Customer Reviews
Art


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars To quote a line from the play itself: "A masterpiece."
A stunning look into the nature of friendship "Art" clearly examines what binds people together and what pushes them apart. Superbly written, none of the rich subtext is lost in the translation, scenes flow seemlessly into one another and yet still it maintains an essential simpilicity.
With only three characters in the play Reza is able to make them truly...
Published on 19 Feb 2001

versus
1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars it is a play
I dont like this i havent enjoyed it the writing is not at all my cup of tea. i bought this because it was cheap and i thought it may be enjoyable it wasnt
Published 11 months ago by mdoig


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars To quote a line from the play itself: "A masterpiece.", 19 Feb 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Art (Paperback)
A stunning look into the nature of friendship "Art" clearly examines what binds people together and what pushes them apart. Superbly written, none of the rich subtext is lost in the translation, scenes flow seemlessly into one another and yet still it maintains an essential simpilicity.
With only three characters in the play Reza is able to make them truly believable and their flaws clearly visable. This element of the play is more clearly highlighted if you are lucky enough to have seen the play which has been enjoying years of success now at Wyndhams. ...this play ...instantly became my personal favourite.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Friendships, and art..., 22 Sep 2005
This review is from: Art (Paperback)
"Art", a play written by French author Yasmina Reza (1959-...) in 1994, and translated into English in 1996 by Christopher Hampton, is quite interesting. Despite the fact that it isn't overly long, it tackles difficult subjects such as the nature of friendship and art in a rather original way.

The plot is not complicated, and revolves around three male friends: Serge, Marc and Yvan. The dynamics of their friendship is substantially altered when one of them, Serge, buys a Modernist painting without consulting with the others. Serge simply fell in love with the painting, and believes it is splendid even though it is somewhat strange, all white with some lines in a different tonality of white in the middle. Marc, his assertive friend, finds that the amount Serge paid for the painting (200,000 French francs) is absurdly large, and is offended by the mere idea that his friend Serge likes it and believes it is art. Yvan, on the other hand, doesn't mind, but his non-commital attitude will land him in trouble with both Serge and Marc.

Buying a painting, a seemingly common act, will draw the three friends into an uncomfortable debate about themselves, their relationship, and art. It will also give the reader the opportunity to take his own position in a debate that it is still going own.

All in all, I really liked "Art", and I found the ending specially good. This is the first play by Reza that I have read, but if the rest are as good as this one, I have no doubts that I will read many more.

Belen Alcat
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great play, 22 Mar 2014
This review is from: Art (Paperback)
I use it with GCSE drama students. Even after a number of years when working in a busy classroom I hear a line or too from it and I laugh out loud.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best modern play I haven't read in a long time!, 7 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Art (Paperback)
I loved this play... I love themes about friendship.. These three friends will argue over a piece of art. One of the protagonist basically can't understand why his best friend would spend so much money on a white canvas? I love the absurdity of the theme... But that's what makes the play so special.. Funny, deep, and moving.
Would we still be friends with our close friends if our ideas that we have of them would turn out to be completely different? ?? THat is the question ;-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent script, 24 Jun 2010
By 
K. Tong (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Art (Paperback)
watched the drama a few years ago, then it came to my mind again and i couldn't stop myself from buying the script. this drama is absolutely hilarious, based the plot on common conception of modern art, it then goes into the fragility of friendship. definitely recommended to those who love theatre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars About friendship, 3 Feb 2010
By 
Fiedler Péter József "P.J. Fiedler" (Hungary, Europe) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Art (Paperback)
This novel is about friendship. The friendship of three men. An absolutely brilliant story, unbelievably funny, and says everything about men and friendship.
To be honest, it is best viewed on stage, but if it's not played reading also does the magic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Exceeded Expectations, 18 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Art (Paperback)
I received the book in good time and in very good condition. There was a dedication on the front page, which I did not mind at all (actually think it gives books a bit of their own history) but maybe picky purchasers would like to know of those in advance. Thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful!, 4 Jun 2009
By 
Callum Cheatle "CC" (Durham) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Art (Paperback)
Bought it, read it, did a speech from it and then put it on. it's wonderful!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars it is a play, 31 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Art (Paperback)
I dont like this i havent enjoyed it the writing is not at all my cup of tea. i bought this because it was cheap and i thought it may be enjoyable it wasnt
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Art
Art by Jeff Perry (Audio CD - 25 Oct 2009)
Ł17.72
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews