Customer Reviews


54 Reviews
5 star:
 (39)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


61 of 64 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An essential plotting guide for all writers
I've read many books on plotting and structure, but this is probably the best so far. It doesn't offer a miracle cure for ailing plots, or promote a magical formula for coming up with the perfect novel, or divulge any flashy techniques - instead, it provides a nuts-and-bolts, back-to-basics guide to developing a strong foundation for your novel.

It has to be...
Published on 18 Nov. 2007 by J Smith

versus
10 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, though too straight forward much of the time
While this book is pretty good at explaining the fundamentals of plotting a story it falls a bit short of depth. About a third of the content here felt too obvious to have to be written down. It is easy enough to read so points for that but I breezed trough this in three days without getting the sensation I actually learned a whole lot. And that's coming from someone who...
Published on 21 Nov. 2010 by Mellow Kirby


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 12 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Plot and Structure: Techniques and Exercises for Crafting a Plot that Grips Readers from Start to Finish (Write Great Fiction) (Paperback)
Timely arrival and as described.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 19 Jan. 2015
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Plot and Structure: Techniques and Exercises for Crafting a Plot that Grips Readers from Start to Finish (Write Great Fiction) (Paperback)
knows what he is talking about
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The write stuff, 26 Oct. 2010
By 
A. Chell "Avid reader" (Staffordshire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Plot and Structure: Techniques and Exercises for Crafting a Plot that Grips Readers from Start to Finish (Write Great Fiction) (Paperback)
One day, I'll put the figurative pen to paper and write the novel I keep promising myself I will. If I manage to do so, my level of success will be due, in no small part, to this book.

The author effectively demystifies the plotting process, offering practical tips on creating the necessary building blocks to support a story from beginning to end. Each chapter ends with an exercise to undertake to help reinforce the message, which the reader can stop and do, or can leave until they've read the book and go back to.

Written in a clear, uncomplicated style, this is a book that can be read either at one or many sittings without losing its impact. I would recommend it to any budding author, or to anyone merely interested in better understanding the craft of writing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Really Superb Guide, 20 Feb. 2012
By 
Greg Scowen "Author of The Spanish Helmet" (New Zealand/Switzerland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Plot and Structure: Techniques and Exercises for Crafting a Plot that Grips Readers from Start to Finish (Write Great Fiction) (Paperback)
I cannot add much to the multitude of great reviews on Amazon.com other than to put my hand up too and say "This book was is one of the best books on writing that I know".

While there are so many vital aspects to writing, I hold plot and structure to be the the most important. There is nothing more frustrating than a book that leaves you with unanswered questions or where the plots don't flow well. When I first started to write, I bought the whole Write Great Fiction series. This title was one of two that ended up so highlighted that it was easier to spot the whitespace that the good bits.

In all seriousness, if you are embarking on a writing career (or hobby) pick up a copy of Plot & Structure and devour it from front to back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thanks -- is fine, 24 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Plot and Structure: Techniques and Exercises for Crafting a Plot that Grips Readers from Start to Finish (Write Great Fiction) (Paperback)
Thanks -- is fine
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Plot, 14 May 2008
By 
L. F. Lawlor - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Plot and Structure: Techniques and Exercises for Crafting a Plot that Grips Readers from Start to Finish (Write Great Fiction) (Paperback)
An easy-to-read book, and yet it contains countless ideas and suggestions for the writer - well worth buying!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Plot and structure, 4 Oct. 2013
By 
Mrs. Margaret G. Thomas "hot photos" (Argyll, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Plot and Structure: Techniques and Exercises for Crafting a Plot that Grips Readers from Start to Finish (Write Great Fiction) (Paperback)
I loved this book, not only for the exercises they make you think but for the easy, no nonsense language of James Scott. I love the way this book breaks down the text in to a way that I can understand. It really is a perfect book for anyone thinking of writing. I used the book the first day I got it and immediately got hooked on not only reading the exercises but also on the book itself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent how-to guide for writing entertaining fiction, 28 Mar. 2012
By 
Colin Marks - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Plot and Structure: Techniques and Exercises for Crafting a Plot that Grips Readers from Start to Finish (Write Great Fiction) (Paperback)
I did love this book. I read it from cover to cover within a week of buying it, and am fairly certain I'll be returning to it again in the future. The chatty style is entertaining whilst carrying solid tips on how to develop plot lines that keep readers hooked. Highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Writing techniques beautifully explained., 10 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Plot and Structure: Techniques and Exercises for Crafting a Plot that Grips Readers from Start to Finish (Write Great Fiction) (Paperback)
Plot and Structure, a book of writing techniques by James Scott Bell, is well worth reading, digesting and reading all over again. It will clarify your mind and improve your writing skills if you employ his inspirational ideas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ... on writing which provide a novice author with extremely useful guidance. This one is very useful in guiding ..., 5 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
James Scott Bell creates very readable E-books on writing which provide a novice author with extremely useful guidance. This one is very useful in guiding the way that authors should structure the plot line.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews