Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars oh my god! How good can it get!
when i read the named i couldn't wait to get the dark so i could continue the story of ethan and isobel - two characters i had come to like. The dark is suspenseful and intriguing full of humour and love and loyalty. A brilliant sequal to the named. It picks up on Arkarians and Isobels viewpoints and expertly tells a love filled, emotionful, loyal,loving,exciting and...
Published on 14 Feb 2005 by Ms. S. Morgan

versus
1 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Woeful
This has to be one of the worst books that I ever have read. The prose is poor, ungrammatical and stilted. The description of places is lazy and cliche ridden. The number of times people 'shrug' their shoulders (or more often just one shoulder) or 'flick' their eyes would make an osteopath or an optician wince. The story itself is confusing and unengaging - the characters...
Published on 4 April 2007 by Merlin


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars oh my god! How good can it get!, 14 Feb 2005
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
when i read the named i couldn't wait to get the dark so i could continue the story of ethan and isobel - two characters i had come to like. The dark is suspenseful and intriguing full of humour and love and loyalty. A brilliant sequal to the named. It picks up on Arkarians and Isobels viewpoints and expertly tells a love filled, emotionful, loyal,loving,exciting and intriguing tale of a fantasy story that could actually be happening and we just haven't realised it. If i could give it more than 5 stars i would. Again Marianne Curley takes my breath away with her superb sequel the dark - so good it kept me up half the night because i couldn't put it down!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Read it. Read it noooow., 28 Oct 2004
This review is from: The Dark (Paperback)
This is the second book in the Guardians of time trilogy, and it's even more explosive than the Named! If you are a fan of teenage fantasy you NEEEEED to read this book.It's smart, funny, thrilling and impossible to put down. I can't wait for the Key to come out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One Word : WOW!!!, 30 Aug 2004
This review is from: The Dark (Paperback)
After reading 'The Named' about two years ago, i was convinced no other book could compare to it. Yesterday, while browsing in my local Ottakar's i came across this title, 'The Dark'. I cannot explain to you my suprise and excitement when i turned it over and read 'Sequel to The Named'. I started reading it last night and did not put it down until the early hours of this morning and am now very happy to admit just how wrong i was. 'The Dark' is without a doubt the best book i have ever read, with a magical mix of history, adventure and unfathomable love. I would recommend this not only to experienced readers, but also others who are not keen readers. Prepare to be taken on a journey you will never forget! But dont be disappointed once you have finished reading 'The Dark', its sequel and concluding book in the trilogy, 'The Key' is due to be published 7th February 2005!!!!
Happy reading!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars credibly cool, 30 Sep 2003
This review is from: The Dark (Guardians of Time) (Hardcover)
The Dark is an awesome story of advancing powers, fighting evil, secret societies, time travel and even a touch of romace (aaaaaaawwwwwww!). Written with the views of Isabel, newly Named, and Arkarien, who does not age. This way you get to know the characters more and are drawn to them magnetically. You also get to know the point of view of the "bad guys" at the beginning because there is a prologue. During this part of the read you feel sorry for the "bad guys" but this feeling soon washes away further through the story. If I was to find 1 flawed in this otherwise enthralling book it would be that certain accurances in the book aren't fully explained.
It is killing me waiting for the final book in this trilogy, and I only finished reading the book a matter of minutes ago! This gripping tale is hard to put down and is well worth the read even though it will leave you pining for more when it is finished.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant fantasy!, 28 May 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
After reading the first in the series - 'The Named', I couldn't wait to read this, the second in the 'Guardians of Time' Trilogy and it did not disappoint.

It draws you in from the very beginning and transports you to another world, full of intrigue, excitement, romance, treachery, mystery myth & magic.

I enjoy all types of books (including the literary greats) and this was one of the most absorbing series I have ever read. Light but well written and certainly 'unputdownable' - well deserving of the 5* rating for this genre.

I've since read the third 'The Key' - a thrilling end to a brilliant series!

(PS. I usually sell on or swap my old books but not these - they're just too good to let go!!!!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Curley masterpiece, 25 Nov 2006
Fantastic, the characters are put into your mind brilliantly, and every book comes from two different people's points of view. It is so unique, I have never read anything like it but could read the trilogy again anytime. It took me 3 days to read the trilogy, which speaks for itself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Dark, 23 Nov 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Dark (Paperback)
The second in a three part trilogy, this is one of the most amazing books I have ever read. I can't stand reading but I really can't put this one down. Trouble is I'm nearing the end of it now and the third book is not yet released! I would reccommend this book to anybody who likes a bit of magic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Triology = A Weekends Read, 15 Aug 2005
By A Customer
One word for it FANTASTIC !! A great read and impossible to put down ... a brilliant story, with jealousy, seriousness, hate, magical missions, relationships, teenage hormones and a love story all rolled into one (I wish I could meet someone with those Violet eyes and blue hair!).. the ending was slightly weak - but get the feeling there will be another book to follow this fantastic triology????
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best book EVER!!!, 23 July 2004
This review is from: The Dark (Paperback)
It's a shame I can only give this book 5 stars, I'd award it more if only i could. It's absolutely brilliant. It takes up the story where the Named left off and is just as exciting and absorbing. It is written through the viewpoints of Arkarian and Isobel and follows Isobel's journey with Ethan and Matt to rescue Arkarian from the Goddess of Chaos and Marduke, who are doing all kinds of nasty things to him (how mean). It's such a compelling read that I was up till midnight trying to finish it after buying it that afternoon- it was absolutely impossible to put it down. It's an amazing book and I'd recommend it to anyone, anywhere- go and buy it NOW!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars awesome book!, 11 April 2004
This review is from: The Dark (Paperback)
This book is an amazing mixture of magic, action, love and the continuous conflict between good and evil. It is about a group of people called The Named who go back in time to make sure that everything happens as it should. The Order are a group of people under Queen Lathenia's ruling who go back in time and alter important events in the past in order to cause havoc in the modern world and gain power. Each memeber of the Named has gifts which they must use in order to complete their tasks successfully. A thrilling sequel to The Named-which I would also reccomend!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa69b7060)

This product

The Dark (Guardians of Time)
The Dark (Guardians of Time) by Marianne Curley (Hardcover - Sep 2003)
Used & New from: 0.50
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews