Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An indespensible guide for armour reproduction, 31 Aug 2001
I have no doubt that this must be the pivotal book for modern armour reproduction. Each section is well written, interesting and highly informative and served to inspire and drive me into this difficult but rewarding field. The author gives practical advice on setup requirements and tool buying/manufacture. There are several chapters concentrating on specific build projects and at each stage, there are directions for further reading or information. The book is highly illustrated throughout.Anyone considering begining this hobby must have this as their starting point! Both thoroughly enjoyable and useful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential ownership for anyone interested in armour, 17 Jun 2009
By 
Mr. Robert I. Illing "Witchfinder" (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Price's book is widely recognised as the definitive work on reproduction of medieval armour. Indeed, it's so good I'm considering buying a second copy - one for reference in the workshop and one for research in the home.

Price's writing style is accessible, and his instruction is comprehensive, never leaving the reader in any doubt about how a technique is applied. The photography is also excellent, providing informative accompaniment to the text.

If you are a metalworker, or even if you're just interested in armour, this book will not disappoint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Serious stuff, 2 April 2010
By 
hugo (Cheshire,Uk) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Techniques of Medieval Armour Reproduction: The 14th Century (Medieval & Renaissance) (Paperback)
A great book, very informative and encompassing. Gives guidance on the required tools and the use of them. Excellent for reference and undertaking this work yourself. Recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb!, 9 July 2012
By 
Mark (Warnham, West Sussex, GB) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have this book in both physical book and Kindle versions (literally just received the Kindle version a day ago prior to this review).

As much as I like 'real' physical books I realised that my copy would get worn out quickly, as this book is simply a joy to read. Having recently acquired an iPad, what better than to get the kindle version.

The physical book suffers very slightly in that (in my copy at least) the photos are a touch too dark and unfortunately some of the detail is lost.

The kindle version benefits from brighter enhanced reproduction of the photos.

I personally would have paid extra for colour photos, as in some of the photos, grey metal against another grey metal makes it hard to work out what you are looking at. Convex can look concave in photos. But this really is a minor gripe.

The kindle version has odd page splits (the captions for illustrations are not necessarily on the same page the images they are referring to are on). There is the odd typo, but this doesn't detract from the content. Section/article navigation is made easy by links in the contents page.

A well written, passionately researched book, stuffed full of information, and very clear instructions on turning yourself into the knight in shining armour for your lady.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The armourers bible, 4 Jan 2012
This review is from: Techniques of Medieval Armour Reproduction: The 14th Century (Medieval & Renaissance) (Paperback)
I'd suggest this book for anyone starting out in the armouring buisness. It gives a huge wealth of information and has enabled me to increase my own skill at a far faster rate than I was before buying this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Arms and the Man, 28 Aug 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Techniques of Medieval Armour Reproduction: The 14th Century (Medieval & Renaissance) (Paperback)
Presently, as a Kindle author, I am engaged in writing a book set in the medieval period and I need a good practical reference regarding the armour of the time. This book exceeded my expectations. It not only describes all the basic items of armour, but also places the medieval techniques of manufacture alongside those of the present day. The many illustrations that show actual techniques for making armour have been most useful to me. The book is very well written and the illustrations are splendid. For me it is probably the best introduction to the armoury of the period that can be found. I should imagine that anyone engaged in the actual making of armour for modern reenactment groups would find it not just a reference, but a tool as well.

Who Wrote Marlowe - Shakespeare's Literary Hoax
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Iron clad good info, 26 Sep 2010
By 
D. Fleckhammer "Anvil Banger" (Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Techniques of Medieval Armour Reproduction: The 14th Century (Medieval & Renaissance) (Paperback)
As a long time Blacksmith and a first time armourer, I found this book extremely valuable. It contains everything that I was hoping to find in a book to get started on the road to armour making. Well presented and articulated in an easy to understand format. An excelent book and to my mind well priced for a book that is so technically informative. Dietmar Fleckhammer
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars amazing book, 29 Nov 2009
This review is from: Techniques of Medieval Armour Reproduction: The 14th Century (Medieval & Renaissance) (Paperback)
amazing book,everything you need to know on how to make armour and work with metal.l highly recommend this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A book that you need, 2 Sep 2001
By A Customer
The book explains everything a armour builder needs to know to start making 14th century armours. A lot of nice pictures of both armour pices and tools for making armour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Techniques of Medieval Armour Reproduction: The 14th Century (Medieval & Renaissance)
29.69
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews