Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome
i would recommend this book to anyone who is interested or would like to take up writing books for themselves. The book delivers information which makes you as a writer stop and think about your character, and how you choose them to express themselves. It helps you connect with the charactor - or characters you are writing for and how different characters respond under...
Published 2 months ago by Katie White

versus
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars MANY PAGES, LITTLE SUBSTANCE
This book belongs to a very interesting series, but is not at the same level as "Plot & Structure" and "Revision and Self-editing".
The author uses plenty of pages to explain few useful - but not new - concepts, making exercises a pure repetition of the content of the chapter; the same can be said for the grey pages with practical tips. The same ideas would fit in...
Published on 21 Nov 2009 by Grazia Gi


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars MANY PAGES, LITTLE SUBSTANCE, 21 Nov 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dialogue: Techniques and Exercises for Crafting Effective Dialogue (Write Great Fiction) (Paperback)
This book belongs to a very interesting series, but is not at the same level as "Plot & Structure" and "Revision and Self-editing".
The author uses plenty of pages to explain few useful - but not new - concepts, making exercises a pure repetition of the content of the chapter; the same can be said for the grey pages with practical tips. The same ideas would fit in one third of the pages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Still OK for a Primer, 20 Feb 2012
By 
Greg Scowen "Author of The Spanish Helmet" (New Zealand/Switzerland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dialogue: Techniques and Exercises for Crafting Effective Dialogue (Write Great Fiction) (Paperback)
I wouldn't go as far as some of the reviews here and say this book was a waste of money. Indeed, as a primer into the writing of dialogue, this was perfect for me.

That doesn't mean I didn't go out and search for more guides on the topic to further the basic knowledge that I got within. But it was a good warm up and I would recommend it to anyone who wants to get a light starter for a part of the craft that challenges may writers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, 17 Nov 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dialogue: Techniques and Exercises for Crafting Effective Dialogue (Write Great Fiction) (Paperback)
I found a few points raised by this book helpful.

Generally I found the style and authorial voice OK but it seemed to be far longer than was necessary. Really everything she said could have been condensed into a chapter or two of a more comprehensive book, like Bell's excellent Plot and Structure in the same series, which should probably have been extended to encompass the other books.

Can't help thinking the rest of this series is just a cheap way of quadrupling the publisher's profits after Plot and Structure's success.

However, if you have particular problems with dialogue, this crash course may well prove useful. The exercises were certainly comprehensive, though of course there's no-one to tell you how well you did at them!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A whole book, when one chapter would do., 9 Mar 2008
By 
Glenn Carmichael "GlennCarmichael" (Bristol, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dialogue: Techniques and Exercises for Crafting Effective Dialogue (Write Great Fiction) (Paperback)
Although this book has some gems on how to write dialogue, I found it too long for the job that it had to do. There is too much repetition and really this should not be a whole book, but merely one chapter of a book on creative writing.
I found Gloria Kempton's style a little irritating, where she used too much first person narrative: 'I like this...'. 'I do this...', 'I see new writers make a lot of mistakes when it comes to writing emotional dialogue...' etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 7 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dialogue: Techniques and Exercises for Crafting Effective Dialogue (Write Great Fiction) (Paperback)
i would recommend this book to anyone who is interested or would like to take up writing books for themselves. The book delivers information which makes you as a writer stop and think about your character, and how you choose them to express themselves. It helps you connect with the charactor - or characters you are writing for and how different characters respond under stressful situations. One might curse and swear, others might stew about something inwardly - it is fantastic and helps alot with how you protray your characters because you could start writing something and then think that theis isnt something that they would say, or that they might not do or react in a certain way.
It also explains why certain techniques do not work so well for writers and it helps convey what and how you want to write your characters to deliver and achieve the desired affect you want to convey as others would readyour story or book. It explains alot, and so as an expressionate person i like to think i am, i'm very interested in this kind of thing and for me what i understand its like to understand your chatacter if you speak in the 'I' sense, the first person - you need to start to become your character and understand him or her - basically if you love a great detailed book that can improve or enable your writing definatly get this book. it has helped me and i always refer to it when i'm in the middle of a story. Oh and the book helps you to enable your writing move at a pace where nothing comes to a standstil - that you need dialigue and the importance of it which flows and always keeps it real.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dialogue: Techniques and Exercises for Crafting Effective Dialogue (Write Great Fiction), 17 Nov 2011
By 
Jewels "jmm" (united kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dialogue: Techniques and Exercises for Crafting Effective Dialogue (Write Great Fiction) (Paperback)
I am writing a book and was having a problem with the dialogue of my characters, this book gives a lot of really helpful intelligent advice and I am delighted I bought it. Recommend to any budding author like myself and anyone who is interested in techniques and exercises for crafting effective dialogue in other walks of life. A must have as far as I'm concerned.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy it, if you are an anspiring author, 10 April 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dialogue: Techniques and Exercises for Crafting Effective Dialogue (Write Great Fiction) (Paperback)
This is a superb set of books for the aspiring author, written not just in an informative way, but also fun to read and the content easy to remember. The book teaches all you need to know to start or improve your writing, with plenty of examples to illustrate each concept. You won't find any pompous tuition or comments in these books, the text is intended for your benefit, and not for the author to show off. In that respect it doesn't matter if this is the first time you are trying to write anything, or you just want to improve on your past experience. And apart from teaching prose, I find these books packed with many fascinating insights into humanity and the way people interact with each other, and also the world around them. Another good point is that the chapters are long enough to make a point, but not long enough to bore the pants off you. As I said, the text is written for 'you,' and to encourage you. It certainly encourages me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dialogue: Techniques and Exercises for Crafting Effective Dialogue (Write Great Fiction)
11.20
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews