Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Handbook for Divine Healing
A friend of ours is gravely ill and traditional Western medicine is not going to cure him. We heard about John of God and our friend was very skeptical. This book is an excellent handbook on better understanding John and what he does, and how to prepare for a trip to Brazil. It is clearly written, easy to read, and jargon free. Highly recommended if you want to know more...
Published on 18 Oct 2011 by Edwardoparis

versus
1 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Utter tosh
Bought reluctantly as a present for a friend of my brother, who is not online, this book is about a South American "healer". Some people will believe anything.
Published on 9 July 2011 by Keith


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Handbook for Divine Healing, 18 Oct 2011
This review is from: John of God: Healing Through Love (Hardcover)
A friend of ours is gravely ill and traditional Western medicine is not going to cure him. We heard about John of God and our friend was very skeptical. This book is an excellent handbook on better understanding John and what he does, and how to prepare for a trip to Brazil. It is clearly written, easy to read, and jargon free. Highly recommended if you want to know more about this amazing healer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Portrait of the Healing Experience, 2 Jun 2007
By 
Rosa Haritos "Rosa Haritos" (New Jersey, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: John of God: Healing Through Love (Hardcover)
Dear Joćo, esteemed friend, Abadiānia is the blessed site of your illuminated mission and of your peace.

-Dr. Bezerra de Menenzes, channeled by Chico Xavier

Those of us who have traveled to the Casa can readily attest to the truth of the above statement. It does not necessarily matter if we know who the source is or the story behind it. Our understanding of it is gleaned through the lens of our direct awareness, our personal healing experience.

We've appreciated the beauty of the Casa grounds while sitting in the lush gardens or engaged in peaceful meditation at the Overlook; we have felt the immense healing power of the land at the Sacred Waterfall. We can recall countless instances of hospitality from the Casa staff whether it be standing in line to receive blessed soup or waiting in line to be seen by the Entity. We have observed the unceasing dedication of the man known as Medium Joćo and have sat in current with the phalange of loving and compassionate spirits we call The Entities. And we return home eager to share with family and friends: our healing stories, photographs of surgeries performed on stage in the Great Hall, and sometimes bits and pieces of miraculous healing stories of `others'.

But what if we did know more about these `others'? What if we knew Dr. Bezerra de Menenzes is one of the many Entities available to us at the Casa, who during his lifetime was an influential member of the Spiritist Movement, and throughout his years of practice had no set fee for his services, never once turning away anyone who sought medical attention? What if we could read his words, "Doctors who deny assistance to people in need for any reason, especially financial gain, are not worthy to use the title "Doctor of Medicine", and feel the energy behind them?" And while many of us are aware of the amazing paranormal abilities of renowned Spiritist Chico Xavier, a mentor and beloved friend of Medium Joćo, how many of us are know this psychographed (channeled through written words) message was a confirmation that Abadiānia is in fact the one and only site for the Casa de Dom Inácio de Loyola? Might a broader context, a wider lens of the healing experience, one that shows us we are all members of a single spiritual family, enhance our own healing? I believe it would.

John of God: The Brazilian Healer Who's Touched the Lives of Millions offers readers this unique vantage point. Heather Cumming and Karen Leffler combine their unique skills and talents to provide us with a captivating, comprehensive account of spiritual healing at the Casa de Dom Inácio. Drawing upon her experiences as a translator and group leader, Heather shares poignant healing testimonials, collected over her many years of service as a translator and guide, from those who have journeyed to be seen by John of God (either in Brazil or his healing trips abroad) and our beloved filhos of the Casa (staff and volunteers). Interviews with Medium Joćo, his wife Ana, their friends and family, offer meaningful insights into the personal life of this remarkable man and his healing mission. We are also privy to Heather's conversations with the Entities, excerpts from her journals, and a thoughtful review of the history and guidelines for healing at the Casa. Yet this is only half the story. Photographer Karen Leffler provides us with stunning spirit photos that capture the energy present at the Casa, the energetic transformation that occurs when Medium Joćo incorporates prior to surgery, and the only authorized photograph of the Sacred Waterfall, one that captures the vibrant energy available to us. In this perfect union of the written and visual, our personal quest for healing is transformed into a quest for collective healing. In the words of the authors,

Bearing witness to the healing process of others dissolves differences and barriers so that in the end, it is not `your' or `my' healing, but `our' healing that allows us to reconnect with that which is meaningful in our lives.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It is beautiful and very powerful and brought up many emotions, 16 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: John of God: Healing Through Love (Hardcover)
This book means so much to me. It is beautiful and very powerful and brought up many emotions.
After the first time I read it, I just hugged it to my heart. John of God is the most incredible and
truly loving being, as as the enitites who work with him.
It would be my dream one day to visit the 'Casa' and feel the powerful energies.
Anyone who is guided to read this book is greatly blessed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars amazing, 6 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
brilliant is the only word to describe this book a great read, would highly recommend, when you start you just want to keep going
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Utter tosh, 9 July 2011
This review is from: John of God: Healing Through Love (Hardcover)
Bought reluctantly as a present for a friend of my brother, who is not online, this book is about a South American "healer". Some people will believe anything.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

John of God: Healing Through Love
John of God: Healing Through Love by Heather Cumming (Hardcover - 16 July 2007)
£12.93
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews