Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


38 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A book that delivers
A wealth of ideas beautifully and lovingly presented. It is full of easy-to-create, yet original and fun tips for quick art projects. Everything is explained in simple clear words, her language is upbeat and sparkling with enthusiasm. The idea of creating "thumbnail sketches" and small format paintings is an excellent way of bypassing any blocks which result from...
Published on 14 Dec 2006 by Alma Lavandeery

versus
2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A bit disappointing.
I think when it comes to creative pursuits what one person finds inspiring another person finds not to their taste - this is how I found this book.
It's good in that there is lots of information but nothing about it made me get all excited or inspired me to get going ( I realise this could be purely personal). I think for me it needed lots lots lots more pictures to...
Published on 16 Sep 2008 by Henny


Most Helpful First | Newest First

38 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A book that delivers, 14 Dec 2006
This review is from: Art Escapes: Daily Exercises and Inspirations for Discovering Greater Creativity and Artistic Confidence (Spiral-bound)
A wealth of ideas beautifully and lovingly presented. It is full of easy-to-create, yet original and fun tips for quick art projects. Everything is explained in simple clear words, her language is upbeat and sparkling with enthusiasm. The idea of creating "thumbnail sketches" and small format paintings is an excellent way of bypassing any blocks which result from intimidation before a "big project", whether that is caused by dreading the time such a project would take, or the fear of wasting color and paper when one doesn't know if there'd be any results. The projects can be regarded as "small studies", "experiments", as "a moment of playing around with something artistic".

The projects cover a variety of styles and themes, from realistic sketches with some very helpful and easy-to-follow tips on perspective, to semi-abstracts, to abstracts, to collages, to playing around with photocopies to create original works of art. I found her division of "color triads" to four types and the range of colors they can produce when mixed to be very helpful in understanding the moods of certain paintings and how to create them. They also inspire you to experiment with creating your own color triads (hence, a certain range in your palette) to bestow a certain character/light/mood on your own paintings.

Not only are these ideas a way to make "takeaway art" in your busy life and keep you well nourished while you're on the run, but some of the results of these projects could easily inspire you to a larger piece of work which you will want to find time for. Highly recommended to anyone who wants to get art back into their lives despite the lack of time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational AND Practical, 8 Nov 2006
By 
C. Randell "Caro's Lines" (Bristol, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Art Escapes: Daily Exercises and Inspirations for Discovering Greater Creativity and Artistic Confidence (Spiral-bound)
One of the first things this book suggests is how to help yourself be more portable - it gives explicit directions on how to make your own portfolio (to hold sketchbook, palette, etc). Plus 3 different tool kits (drawing, collage and watercolour). The idea is simple and so useful.

I love the fact that this book is spiral bound - this allows the pages to be laid flat whilst referring to the book - useful when making up the above project for instance.

I've very drawn to the artist's paintings - if you like the cover of the book for once that is a reasonable guide.

There are also many ideas for what to do in your sketchbook - she suggests just opening the book and having a go at one of her exercises.

Make making art everyday a habit, even if its just 30 minutes a day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiration, 26 Aug 2004
By 
Eolake "eolake (.com)" (Lancashire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Art Escapes: Daily Exercises and Inspirations for Discovering Greater Creativity and Artistic Confidence (Spiral-bound)
A wonderful book, highly inspirational.
Many excellent ideas, attitudes, and drills for taking creativity less seriously, and get more out of it, be more productive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unblock the artist in you!, 21 July 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Art Escapes: Daily Exercises and Inspirations for Discovering Greater Creativity and Artistic Confidence (Spiral-bound)
This is just the thing if like me you were 'blocked' - or perhaps hadn't even started painting yet. Full of great and attainable projects and ideas to give you a kick start. Very original too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book-loads of good ideas, 2 Feb 2006
This review is from: Art Escapes: Daily Exercises and Inspirations for Discovering Greater Creativity and Artistic Confidence (Spiral-bound)
This is a great book- there are loads of good ideas in here
and things to make you want to start drawing/painting everyday.
It's a great motivator.
My only complaint is that it is spiral-bound, instead of
either softback or hardback;
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars looks good, 17 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Art Escapes: Daily Exercises and Inspirations for Discovering Greater Creativity and Artistic Confidence (Spiral-bound)
not had time to have a good read yet but skimming through it looks like the book has some good advice and easy projects.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Things new; things forgotten ---, 5 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Art Escapes: Daily Exercises and Inspirations for Discovering Greater Creativity and Artistic Confidence (Spiral-bound)
A great book. Lots of fresh ideas as well as ones that I once knew but had since forgotten. Very good value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A bit disappointing., 16 Sep 2008
This review is from: Art Escapes: Daily Exercises and Inspirations for Discovering Greater Creativity and Artistic Confidence (Spiral-bound)
I think when it comes to creative pursuits what one person finds inspiring another person finds not to their taste - this is how I found this book.
It's good in that there is lots of information but nothing about it made me get all excited or inspired me to get going ( I realise this could be purely personal). I think for me it needed lots lots lots more pictures to whet the appetite.
It was also hellishly expensive so I sent it back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa977efa8)

This product

Only search this product's reviews