Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Informative, jam-packed cookbook
As the name would suggest, this is a cookbook for all those with Crohn's and Colitis, or for people who have to cook for those with either disease.

The book starts with a short foreword and then a few pages about the author's own battle with Crohn's which is dealt with, with humour and wit. There are then a selection of pages on the 'rules' for eating with IBD...
Published on 24 Sep 2007 by josie82

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
I bought it for someone else & believe it was good
Published 1 month ago by Mrs Y Roles


Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Informative, jam-packed cookbook, 24 Sep 2007
By 
josie82 (Fife, Scotland, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: How to Cook for Crohn's and Colitis: More Than 200 Healthy, Delicious Recipes the Wole Family Will Love (Paperback)
As the name would suggest, this is a cookbook for all those with Crohn's and Colitis, or for people who have to cook for those with either disease.

The book starts with a short foreword and then a few pages about the author's own battle with Crohn's which is dealt with, with humour and wit. There are then a selection of pages on the 'rules' for eating with IBD including what to eat and what to avoid. It's quite a short section so it doesn't go into much detail but it is sufficient to get by.

Then come over 200 recipes which are broken into the sections of: Appetisers; Chilis, Chowders & Soups; Salads & Dressings; Sandwiches; Breads; Beef & Pork Entrees; Poultry Entrees; Fish & Seafood Entrees; Pasta & Sauces; Side Dishes and Condiments and most importantly, Sweets.

The amount of recipes within the book is just astonishing so you're bound to find something that you will enjoy. As with any cookbook, especially one for those with IBD, there are things in here that I personally cannot eat, but there are so many other recipes to choose from that you really can't complain! The author even ensures that the recipes state whether or not they are suitable for those with lactose intolerance which is a great help.

As well as all this there are some useful hints and tips included in the book such as tips on eating out, reading food labels, further reading lists and useful websites.

Unfortunately there aren't any pictures included which would have been nice but I can't really let this detract from what is, essentially, a very useful cookbook. The recipes aren't too fancy, they're family friendly and easy to cook. And most importantly, they are suitable for sufferers of IBD. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A useful resource for those with Crohn's or Colitis, 7 Mar 2009
By 
Dallandra (Greater Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: How to Cook for Crohn's and Colitis: More Than 200 Healthy, Delicious Recipes the Wole Family Will Love (Paperback)
I would recommend this book for those with Crohn's or Colitis (or family members of sufferers). My partner has Ulcerative Colitis and I have found this book a useful resource for when he has a flare-up. There are many recipes within, covering a range of different dishes and I found lots of tasty meals that he could have during a flare-up. I also found that there are quite a few I wouldn't give him during a flare-up (such as those containing chillies!); however, I would probably still make some of these when he is not having a flare-up. I think that with the amount of recipes everyone should be able to find some recipes that will suit their tastes, budget, and food sensitivities - even if some won't be suitable. Some ingredients are measured in `cups' as the book is American, but the conversion for this can be easily looked up on the internet. It also has American ingredients in some recipes, such as Miracle Whip, hamburger, and canola oil - but these can be also be found easily on the internet and suitable substitutions made where necessary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth it, 2 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Cook for Crohn's and Colitis: More Than 200 Healthy, Delicious Recipes the Wole Family Will Love (Paperback)
Great book for those who enjoy cooking, i feel healthier eating recipes from this book now.
No more wondering what i should eat, i just pick a recipe and job done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great recipes for people with this condition, 17 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Cook for Crohn's and Colitis: More Than 200 Healthy, Delicious Recipes the Wole Family Will Love (Paperback)
apart from not having photos in this book i am very pleased with this purchase!! i bought it so i can cook healthier meals for my husband who suffers from ischemic colitis which has a connection to crohn's and found it very helpful,would recommend this book to anyone who has problems with bowels!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Basic recipes but good knowledge., 9 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Cook for Crohn's and Colitis: More Than 200 Healthy, Delicious Recipes the Wole Family Will Love (Paperback)
I'm always looking for new recipes, having suffered with crohns for several years I know my limitations with food and am just after other ideas. This book offers recipes that go against the advice of others, however, and has left me somewhat confused. The intro is very informative for anyone who does not know a lot about the condition. The recipes are fairly basic and I would recommend when it says diced, it means obliterated, because onion and other such veg is only easily digestible that way. Worth it for the price although I was a little disappointed that the oxfam price sticker was left on showing that I paid more than the person who sold it me :p
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 30 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Cook for Crohn's and Colitis: More Than 200 Healthy, Delicious Recipes the Wole Family Will Love (Paperback)
I bought it for someone else & believe it was good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A poor addition to the literature, 7 Mar 2013
This review is from: How to Cook for Crohn's and Colitis: More Than 200 Healthy, Delicious Recipes the Wole Family Will Love (Paperback)
I personally did not find this book helpful. It did not really include any information about ingredients of benefit for people with Crohn's disease- and instead , for me at least seemed pretty full of recipes which would trigger symptoms!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just like a normal cook book!, 9 April 2013
By 
J. V. Norris "Julian Quick" (Essex UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Cook for Crohn's and Colitis: More Than 200 Healthy, Delicious Recipes the Wole Family Will Love (Paperback)
Life will be a lot easier with this book. The thought of cooking for a family with only one sufferer was going to be difficult but now with this book it's going to be a pleasure! Good price too! Buy it and see!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars totally useless, 14 Nov 2008
This review is from: How to Cook for Crohn's and Colitis: More Than 200 Healthy, Delicious Recipes the Wole Family Will Love (Paperback)
I found this book a total waste of space - the recipes are less healthy than your usual Jamie Oliver or Delia and nothing special is being said and not much explained.
Didn't like this at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews