Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


89 of 92 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent book on poker psychology and body language.
This book weighs in at 320 pages and you immediately realise that the author has put alot into it.
The obligatory summary chapters are there along with a short quiz, but this only amounts to the last 40 pages. The remaining pages are devoted to in depth analysis of poker psychology and body language.
The majority of the book is broadly divided up into tells from...
Published on 8 Aug 2003 by Aj Sutton

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Needs to be updated.
Some very valid & open points.
However constantly looking at pictures from the 80's
does nothing to keep the reader (up to date)
It's like reading an old movie score with pictures & bad models.
Have passed it on....
Published 11 months ago by patrick mcfadden


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dissapointing / Was expecting a LOT more, 1 May 2009
By 
Lee Englestone (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Caro's Book of Tells, the Body Language and Psychology of Poker (Paperback)
Supposedly being a 'bible' of Poker psychology I was very disappointed.

Be warned : Only About only 40% of the book is about Texas Holdem. The rest is about other different types of Poker. Whilst the author maintains the same skills are compatible in all poker variations I found it hard to follow when the other types were mentioned.

It is becoming very dated, and showing it. He same to repeat the same points 2 or 3 times but giving them different tip numbers.. so when you get to tip / observation #99 (I can't remember the number of tips there were) he has in fact only explained about maybe 20 or 30 tips. Bizarre.

To be honest the main theme can be summed up as strong means weak, weak means strong.

I don't recommend this book. You can probably get better elsewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Worth a read, if a little repetative and in need of a makeover, 6 April 2009
By 
Mr. D. Burrow "David Burrow" (Leeds, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Caro's Book of Tells, the Body Language and Psychology of Poker (Paperback)
I'm primarily an online poker player, but do play live occasionally and decided to do a bit of further `live' reading before heading back to Vegas next month.

Having read most of the book I can pretty much agree with most of the comments made by other people in that there are a lot of sound concepts described which in the long run would undoubtedly lead to increased profits (or smaller losses depending which way you look at things). Having said that, all of the concepts in the book are described in an elaborate manner which results in the book being twice the volume that it could otherwise have been. However, this isn't necessarily a bad thing as it helps to reiterate the key points that the author is trying to make. In addition, once you've read through the book once, it would be very easy and useful to refer to the summary listing all Caro's `laws' described throughout the book which are neatly summarised at the end.

Furthermore, as the book was first published around 20 years ago a lot of the concepts relate specifically to draw and stud poker, which I'm sure won't be relevant to the vast majority of readers in today's hold em / Omaha world of poker. Another sign of the book's age are the black and white photos contained of very fashion shy 70's/80's poker players. Although to be fair, whilst clothing fashions and photography techniques may have improved over the years, the underlying principal of the photos, i.e. people's body language, have not changed and this is the key point of the photos.

All in all the book is a worthwhile read for the serious live player and should help anyone to learn how to get a better read on opponents, whilst helping them to consider how to suppress their own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting Ideas, 28 Oct 2007
This review is from: Caro's Book of Tells, the Body Language and Psychology of Poker (Paperback)
I think that this is a book which has had it's time. It still has value, but isn't really as useful as it probably once was. I for one enjoyed reading it, but didn't really gain much from it. I think you would need to have increadible powers of observation to really benefit from it - I don't seem to have those powers just yet... Of course, if you play online, this book is next to useless!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ''Oh wait is it my turn to act, il just call'' (Mr Nuts! AA!), 28 April 2006
By 
Mr. C. Clifford (Huddersfield, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Caro's Book of Tells, the Body Language and Psychology of Poker (Paperback)
Want to improve your game? want to win more tournements? this book may give you the small edge you need. Yes some tells are obvious but those described in this book are beyond obvious, well at the moment they are! at least to you- read this book and ul start noticing things that just werent there before- spot the bluffs, see the tells. With querky pictures and very good layout-easy to remember- take a few of these tells to your game- and ul start making the write calls and plays- EXCELLENT book 5 stars***** TIME TO START WINNING
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy it !!!, 30 Jun 2005
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Caro's Book of Tells, the Body Language and Psychology of Poker (Paperback)
Simply a "must have" for any poker enthusiast. After reading just the first two chapters of this book it payed for itself 10 times over in the next home game I played. It changed my game so much that poker has now become a serious surplus to my income!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Full of stakes, 23 May 2005
By 
John (Atlanta,GA, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Caro's Book of Tells, the Body Language and Psychology of Poker (Paperback)
A very revealing book that is so easy to read. It is one of the best poker books in the market. Fools Die, Disciples of Fortune are titles, which show that life is a gamble.Revealed a lot about the game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Caro's Book of Tells, the Body Language and Psychology of Poker
13.45
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews