Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Eye opener
The book was an eye opener for me. Knowing nothing about the 12 step program and only a little about buddhism, this book was an excellent read. The fact that the author has been in the program, has failed the program and has tried again and succeeded, shows his great will to stay sober and knowledge about being an addict and how to stay sober. It's an easy to read book,...
Published on 15 April 2009 by K. van Oosterhout

versus
1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars disappointing
I started reading this book with great enthusiasm as I think that something along those lines is badly needed but unfortunately I was disappointed and gave up reading it half way through looking for
Published on 17 Nov. 2012 by aisha


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Eye opener, 15 April 2009
By 
K. van Oosterhout (Talavera de la Reina) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The 12-step Buddhist: Enhance Recovery from Any Addiction (Paperback)
The book was an eye opener for me. Knowing nothing about the 12 step program and only a little about buddhism, this book was an excellent read. The fact that the author has been in the program, has failed the program and has tried again and succeeded, shows his great will to stay sober and knowledge about being an addict and how to stay sober. It's an easy to read book, with clear explanations of how the author used the 12 steps and budhism to come to a sober life. The excersices in the book are well explained and usefull for any person to practice, addict or none addict.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Experiencing the beauty of the link between 12steps and Buddhism, 17 Oct. 2009
This review is from: The 12-step Buddhist: Enhance Recovery from Any Addiction (Paperback)
I loved this book.

For anyone with any experience of a 12 Step recovery process I think that Darren's book goes through the similarities between Buddhism and the 12 Steps on a practical day to day level that is easy to follow.

It seems to me that this book would appeal to both people that are working their 12 steps and interested in the potential of spiritual development inside and outside of their group. I think it would also help Buddhists wanting to understand more about the 12 Step process.

This is an intensely personal journey and Darren's way of writing supports this with details of his own invaluable experience.

His honesty about the highs, lows and plateaus of his journey is an inspiration.

Thanks Darren.

Phil
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deeply spiritual and sensible book., 22 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The 12-step Buddhist: Enhance Recovery from Any Addiction (Paperback)
I am a heavy drinker but do not regard myself as an adict. I heartly recomend this book not only to someone who wants to beet adiction but also to somenoe who want to follow a good spiritual path.

I have not finished the book but it makes a lot of sence. It should lead to me developing a deeper and sounder spirituality.

Well done Darren keep them coming.

Peter
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting line on 12-step programmes., 27 Dec. 2014
By 
J. Severn (LONDON United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The 12-step Buddhist: Enhance Recovery from Any Addiction (Paperback)
Thought-provoking. Needs slow and careful reading, and probably needs you to be reasonably well acquainted with either a 12-step programme or Buddhism to make the most of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational, 11 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The 12-step Buddhist: Enhance Recovery from Any Addiction (Paperback)
What I needed in my practice particularly where AA and Al-Anon overlap.

Will continue to use it as aide memoire
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars disappointing, 17 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I started reading this book with great enthusiasm as I think that something along those lines is badly needed but unfortunately I was disappointed and gave up reading it half way through looking for
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The 12-step Buddhist: Enhance Recovery from Any Addiction
The 12-step Buddhist: Enhance Recovery from Any Addiction by Darren Littlejohn (Paperback - 7 Mar. 2009)
£9.98
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews