindering you from focusing on future goals. There are one or two interesting points where Cognitive Bahvioural therapy over lap over...
Published on 26 Dec. 2009 by Alison


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

82 of 87 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars cognitive life coaching, 9 May 2003
This review is from: Life Coaching: A Cognitive-Behavioural Approach (Paperback)
This book is absolutely essential if you are an aspiring or practising life coach. It deals with numerous strategies that you can easily process and readily apply but without appearing high brow or unmanageable. Indeed, i was so impressed with both authors ability to couch complex language in such an impressive coherent fashion. Key chapters for me were the ones dealing with procrastination and change, simply superb! and worth their weight in gold just for the techniques needed to acquire new perspectives. The authors have found a missing element in the coaching arena that of being able to synergise elements of life coaching, counselling, NLP, psychotherapy and performance coaching this facet gives real credibility and clout their findings/assertions and i heartily endorse it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A life-saver of a book, 21 Mar. 2012
By 
This review is from: Life Coaching: A Cognitive-Behavioural Approach (Paperback)
I have found this book incredibly helpful over the past 8 years and continue to refer to it on a regular basis. I have bought copies for many colleagues who have also benefited from it. The first chapter, which lists the many different types of faulty thinking, is worth the price on its own.

In particular, I really appreciate the way in which key academic studies backing up the main points are referenced. Some other readers may not like this, but I do because it marks this book out as different from a typical self-help book (I think most of us are familiar with those breathless pep talks).

This book is also intensely practical. While it is quite short it includes all the basics of cognitive behavioural thinking which allow you to start applying it right away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great must have book, 16 Oct. 2012
This review is from: Life Coaching: A Cognitive-Behavioural Approach (Paperback)
I bought this book from British Heart foundation charity book shop about 7 years back and consider myself lucky to come across it. I have been referring this regularly and it has been a great friend/guru/mentor. The book gives an excellent framework to deal with life. It covers the complex subject nicely from various various angles - CBT, spirituality, management techniques and wisdom. It encourages on focusing our energies on identifying and following through our values and goals without getting either burdened by them or withdrawing from them due to human imperfections. It talks about maintaining gains and about coping with loss as well. If one has to engage with life in todays world I think life coaching gives the best way to do it. Great work by the authors towards humanity. Many thanks to them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 32 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A text with a dual-role., 28 Mar. 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Life Coaching: A Cognitive-Behavioural Approach (Paperback)
This book has a dual-role. It appears to have been written primarily for those people either training to be, or who are already life coaches. Additionally, the authors have styled the book as a "self-help" book.
A typical problem with this dual-role approach is that such books can become daunting to those seeking self-help, due to the inclusion of details of previous academic research undertaken in the topic. This book does include details of academic research but the information included in this book does not distractlay readers.
In my opinion other books may be more suitable for people approaching the subject of being their own life coach for the first time. However, for readers who wish to advance their own knowledge of being their own life coach the book does explain some apprached and ideas that may be useful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best of its type, 7 Aug. 2010
This review is from: Life Coaching: A Cognitive-Behavioural Approach (Paperback)
This is a great explanation of how life coaching and CBT work. I've read a few and this was the best; it was recommended to me by a cognitive behavioural therapist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life Coaching: A Cognitive-Behavioural Approach (Paperback)
Excellent book, brilliant for new coaches
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not sure this is life coaching?, 26 Dec. 2009
This review is from: Life Coaching: A Cognitive-Behavioural Approach (Paperback)
This is a good book if you want to understand the basic core beliefs of Cognitive Behavioural therapy. Is it for life coaching? Not really, it is not focused on future issue so much as focusing on the issues you have in the present that are hindering you from focusing on future goals. There are one or two interesting points where Cognitive Bahvioural therapy over lap over life coaching. I would not consider this a self help book either. But it is a thorough guide if your in training and need to understand what CB appraoch is about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars not very easy to, 7 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life Coaching: A Cognitive-Behavioural Approach (Paperback)
ok book. not very easy to read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 17 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Life Coaching: A Cognitive-Behavioural Approach (Paperback)
Great thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Life Coaching. A Cognitive Behavioural Approach, 24 Oct. 2010
By 
Mrs. O. Jenkinson (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Life Coaching: A Cognitive-Behavioural Approach (Paperback)
I think it is a lot more complicated than it should be.
A huge amount of reference to the original psychologists/psychiatrists who researched work etc, which if you want to just understand and do the CBT is completely irrelevant and
boring.
Perhaps it is not intended for the average person with problems who is wanting to
help themselves, but more for people who are hoping to study the subject and be
the person giving the CBT therapy themselves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Life Coaching: A Cognitive-Behavioural Approach
Life Coaching: A Cognitive-Behavioural Approach by Windy Dryden (Paperback - 22 Nov. 2001)
Used & New from: £2.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews