Customer Reviews


99 Reviews
5 star:
 (70)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars worth waiting for!
What can I say, just tremendous. I want to cut the pictures out & frame them! You follow Rick on the 2nd part of what hopefully is promised to be an epic adventure of many more volumes. I've been traumatised since the original dawn of the dead and have recently started reading all the bookes i can on the subject (42 year old trying to relate to wife and 2 toddlers!)...
Published on 21 Dec 2004 by J. booth

versus
11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great series but can't help but feel disappointed with Vol.2.
The second volume of the Walking Dead continues from where we left off in Volume 1, however with Charlie Adlard replacing Tony Moore as the main artist.

The art is one of my two main gripes with this second volume. As other reviewers have said, the quality of the art is often extremely shabby in comparison to Moore's, it is often too jagged and disproportionate...
Published on 3 Feb 2009 by M. Higgins


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great series but can't help but feel disappointed with Vol.2., 3 Feb 2009
By 
M. Higgins (Brighton, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The second volume of the Walking Dead continues from where we left off in Volume 1, however with Charlie Adlard replacing Tony Moore as the main artist.

The art is one of my two main gripes with this second volume. As other reviewers have said, the quality of the art is often extremely shabby in comparison to Moore's, it is often too jagged and disproportionate with awkward grey tones.
For example: 1)Faces often look peculiar, with eyes being set far above where they should, and they look strange from certain angles. 2)Several faces look far too similar i.e. Hershel, Rick, and Dale often look identical albeit with slightly different hair. This can be quite confusing. 3)Adlard's annoying way of drawing chequered clothes: instead of a grid of intersecting lines contouring around the character's figure, he literally draws a 2-D grid over the entire body which begins to get annoying and looks very lazy/weird. 4)There is a lack of detail, and whilst I don't necessarily recommend going back to Moore's work I would personally like the Walking Dead world to be filled with a little more detail to enjoy, however this is my personal preference.

On the positive side, I think that in some ways the new style of artwork is more suitable than the last i.e. darker, broodier, and more ominous. You could say that Moore's was too bright and pleasant to look at, and didn't give as much sense of doom and gloom. However, I still wish Adlard would sort his annoying quirks out.

The writing is okay, but in my opinion a low-point so far (I have only read the first 3 volumes so far so i'm certainly no expert, but still). The dialogue often sounds like it was written by a teenager, the characters all sound very similar, and are always shouting and breaking into sudden conflict over something or another in quite a bizarre fashion, erratically shouting then apologising or crying etc. It is too obvious that Kirkman was really trying to focus on relationships, conflict, and struggle in this issue. It came off looking tacky and cliched to say the least, like a bad soap opera. I was hoping for something more thought out and intelligent in this issue, but I just keep telling myself that this is still a comic and not high-fiction so I don't mind too much.

The positives are that this is still a volume within an enjoyable series so far and is vital to the storyline so I would definitely read it. The premise of the story here is still quite good, just not as sharp as the rest of what i've read so far. The art can be annoying, but you get used to most of it, and as I said there is a positive side to the change in artist. I would recommend buying this after volume 1, and also volume 3 as this picks up again with really good ideas, more zombies, as well as the poignant social stuff.

3.5 / 5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars worth waiting for!, 21 Dec 2004
By 
J. booth "volvo4151" (scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
What can I say, just tremendous. I want to cut the pictures out & frame them! You follow Rick on the 2nd part of what hopefully is promised to be an epic adventure of many more volumes. I've been traumatised since the original dawn of the dead and have recently started reading all the bookes i can on the subject (42 year old trying to relate to wife and 2 toddlers!) and you get fed up with the sudden endings. Robert Kirkman recognises this and although you're left at the end of the 1st 2 volumes wandering what's next, he manages to keep the pace up. Hurry up Robert, i've started reading volume 1 again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars High velocity story telling with amazing twist and turns., 20 April 2013
This review is from: The Walking Dead Volume 2: Miles Behind Us (Paperback)
Moving from the camp to the begging of a new home, this graphic novel is truly epic.

High velocity story telling with amazing twist and turns will have you flicking through the pages faster than you thought you could!

With the new and current artist Charlie Adlard (English) taking over from Tony Moore who drew for volume one 'The Walking Dead' (#1 - #6 The Walking Dead Volume 1: Days Gone Bye ), you get to see Charlie Adlard get into the flow of his now unique and fantastic art style.

This is a fantastic collection of issues #7 - #12 and will have you gasping at every turn, a must read for every fan of 'The Walking Dead', get reading!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "There's nothing for us here...", 27 Jun 2014
By 
@GeekZilla9000 "I am completely operational a... (Doncaster, Yorkshire, UK.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Walking Dead Volume 2: Miles Behind Us (Paperback)
This review is largely spoiler free, though I do make reference to events in the previous volume….

As the front cover suggests, it’s now winter and post-apocalyptic America is blanketed in snow. As the group of survivors pay their last respects (or spit vitriol) at Shane’s grave during the first few pages, lurking at the back of their minds are the hot topics of leadership and food. Rick semi-officially takes ownership of the tough decisions and the troupe hit the road. As I say – this all takes place at the beginning of the volume, so after the first few pages the RV starts a life-or-death road-trip and the realities of finding resources are jarringly stark.

As with the first volume, the story is less about zombies and more about the soap-opera politics of every day life. And Volume 2 doesn’t disappoint there – from young love and dealing with loss, to mature physical relationships and the ugly side of desperation – sometimes you forget that world is full of walking, rotting, stinking corpses. The true horror of this volume again bypasses the zombie horde and is more focussed on the personal losses experienced by some, by concerning itself with a few tragic losses rather than the whole sorry situation, Kirkman is able to successfully inject more emotion into the story. Some characters behave in unpleasant ways but we understand their actions because we sympathise with them. Throwing out a band of refugees into the hideous wilderness seems heartless, but when we see a man lose his children and have to provide for the rest of his family with limited resources – such an act seems to make more sense.

Some other reviews have criticised the artwork here because some of the characters look less distinct. I didn’t notice it at first but when having a second look I can see how the differences between characters are less defined than in Volume 1. The artwork is far from shoddy however and there is good use of heavy blacks and a pleasant symmetry to the frames on most pages which I only realised when checking back through the book. Those who are reading the books after watching the TV series may be surprised at how quickly paced this is in comparison – this roughly covers the second series, though many characters and events are different. I do feel that because I have watched the TV series, I have benefitted from extra character development as the book has so much happening that no single character has a large chunk of time spent with them. That is not a criticism – these are two different mediums and the books are much more epic in their scope, the character development *is* there and it’s important to not compare key events between the two as they run on massively different timescales. Also worth mentioning is the Afterword by Simon Pegg – the guy is a zombie aficionado and his observations on zombie culture aren’t ground-breaking (they mirror what you’d hear in any Romero documentary) but his piece is neatly constructed and ‘updated’ for the modern zombie-fan, plus his advice to read The Walking Dead like a zombie and “take it slow” is spot on.

In a nutshell: I feel a bit mean giving this 4 stars but Amazon won’t let me give 4.5. Though not as strong as the first volume and with dialogue which seems a tad less ‘real’ than before, this is still a strong book and ranks higher than most graphic novels I’ve read. My other half is ahead of me at the moment and she also felt that volume 2 dipped slightly, but she also assures me that The Walking Dead picked up in the third volume and maintains the level for some time. Yes – the art is a bit different but taste will determine whether you prefer it or not, I preferred Moore’s artwork but that doesn’t mean I dislike this. Volume 2 almost felt as though it was setting the scene for the very last page, making us aware of how important a goal our band of zombie-dodgers have of finding sanctuary – I didn’t feel at all let down by this book, instead it felt like a stepping stone to the next phase – and I’m going to stop typing now and start on Volume 3.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Long Walk continues, 28 Feb 2014
By 
Sam Quixote - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Walking Dead Volume 2: Miles Behind Us (Paperback)
AARRRGH, the zombie apocalypse continues! Rick and his miserable band of survivors leave their camp outside Atlanta and potter about the devastated countryside looking for a safe place to stay. They find an abandoned gated community that looks safe… AAAAARGGGH! ZOMBIES!!! Then they find a farm that looks safe… AARRRRGH! MORE ZOMBIES!!! Then they find a prison that looks safe… probably AAARGH! EVEN MORE ZOMBIES (we’ll find out in Volume 3)!!!!! So yeah, pretty repetitive and predictable stuff - but actually not a terrible comic for all that.

The problem remains the lack of characterisation and the unremarkable dialogue – Robert Kirkman just isn’t much of a writer. He can come up with decent scenarios like putting the survivors into a gated community with some zombies, or the whole situation on the farm with Herschel, but he doesn’t have the ability to make you care about any of the characters. Characters die all the time and the other characters – usually a loved one like a husband – is absolutely devastated. But the reader? Completely unfazed. Oh – was that emotional for you to see that two dimensional cardboard cut-out of a “character” die? Maybe for the other “characters” but not for the audience. Oh look some new “characters” to fill up the numbers. They’ll probably die soon. Eh.

Most of this volume is full of cheesy melodrama. Lori’s preggers – but Rick’s only just come onto the scene, weeks after she’s been with Shane. Camera close up of boring Rick’s bland pained face - duh duh duuuuuuuh! And everyone’s getting it on. Dale – the retiree with the camper van? He’s sleeping with Andrea, a young woman roughly a third his age. What?!?! There are younger men around, Andrea – look at Glenn! Why go for the guy with the most liver spots?! Speaking of Glenn, he pairs up with Maggie, the farm girl. This series should be called “The Dead and the Restless” or “Zombie Dynasty” the way these guys carry on!

While I think Kirkman’s writing leaves a lot to be desired, he does manage to reach new heights with Herschel’s farm. Herschel’s been keeping his zombie family in the barn with the hope that a cure from somewhere will somehow bring them back to him. His conversation with Rick about their differing ways of dealing with zombies felt emotional and real. The zombie action is also pretty damn good – Kirkman manages to take these slow-moving rotting corpses and make them a viable threat to able-bodied people with weapons in some pretty decent set pieces. I think it’s just the sheer numbers that make them so terrifying. Sure you can shoot a bunch, but what happens when you run out of bullets?

The art remains unremarkable but serviceable enough for the story. It’s black and white look suits the story which is still gloomy as hell but the relentless misery hasn’t put me off the series yet. So far, The Walking Dead is an ok title but not a masterpiece by a longshot. Neither Kirkman nor Charlie Adlard are doing anything original, either technically or conceptually regarding the genre and the format, but they’re giving us a decent zombie horror story at least. I’m still on board for the series and hope that both creators pick up their game in later volumes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, 15 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Such a good read. Gripping and quite tense at times! I would recommend this to anybody who loves The Walking Dead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 11 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am a big fab of the tv show and I have to say the comics are awesome and I w be continuing on in the series!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars G-R-E_A-T, 6 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Best comics, I think if you start reading this you sould read it again. IT's SO addictive like pot, want them ALLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLL!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Walking dead volume 2, 25 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
watched the series and really enjoyed the books ..great artwork and the storylines move with great pace .started reading the book and could hardly put it down..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Present, 21 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Walking Dead Volume 2: Miles Behind Us (Paperback)
This was a present for a fan of the series. Apparently it was a good read and a much enjoyed present.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Walking Dead Volume 2: Miles Behind Us
The Walking Dead Volume 2: Miles Behind Us by Robert Kirkman (Paperback - 21 April 2009)
7.69
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews