Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A superb, if not entirely original series
This is an extremely entertaining story, with excellent scripting and artwork, and a lot of forward planning – as objects thrown in one story eventually fall to Earth several issues later, for example. The story is simple to explain – a teenage boy whose father is an alien sent to Earth to protect it and ready it for eventual membership in Galactic...
Published 3 months ago by Mr. Mice Guy

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars S'alright - but I suspect it gets better?
I picked this collection up because I'm utterly in love with Kirkman's other ongoing series, The Walking Dead. This is a very different piece of work, being a more conventional (at first) story about a teenager who develops superpowers - hardly surprising since his dad is the most powerful superhero on the planet, essentially Superman with a moustache. He soon finds...
Published on 4 Aug 2010 by Sam Woodward


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A superb, if not entirely original series, 31 Mar 2014
By 
Mr. Mice Guy (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Invincible: The Ultimate Collection Volume 1: v. 1 (Hardcover)
This is an extremely entertaining story, with excellent scripting and artwork, and a lot of forward planning – as objects thrown in one story eventually fall to Earth several issues later, for example. The story is simple to explain – a teenage boy whose father is an alien sent to Earth to protect it and ready it for eventual membership in Galactic Civilization, and who happened to marry an Earth-girl (the alien father, that is) hits puberty (the teenage son, that is) and starts to inherit his fathers powers. His father starts training him up, he meets and hangs out with a teenage superhero group, and discovers that one of his high-school teachers is a mad scientist who is turning classmates into cyborg suicide bombs. However, what is important is the flow of the story and the fun he has finding his place in the world of superheroes. Anyway, that was just the first couple of issues. As the story progresses, Invincible finds his responsibilities escalating, as the size of the threats escalate, until he is fighting in interstellar wars between rival empires, joining a government-sponsored team of super-heroes, getting a girlfriend, heading towards a more permanent relationship and family (a long way ahead in the series, I would point out), finding out his father is an evil alien supervillain bent on world conquest, finding out that his father is not a evil alien bent on world conquest (note that the previous bit is actually several years of story and plot/character development), meeting alternate-world versions of himself and finding out that some of his alternate-world versions are evil and/or cannibals, and generally providing us with a superb story. There is also an ever-increasing cast of characters who expand the scope of the universe, that make this feel like the original Stan Lee marvel universe. This is one of the most consistently entertaining superhero series currently being published. If Stan Lee were 50 years younger, this feels like the sort of thing he’d be writing nowadays.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 19 Nov 2011
By 
Mr. M. Rutland "Matt" (Brigg) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Invincible: The Ultimate Collection Volume 1: v. 1 (Hardcover)
Just a lot of fun, has some serious moments but a joy to read. The book is top quality and good value, most comics I read are by image not meaning to stick to one company but they know a good comic when they see one (the walking dead, spawn, morning glories).

If your looking for a fun care free series this is the one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars amazing, 12 Feb 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Invincible: The Ultimate Collection Volume 1: v. 1 (Hardcover)
i got into these comics after reading the walking dead, to see some thing that refreshing is nice, im sick of having to read batman and spiderman all the time,
this however is fresh and its a great way to start the comic book, everything i expected in a new book, he literally is invincible but when he fights he does take one hell of a beating, this is amazingly good, i read through all of the issues and have noe decided to collect the volumes, as i want the collected.
invincible is by far my favourite super hero now, and the universe in which he is in, is also amazing, especially since there are so many simalarities to other super heroes thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great book !!!, 3 Sep 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Invincible: The Ultimate Collection Volume 1: v. 1 (Hardcover)
Not knowing much of Invincible, this book seem a good starting point. I found it great fun, Sound story, lots of jokes, a great start to a series that I'll keep going with. Yes the art work is not the best around but it does have that silver age feel to it (which makes it work). Yes Kirkman fans many have a hard time without zombies, We all love zombies. Invincible is one of the best superhero series I have seen. well worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars S'alright - but I suspect it gets better?, 4 Aug 2010
By 
Sam Woodward (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Invincible: The Ultimate Collection Volume 1: v. 1 (Hardcover)
I picked this collection up because I'm utterly in love with Kirkman's other ongoing series, The Walking Dead. This is a very different piece of work, being a more conventional (at first) story about a teenager who develops superpowers - hardly surprising since his dad is the most powerful superhero on the planet, essentially Superman with a moustache. He soon finds himself flying round in lycra as Invincible, following in his fathers' footsteps & getting involved with other superteens. But being Kirkman, there are a couple of dark twists, with apparently more to come in later volumes.

