Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


91 of 91 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 101 Dressage Exercises is Excellent
If you find yourself doing the same exercises day after day with your horse and would like to introduce some variety into your work then this is the book for you.
101 Dressage Exercises is full of ideas that will help you improve your horses way of going. They range from very easy to fairly advanced though with some imagination you can simplify the more difficult...
Published on 11 Oct 2005

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars OVERBENT
This is so typical of "Modern" Dressage. Sadly even judges are blind to theses faults nowadays.
I was lucky enough to have been taught by some of the great Masters of classical Dressage / Schooling.
If you really care about your horse & it's comfort, strongly advise you seek out the classical Masters books.
You won't win as many rossettes, but you...
Published 4 months ago by Daapyness


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

91 of 91 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 101 Dressage Exercises is Excellent, 11 Oct 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: 101 Dressage Exercises for Horse and Rider (Plastic Comb)
If you find yourself doing the same exercises day after day with your horse and would like to introduce some variety into your work then this is the book for you.
101 Dressage Exercises is full of ideas that will help you improve your horses way of going. They range from very easy to fairly advanced though with some imagination you can simplify the more difficult exercises and then aim to progress your work so that you doing the exercise that they describe.
I was having real problems with canter work - both transition into and out of and during. I concentrated for two weeks on my horses canter. Before this I was getting 3 and 4 for canter work in Prelim Affiliated Tests but 6 and 7 for trot and after concentrating on his canter work by using the cantering exercises in the book in my next test I got 6's and 7's. The cantering even feels better.
The book is laid out with a diagram on one page and on the opposite facing page a description of the exercise and what you have to do. It is very easy to follow. It covers warming up, looseness, straightness, rider position, lateral work, cantering, suspension, flying changes, lengthening and fitness.
The book assumes that you already know how to get the horse to leg yield, turn on the forehand and haunches, shoulder-in etc - it does not explain how to do this - it informs you how you use these movements to improve the horse. Though not every exercise requires you to perform one of these movements. Many of the exercises include simple transitions and flexing the horse.
It really is a must have book in order to give you and your horse variety in your work. I would normally do 4-5 exercises spending 10 mins on each with 5 mins on each rein. I was able to generate a plan using 4-5 different exercises each day for 16 days. It really has made schooling much more enjoyable and I think my horse enjoys it more too! I would say it is the most useful book I have ever bought and I have bought a lot of horse riding related books!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Indispensable, 11 Aug 2006
This review is from: 101 Dressage Exercises for Horse and Rider (Plastic Comb)
I'm not going to rabbit on, other than to say the previous review by 'A Reader' is spot on. This isn't a treatise on how to ride - that is assumed knowledge. Rather this is a collection of exercises split into categories addressing specific goals. A complete must for getting out of that 'bored in the manege going round in endless circles' feeling we all get sometimes - it's good to pick out 5 or so complementary exercises and then go and school with some purpose and structure.

This is a truly indispensable little book - and it's even in format that you can hang it up for quick reference (don't leave it in the stable.... a large quadrupedic friend of mine says it's quite tasty...) ;-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Motivation for training on your own, 15 Jan 2011
By 
This review is from: 101 Dressage Exercises for Horse and Rider (Plastic Comb)
This is an excellent book clearly written large type in a format enabling one to hang it on the wall, like a calendar, for easy reference at the stable. Exercises described for warming up, looseness, straightness, lateral work and most importantly rider position ! Traditional with extras along natural horsemanship lines.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good clear book, 4 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 101 Dressage Exercises for Horse and Rider (Plastic Comb)
The book is written clearly and gives useful exercises to work on. I have used this for ideas for coaching other riders and picked exercises to work through with my TB who is retraining. I find it useful and concise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars OVERBENT, 23 Mar 2014
This review is from: 101 Dressage Exercises for Horse and Rider (Plastic Comb)
This is so typical of "Modern" Dressage. Sadly even judges are blind to theses faults nowadays.
I was lucky enough to have been taught by some of the great Masters of classical Dressage / Schooling.
If you really care about your horse & it's comfort, strongly advise you seek out the classical Masters books.
You won't win as many rossettes, but you will improve any horse you ride.
I know which I prefer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars 101 dressage, 11 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 101 Dressage Exercises for Horse and Rider (Plastic Comb)
great wee book for keeping you motivated...plenty of exercises to see you through the winter.....even if you just need a refresher....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great!, 24 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 101 Dressage Exercises for Horse and Rider (Plastic Comb)
Brought this for a xmas gift for a friend who does dressage, she competes at beginner/intermediate so I hope its the right level for her.

The book is in a binder with large pictures and writing so makes it an easy reference to follow while in the field I guess.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantsastic, 1 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 101 Dressage Exercises for Horse and Rider (Plastic Comb)
Lisa is an excellent teacher and is very well trained in the German riding system. Very well done and a very useful book for bringing on horses or a planning a training schedule for a green horse.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book! Very useful!, 20 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have started reading this book to help with my riding. Following the easy instructions, it makes it very easy to carry out each exercise with your horse. And the exercises defintely work, my horse is already much more flexible. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Endless Ideas for Training, 14 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 101 Dressage Exercises for Horse and Rider (Plastic Comb)
Endless ideas for training at all levels. Excellent investment for any aspiring dressage rider. Good illustrations and useful, practical advice
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

101 Dressage Exercises for Horse and Rider
101 Dressage Exercises for Horse and Rider by Jec Aristotle Ballou (Plastic Comb - 28 Oct 2005)
13.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews