Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars19
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
12
4 star
7
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£16.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 September 2009
I have not yet come accross a book that's the definitive tutor for absolute starters.
But this book is a good starting point. It explains the use of colours and how this impacts on depth and effect etc.
A lot of other books make assumptions or just dont explain at all.
This is a good book and its well thought out.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2009
This book is by far the most comprehensive book on perspective and extremly easy to follow. You would not need another book on perspective if you had this one.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2010
I am really enjoying reading this book. I am relatively new to drawing/painting and it was recommended I buy a book on perspective to improve my work. I was worried that it would be a dry, complicated subject but the author explains the "tricks and shortcuts" on creating perspective in an easy-to-follow manner and I've even found myself laughing at some of his humurous comments. I would recommend this book not only to beginners but to artists of all levels.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2011
I bought this hoping that it would be a dramatic help and it, unfortunately wasn't, except in certain areas. The major thing with it is that it's possibly too friendly in its layout, with most things being left reasonable simple. It doesn't really include anything on calculating foreshortening on bodies or calculating window spacing on curved buildings; both things that I was hoping to get a leg up for.

Great book for beginners as the step by step instructions are easy to understand but i found it irritating that it was so big but didn't cover the really tricky parts of linear perspective, i.e. the parts i'd bought the book to help with...
11 comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2011
Extremely well presented. Clear and precise. This was just what I was looking for. 1, 2 and 3 point perspective, atmospheric perspective, scale, shadows and reflection are all covered. Every beginner could do with this. The same rules apply whether you use real paint or a digital paint program.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2011
A very easy to follow and clear explanation of perspective in drawing, with basic advices and examples.
Other important subjects as measuring, spacing, scale, values and shadows are also explained.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2016
Magic! This book is THE best book on perspective for artists - it covers ALL types of perspective: atmospheric, colour theory, linear etc. It explains everything so well that at the end you feel like an expert. Linear perspective is taught so well that by the end you will understand the dreaded 3 point perspective which is brought down to earth. It's all very simple. Art courses teach this subject badly or cannot explain it fully. This book solves that problem. Once you have this book you will have all the creative solutions you need. This is the 1 book you need; you won't need any others. The author is also an excellent teacher, artist and writer. The book is filled with beautiful examples of his art throughout. LOVE IT! THANK YOU!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2010
I found this to be an excellent book. For general painting, it covers all bases but for the more technical drawings of buildings and architecture it is difficult to follow the projections for shadows.
Deciding where the eye line of vision is still difficult to set. Buildings on hills and bends are still a problem.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 September 2014
It's the best book I've read on perspective. It goes into great detail using the diagrams. It is well worth the money
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2014
Very good explanations and examples, I like his sense of humour and tips
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)