This series is essentially a homage to classic comics, being a somewhat lightweight read in the style of silver age comics. It also features many in-jokes & references to other series, such as a character investigating the murder of some heroes being similar to Watchmen's Rorschach. It achieves this objective very well but ironically, I felt this was also a fundamental weakness. The art & characters were just as flat & 2-D as classic comics, so even when the plot took a surprisingly bloody change of direction, I found I hardly batted an eyelid since I couldn't engage with any of the characters & didn't particularly care what happened to them. It also suffered from a flaw which many silver/golden age comics had - supposedly super-intelligent characters making astonishing errors of judgement for the sake of the plot.

But despite all this, the series has... something. A certain charismatic spark which I can't quite pin down. I'm tempted to pick up volume 2 in the hope that Kirkman has some more shocks waiting for his readers (which seems like a pretty safe bet!). After all, a lot of comic & TV series improve as they find their feet. But I also feel that if I don't try to 'get into it', I won't have particularly missed out on much.

Either way, I was very impressed with the production quality of this volume. These hardcover reprints feature full-colour, high quality, oversized pages which bring out the best in the art & absolutely tons of extras (character sketches, cover designs, afterword by Kirkman, etc) which take up almost a quarter of the book! It's also satisfyingly thick, containing no less than the first 13 episodes of the monthly comic, which I hear are incredibly hard to get hold of these days.

All in all, if you like good old-fashioned superheroics with a modern twist, then this is for you. But personally, I feel that the best concept in the world still needs well-rounded characters, so ultimately found myself wishing that it had more to offer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Robert Kirkman is on top form with this great book, 17 Mar 2006
By 
This review is from: Invincible: The Ultimate Collection Volume 1: v. 1 (Hardcover)
Invincible is one of the hottest titles of this new century. As it was a slow burning low selling sleeper of a title in its first year you can forget getting hold of the actual comics on ebay or via your local comic shop as spare or unsold copies are pretty much non existent. The very best way to read this title is in this the hardcover form. It is certainly much cheaper than buying any other way and will sit handsomely on your book shelf ready and waiting for you to re-read and believe me with Invincible you will want to read the stories again and again. to put it plainly Invincible is how comics used to be only with Kirkman at the helm nothing cans be said to be old fashioned about the story telling itself. The story is deceptively simple our hero is the teenaged son of a Superman type character who gains his powers in the first issue and decides to follow his dad into the family business. Nothing however is as it seems and we follow Invincibles some times amusing and sometimes tragic first year. The artwork is not to my usual taste in as much as it is slightly sparse and cartoony however for this title at least it works perfectly no doubt that is helped by the superb colouring. One thing that should be noted however is that Amazon lists this book as having 400 pages that is not even close. The pages are not numbered but even a quick thumb through will tell you that the actual page count is nearer to 200!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Image strikes gold!!, 4 Oct 2010
This review is from: Invincible: The Ultimate Collection Volume 1: v. 1 (Hardcover)
The best "indie" superhero book out there! This thing pisses over Superman and co due to it's amazing writer (Kirkman) and awesome art. They build up all of the characters so you really care about them, even the bad dudes! I cannot say enough good things about this book, pick it up and you will fall in love with it!!
It's fun, It's heartbreaking,It's brutal, It's SUPER!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent value - great intro to an interesting series, 19 Feb 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Invincible: The Ultimate Collection Volume 1: v. 1 (Hardcover)
This Hard Cover collection of the first 13 issues of Robert Kirkman's Invincible is beautifully presented with oversized pages, bags of additional art and other extras.
The story is refreshingly 'post modern' and contains a number of in-jokes for those familiar with the genre. It also contains some dramatic twists and turns which elevate it above the norm.
For the most part, the teenage protagonist finding his way in life while becoming a superhero is a pretty well worn trail and,in recent years, Bendis' Ultimate Spiderman has explored these themes pretty thoroughly. However, by creating an interesting new character, Kirkman is able to explore these themes in his own way without having to worry about anyone else's continuity or parallel history.
The art is good without being outstanding (we aren't talking Alan Davis, Bryan Hitch , Frank Miller or the like) and the colouring is bright and cheery.
Overall, with it's tongue lodged somewhat in it's cheek, this series provides thrills, laughs and the odd surprise and if you are interested at all in the character or the creators, this is an excellent way to get on board.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New slant on an old story, 4 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Invincible: The Ultimate Collection Volume 1: v. 1 (Hardcover)
Teenage boy is invested with great powers, and with them comes, you guessed it, great responsibility. Our hero does not have quite so glib a transition as that arachnid powered High School nerd of the early Sixties; there is more complexity to Kirkman's creation than merely "I get pushed round in the halls, pretty girls don't give me a second look". A new superhero for a new generation of readers - and for older ones returning to the superhero comic book after a long break.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Invincible: The Ultimate Collection Volume 1: v. 1
Invincible: The Ultimate Collection Volume 1: v. 1 by Robert Kirkman (Hardcover - 2 Aug 2005)
20.41
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews