Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gives depth to the comics you already read
Customer Video Review     Length:: 0:24 Mins
Comic book readers are in for a treat with this book. 20 renowned artists come together in this book to talk about their life, career and art.

These artists write in first person, talking about how they got started in art, their influences, their schools, studio space and work flow. Included are artworks they have done over their careers with...
Published on 13 Feb. 2009 by Parka

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Nice art, but the interviews contain nothing new
I thought this would be a book about process and craft, instead it's a shallow career overview for the artists. If you have ever read an interview with these people, you've already read it. The writers add nothing new.
Published on 28 May 2012 by Erik Lehman


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gives depth to the comics you already read, 13 Feb. 2009
By 
Parka (Singapore) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Studio Space (Hardcover)
Length:: 0:24 Mins

Comic book readers are in for a treat with this book. 20 renowned artists come together in this book to talk about their life, career and art.

These artists write in first person, talking about how they got started in art, their influences, their schools, studio space and work flow. Included are artworks they have done over their careers with their thoughts. There are really interesting stuff like cringing at old work, or reading about the artist wanting to be with their girlfriends than at the drawing board.

The writeup is authentic and raw. It's very inspiring and motivating to know a bit about the people who create great comics.

At 320 pages, some might complain that the pages devoted to each artists might not be enough. True, but there's a always a compromise between variety and depth.

Since the book is titled Studio Space, there's a good amount written on the artists' working style. Read about their choice of medium, the preparation they do for their projects, where they work and other things they think about. Oh, no, this book doesn't contain a lot of photos into their actual work area.

This book provides incredible depth to comics we read, by giving us the back stories through the eyes of the creators.

Here are the list of 20 artists featured:
Brian Bolland (Judge Dredd, Invisibles)
Dave Gibbons (Watchmen, The Originals, Green Lantern)
Tim Bradstreet (Punisher, Hellblazer)
Howard Chaykin (American Flagg, Mighty Love)
Sean Phillips (Hellblazer, Criminal)
Duncan Fegredo (Hellboy, Enigma)
Joe Kubert (Sgt Rock, Enemy Ace, Kubert School)
Mike Mignola (Hellboy)
Tim Sale (Heroes, Batman Long Halloween)
George Pratt (Batman, Enemy Ace)
Tommy Lee Edwards (Matrix, Batman Begins, Star Wars)
Adam Hughes (Star Wars, Ghost, Wonder Woman)
Sergio Toppi
Walter Simonson (Elric, Thor, Manhunter)
Jim Lee (Batman, X-Men, Superman)
Frank Miller (Sin City, 300, Dark Knight Returns)
Bryan Talbot (Luther Arkwright, Alice in Sunderland)
Alex Ross (Superman, Batman, Marvels)
Steve Dillon (Preacher, Wolverine)
Dave Taylor (Tongue Lash, Batman)

There should be another volume coming up as I've read on blogs that the authors, Joel Meadows and Gary Marshall, are looking for more artists to interview.

There are more pictures of the book on my blog. Just visit my Amazon profile for the link.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant and (sometimes) incitefull., 26 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Studio Space (Paperback)
Well worth getting. All my heroes are in this book (well almost) and it's interesting to find out their working processes. Where they work and in some cases the back story of how or why they do what they do. I read a review that bemoaned how most of the artists in this waffled on about their girlfriends or how they were feeling. Well, there's a tiny bit of that but overall it's about the work, the industry and their motivations.
Sections I enjoyed the most were Joe Kubert.I was never a huge fan but have absolute admiration for the man having read the chapter on him and viewed the work. A shame he is no longer with us, but his legacy continues.
Brian Bolland, always funny and ironic. A true "original" and always nice to see the old pictures of his workspace/studio compared to now.
Other sections that surprised me were Jim Lee and Tommy Lee Edwards.
I was rather dissapointed in the Frank Miller and Dave Gibbons sections. However, with Gibbons I would recommend you buy his "Watching the Watchmen" book- utterly fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic insight!, 24 Dec. 2011
By 
Miss A. Phillips "PnkJesta" (Blackpool, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Studio Space (Paperback)
I had been debating this book for the longest time, and finally decided to buy it. Truly a worthwhile spend! With many artists as listed, this book is really more of an inspirational read for any artist, or those interested in the process behind making comic within the industry. Perhaps more specifically aimed towards those who enjoy the artists behind their favourite comics, the book has a good solid amount of words from each artist, with each person writing their own experiences, inspirations and processes behind their working schedules. The amount of writing fluxes between each artists leading me to believe, it's really just what the artists wants to tell you. There are no prompts as in an interview, just the artists words and examples of their work.

I enjoyed this book knowing the work of specific artists within the book, and found other artists within the book I hadn't heard of to be just a inspirational to read about as those I already knew about. An inspiring book to read between work breaks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Nice art, but the interviews contain nothing new, 28 May 2012
This review is from: Studio Space (Paperback)
I thought this would be a book about process and craft, instead it's a shallow career overview for the artists. If you have ever read an interview with these people, you've already read it. The writers add nothing new.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable read, 28 Jun. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Studio Space (Paperback)
A good read about said artist with decent images would have been nice to have a section on how they did their own styles of work but you can't have everything for comic book fans and interested parties
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Studio Space
Studio Space by Tommy Lee Edwards (Paperback - 10 Jun. 2008)
£21.03
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews