Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle  Learn more Countdown to Prime Day Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars64
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 June 2016
Good writing and easy to understand!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2010
Clearly you've been thinking about writing, or in the least, the process of writing, otherwise you wouldn't be looking at this book. My advice is: buy it. You won't regret it.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2015
Excellent service, would use again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 26 October 2010
One day, I'll put the figurative pen to paper and write the novel I keep promising myself I will. If I manage to do so, my level of success will be due, in no small part, to this book.

The author effectively demystifies the plotting process, offering practical tips on creating the necessary building blocks to support a story from beginning to end. Each chapter ends with an exercise to undertake to help reinforce the message, which the reader can stop and do, or can leave until they've read the book and go back to.

Written in a clear, uncomplicated style, this is a book that can be read either at one or many sittings without losing its impact. I would recommend it to any budding author, or to anyone merely interested in better understanding the craft of writing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2012
I cannot add much to the multitude of great reviews on Amazon.com other than to put my hand up too and say "This book was is one of the best books on writing that I know".

While there are so many vital aspects to writing, I hold plot and structure to be the the most important. There is nothing more frustrating than a book that leaves you with unanswered questions or where the plots don't flow well. When I first started to write, I bought the whole Write Great Fiction series. This title was one of two that ended up so highlighted that it was easier to spot the whitespace that the good bits.

In all seriousness, if you are embarking on a writing career (or hobby) pick up a copy of Plot & Structure and devour it from front to back.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2015
I'm going to give this book 5 stars because it breaks the plotting process into small easy to follow steps. Although a lot of the things you lean from this book can be found elsewhere, the author has great way of explaining them and tying them together - he does so in such a way that it makes you want get on and write something for yourself.

I think this book can be beneficial to writers of all abilities, but I think those who will benefit the most will be intermediate level authors who have the basics in place, but lack confidence in plot structure and pacing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2008
An easy-to-read book, and yet it contains countless ideas and suggestions for the writer - well worth buying!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 October 2013
I loved this book, not only for the exercises they make you think but for the easy, no nonsense language of James Scott. I love the way this book breaks down the text in to a way that I can understand. It really is a perfect book for anyone thinking of writing. I used the book the first day I got it and immediately got hooked on not only reading the exercises but also on the book itself.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2012
I did love this book. I read it from cover to cover within a week of buying it, and am fairly certain I'll be returning to it again in the future. The chatty style is entertaining whilst carrying solid tips on how to develop plot lines that keep readers hooked. Highly recommend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2015
Good, concise, explanations of the various elements of novel writing. It's written in a friendly style, doesn't blind you with science, and gives lots of exercises and examples. I am part way through the book and have already learned a lot.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse