Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good for artists of all skill levels
Customer Video Review     Length:: 0:18 Mins
For comic artists who want to start on perspective, this is the book for you. This is a step-by-step tutorial book that teaches perspective drawing, specifically for comics. And that means creating perspective from concept rather than observation.

It explains all the foundational perspective rules (those point perspectives, drawing eclipses...
Published on 13 April 2009 by Parka

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars disappointing download
It is a very good as an instruction manual, but unfortunately I chose to down load it. The download version fragments the individual pages and also does not allow you to easily refer back to a page due to the absence of numbered pages, as you are constantly asked to do. I would like to have the hard copy version but once bitten ! I shall not download this type of book in...
Published 4 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good for artists of all skill levels, 13 April 2009
By 
Parka (Singapore) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Vanishing Point: Perspective for Comics from the Ground Up (Paperback)
Length:: 0:18 Mins

For comic artists who want to start on perspective, this is the book for you. This is a step-by-step tutorial book that teaches perspective drawing, specifically for comics. And that means creating perspective from concept rather than observation.

It explains all the foundational perspective rules (those point perspectives, drawing eclipses etc.), as well as tips on drawing characters in perspective. The explanations are simple and illustrated examples clear.

This book even teaches curvilinear perspective, where "straight" lines are drawn as curves, such as the cover illustration. This is more commonly used in comic books and are not taught in other basic perspective books. In photographic terms, this is the fish-eye effect.

Right at the end are pages of tricks and techniques aimed at solving perspective problems, such as fixing distortions, good places to place vanishing points etc.

This is a recommended book for artists at all skill levels.

There are more pictures of the book on my blog. Just visit my Amazon profile for the link.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quite brilliant, 26 Feb 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vanishing Point: Perspective for Comics from the Ground Up (Paperback)
After a few years slowly learning how to draw characters it was time to start improving my scenes including backgrounds.
It feels a bit nerdy getting the set square and compass out but, by following the text and simple exercises, it shows how good results can come from a simple process. It is a bit painstaking to create an entire scene but that's no fault of the book.
It covers more than I think I'll need : 1,2,3,4,5 point perspective plus gems such as 'Putting it all together' and 'Tricks and Troubleshooting'.
If you like more visually exciting books then be aware there is a lot of wireframe with just a few full fleshed out drawings. It is quite 'mathematical' but the clarity and results are superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 30 April 2009
By 
B. Wheatley (UK, Gillingham, Kent) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vanishing Point: Perspective for Comics from the Ground Up (Paperback)
very nice and easy to follow, with nice large diagrams showing how the perspective techniques are used, starting from one-point perspective all the way to five-point perspective and the besw ways to find the most appropriate spots for the vanishing points. Brilliant!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vanishing Point Perspective Drawing In Comics, 17 Feb 2011
This review is from: Vanishing Point: Perspective for Comics from the Ground Up (Paperback)
Vanishing point is one of them totally fascinating books on the many complexities of drawing in perspective and applying it in the world of comic book drawing I read it once and found I had to read it again numerous times to get a grasp on it all. This is a great book if you want to make your drawings in your own comic book efforts leap off the page and look alive and realistic.

An invaluable book that has to be used for reference and deep insight into drawing the many points of perspective, a good read too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good title to have in your collection., 28 Jun 2011
This review is from: Vanishing Point: Perspective for Comics from the Ground Up (Paperback)
This book explains perspective very clearly in nice short sections. The pen and paper techniques are easily adapted to work in Photoshop. Anyone using these techniques will quickly see an improvement in the quality of their work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars vanishing point review, 21 May 2009
By 
This review is from: Vanishing Point: Perspective for Comics from the Ground Up (Paperback)
I have always doodled (mostly when i'm on the phone) but never really tried my hand at anything you would call art. When the urge to try became too much, this is where i turned, and i'm glad this was my choice.
Even though i have no proir experience with drawing\art i found that even after doing a few of the exercises in the book, i was actually producing quality city-scape images.The simple clean layout of the book, easy language and the way the exercises in the book build on one another will have even the most incompetent artist producing pleaseing images in no time. The knowledge this book gives you will be invaluable even if you don't have any ambitions of being a comic artist but just want draw.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars too pleased with it, 25 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vanishing Point: Perspective for Comics from the Ground Up (Paperback)
im too pleased with this book.
ive been doing illustration for over 7 years now yet this book has shown me alot
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best book in perspective, 7 Mar 2013
I have other books , this one is by far the best . Easy to follow and a great reference too
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of the best, 26 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vanishing Point: Perspective for Comics from the Ground Up (Paperback)
I have invested in a few perspective books recently when I discovered to my horror that I had after many many years forgotten how to draw 3 point perspective properly.. This book I found one of the very best. Don't be misled at all by the title what is contained inside is applicable to any perspective drawing and better laid out than most books in my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great for learning how to get perspective right, 31 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vanishing Point: Perspective for Comics from the Ground Up (Paperback)
I've recently started drawing again and needed some sort of guide on how to get perspective correct, so my efforts looked presentable. The book came quickly (a couple of days) and was just what I needed. The illustrations made it very easy to learn techniques and tips and pick them up quickly. Before, drawing background was something I dreaded, now I enjoy it as much (if not more) than the figure drawing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Vanishing Point: Perspective for Comics from the Ground Up
Vanishing Point: Perspective for Comics from the Ground Up by Jason Cheeseman-Meyer (Paperback - 25 Jan 2008)
10.33
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews