Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Legendary running story
This is a great story told with brutal honesty. Ulrich really lays himself on the line and in doing so offers real inspiration.

The book will be of particular interest to runners of course, and I'd recommend reading it to anyone who is planning to run a distance that they find challenging - be it 5k or across America!

Ulrich's gritty determination...
Published on 23 Jun 2011 by Archie Chill

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good to a point
I found the start of this book very emotive and easy to relate too in terms of why he started running. I enjoyed this book up to a point but marshals constant praise of his wife began to get tiresome with about a third of the book to go and I ended up just wanting to finish the book as opposed to finish reading about his journey.

It's still worth a read if you...
Published 17 months ago by lewis1


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good to a point, 6 July 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Running on Empty (Paperback)
I found the start of this book very emotive and easy to relate too in terms of why he started running. I enjoyed this book up to a point but marshals constant praise of his wife began to get tiresome with about a third of the book to go and I ended up just wanting to finish the book as opposed to finish reading about his journey.

It's still worth a read if you love running because of the enormity of marshals goal but there are better running books out there in my opinion like 'feet in the clouds' or 'born to run'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Legendary running story, 23 Jun 2011
This is a great story told with brutal honesty. Ulrich really lays himself on the line and in doing so offers real inspiration.

The book will be of particular interest to runners of course, and I'd recommend reading it to anyone who is planning to run a distance that they find challenging - be it 5k or across America!

Ulrich's gritty determination translates into compelling read that is hard to put down, and provides a more personal story than than the excellent yarn "Born To Run" - which I also loved reading. WIth foreword by Christopher McDougall, its sure to become the next 'must read' running classic.

Loved it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Book review, 26 July 2011
This is an extraordinary story about a great man. Not being a runner myself this book told me a very intersting story about running ultra marathons. I have learned so much and am happy that I have read this story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring, 19 Jun 2011
By 
N. Baller (Redditch UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Well worth a read. Currently about two thirds through the book. He is an amazing athlete and very inspiring. He has had more than his fair share of misfortune but shows so much amazing fortitude.

His stamina and ability to overcome physical and mental stress is beyond comprehension.

Its a very enjoyable read I could barely put it down
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it, 18 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Just to say it was very encourageing and that's the reason why I loved it would really recommend it :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inside a Fascinating Mind, 2 Jun 2013
By 
Oliver (Los Angeles) - See all my reviews
On its surface, Running on Empty is about Marshall Ulrich's run across the United States. But in a more important sense, the book is hardly about running at all. It is about the struggles and emotional growth of a man whose first wife died of cancer at about 30 years old, shortly after the birth of their first child. Ulrich originally takes up running to literally and figuratively "run away" from his very substantial troubles. Ultimately, however, Ulrich learns to deal with -- "accept" is probably too strong a word -- what happened to him early in life, and his relationship to running, his friends, and family all change for the better. Despite the tragedy, the book is ultimately positive and life-affirming.

The book really works for two reasons. First, Ulrich's unique personality and determination are fascinating. Second, and perhaps more importantly, Ulrich generously shares his feelings with the reader in what felt to me like a very honest and open fashion.

Finally, despite the heavy topic, Running on Empty is an easy read. Ulrich is not going to win any Nobel Prizes for literature, but he communicates effectively and clearly, in his own unique voice.

Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good read, 16 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Interesting guy, amazing feat of endurance. A very honest account of the trials and tribulations of undertaking such a massive challenge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars RUNNING ON EMPTY, 21 Jan 2013
By 
There is a line in Marshall Ulrich's book in which he, unflattering, describes himself as a tank. Or rather he admits to having a tank-like build. You don't really expect this as ultrarunners are famed for their svelte, slight builds and their often quiet, introspective manner. This book is neither of these things.

Like the monumentally epic challenge that Ulrich describes, the narrative is forceful and brash. He is brutally honest throughout about his shortcomings and he admits to the painful compromises that he has had to make along the way to becoming one of the most respected ultrarunners ever. But here, in 'Running on Empty', such honesty does not really translate into a narrative of psychological interest. This is a shame. I am far more interested in his thoughts rather than the food that he ate along the way. Although I have nothing but admiration for his attitude and guts, the prose did leave me a little empty.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible Story, 17 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Running on Empty (Paperback)
Amazing story of dedication, commitment and downright, well, lunacy! Still can't get my head around the daily mileage over such a long time. Well worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great read, 28 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
up there with born to run great read couldnt put it down marshall is an amazing guy unsurpassed in my mind...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Running on Empty
Running on Empty by Marshall Ulrich (Paperback - 3 May 2012)
£11.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews