Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everything I needed to know and more inside this book
A great book with lots of information for the beginner and experienced sausage makers alike.

I highly recommend this book to anyone starting out.
Published on 7 Dec 2010 by S BROOKS

versus
91 of 94 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Home Sausage Making
Just a note to say that this is a US book (a plea for synopsis writers and reviewers to mention country of origin for cookery books, and describe the success of attempts at internationalisation).
The measurements are mostly in pounds, spoons and feet, but the odd 'cup' does creep in. Temperatures are given in both Fahrenheit and Celsius.
Most ingredients are...
Published on 18 July 2005


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

91 of 94 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Home Sausage Making, 18 July 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Home Sausage Making (Paperback)
Just a note to say that this is a US book (a plea for synopsis writers and reviewers to mention country of origin for cookery books, and describe the success of attempts at internationalisation).
The measurements are mostly in pounds, spoons and feet, but the odd 'cup' does creep in. Temperatures are given in both Fahrenheit and Celsius.
Most ingredients are obvious to a UK buyer, but some will need research, and these include some of the most important ones. For example: [...] indicates that 'Pork Butt' is not found at the rear of the animal but is, rather, the shoulder. Also, it is not clear which of the several available curing agents is meant by 'curing salt', or whether it matters.
A note in the book indicates that recipes have been adjusted to a lower (15%) than traditional (25%) fat content, which I consider to be a shame. Others may find this a bonus.
Please ignore the star rating above. This review is not about the quality or diversity of the recipes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


51 of 55 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Separated by a common language, 20 Feb 2006
This review is from: Home Sausage Making (Paperback)
Why use 3 ingredients when 20 will do. I found myself asking this many times during my use of this book. Many of the recipes were overcomplicated when the basic art of sausagemaking is essentialy simple, our forefathers didn't have the range of ingredients mentioned in Frankfurters for example.
Like other reveiwers, I find the use of American measures and terms confusing: crushed red pepper, broiling, pan broiling? So without an addendum to convert the terms to english cooking, expect some frustration and please publishers/authors/booksellers, if you expect your tome to be read outside of the USofA just add a small addendum with the changes required to convert to european measures and terms.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not written for the UK market, 30 April 2012
By 
Mr. Di Rogerson (Cumbria England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Home Sausage Making (Paperback)
An interesting book giving a introduction to sausage making together with hygene and preservation methods based on US food standards and practices

However the recipes are all based on US cuts of meat together with ingredients which make this book of little use in the UK market
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars making sausages at home, 7 Jan 2012
This review is from: Home Sausage Making (Paperback)
This book has some useful information about general techniques and is a starting point for the beginner. However, it is an American book and I found the recipes disappointing. There are a lot of recipes I can't imagine a Brit could, or would want to, make such as buffalo sausages and squirrel sausages! At 7.95 it is cheap enough to give it a try though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everything I needed to know and more inside this book, 7 Dec 2010
This review is from: Home Sausage Making (Paperback)
A great book with lots of information for the beginner and experienced sausage makers alike.

I highly recommend this book to anyone starting out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not for the Brits, 18 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Home Sausage Making (Paperback)
This book was a dissapointment, very american and ok if you want to make bear or elk sausages. Paul Peacock book is for the european market.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars HOME SAUSAGE MAKER, 27 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
GREAT BOOK but as its American some words have to be translated into UK english another slight nigle is that it repeats itself very often otherwise its really good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Home sausauge Making, 2 Jun 2009
By 
M. Harris (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Home Sausage Making (Paperback)
Interesting book. I needed to know about sausage making, as going to run a smallholding, It goes in to depth and has many recipes, it is easy to follow. will be trying most of the recipes. Tells you all that you need to make sausages ingrediants and toolsBest book I have read so far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ok, 18 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Home Sausage Making (Paperback)
Only for the best sausage makers it is a bit fiddly as you need so much time to make it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A comprehensive guide, 16 July 2013
By 
E. Symons - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Home Sausage Making (Paperback)
An excellent book for both beginner (me) and expert. The use of U.S measurements can be a little off-putting but certainly not a major obstacle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Home Sausage Making
Home Sausage Making by Charles G. Reavis (Paperback - 20 Mar 2003)
10.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews