Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 August 2001
Being a book about Real Ale, you won't find any lager recipes in here. Just as well, as properly brewed lagers are more dificult to brew at home. This makes the book an excellent entry into home brewing, having instructions for extract, partial mash and full mash brewing. The recipes are clear and easy to understand and make a good basis for creating your own beers once you've gained a bit more confidence. The anecdotes about the history of different types of beers make this book more interesting than a straight instruction book. I would also recommend the CAMRA Guide to Hoembrewing and Brew Classic European Beers at Home by the same author.
0Comment|50 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2009
I have been home brewing ale for over 25 years and there is always something new to learn. This book had some new tips which certainly made my latest brew one of my best. The CAMRA seal of approval gives this book serious authenticity and I would recommend it to anyone who is used to brewing from raw ingredients.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2010
this book is a must for anyone thinking of going over to malt extract or full mash brewing .full of very usefull info will realy improve your brewing technic
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2009
This is an excellent book for those who are first starting off in the world of homebrew. It covers the absolute basics from what equipment to purchase through to more complex matters like formulas for calculating the differences in hop bitterness values.

The book includes brewing from kits, the extract brewing method and explores the more advanced full mash brewing. This book is up to date with techniques and ingredients and in written in an easy to understand way. It also has a large range of recipes for both extract and full mash beers.

Once you have mastered the recipes and techniques in this book I'd recommend How to Brew: Everything You Need to Know to Brew Beer Right for the First Time for intermediate to advanced brewers. This covers a lot more of the chemistry behind beers and is truly a great reference guide.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2009
I've got the old edition of this book and was worried that the new edition would not add much information other than the new recipes (my main reason for buying it). However, I was pleasantly pleased to find that the majority of the book has been updated. It's certainly the best book for a beginner as it keeps things fairly simple in terms of water treatment etc, but at the same time shows the areas that can be gone into further if desired. For a novice brewer I'd recommend this book follwed by the hefty How to Brew: Everything You Need to Know to Brew Beer Right for the First Time once they've got a few brews under their belt in order to understand the finner points of brewing.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2009
An excellent intro to brewing technique for the beginner and excellent recipes for the more experienced. For more info on the subject you cannot get better than world wide web dot jimsbeerkit dot co dot uk.
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2016
Being an all garian homebrewer for almost 2 years i find the worst thing about this book is the lack of yeast details! If you don't use the correct yeast used by the brewer you won't make the same beer! I find it scandalous that a specific yeast is not suggested for each recipe,,,! Also no alternatives offered.. Considering this is promoted by CAMRA i find it very disappointing and lightweight! Home Brew Beer by Greg Hughes is far more informative and user friendly.This could have been made far better!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2014
Nicely laid out book - clear, concise information and easy to follow. A very handy guide for someone setting out on the path brewing to good beer. Cheers!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2016
Having looked through the book, it includes pictures and diagrams in it.

I have the third edition with the old cover on it and the 2nd edition, so when I compare this book to the last version there are some pictures inserted and diagrams to add extra to it.

So if you own the first or second edition it is worth buying as there are plenty of new recipes, but if you own the 3rd edition with the old cover, looking at the index there has only been a couple of changes in the recipes, such as Timothy Taylor Boltmaker instead of Best Bitter.

The recipes in the book are set at people who drink beer at 3 to 5% and there really isn't that many strong or dark ales compared to the 1st and 2nd edition. I still think the 2nd edition is better as there is a wider variety of strengths of beer, but comparing recipe to recipe there are some tweeks to the recipe, most of the new recipes just use pale malt instead of listing variety of the barley and the amount of hops required is far less.

If you look at Batemans victory ale, if you read the bottle label it says the beer has liberty hops in it, the recipe uses goldings and styrian goldings. I guess visiting the local Wetherspoon pub during there beer festival and picking up the beer menu which says which hops go into each brew and compare to the book.

I think overall out of the camra recipe books, I have to say that my favourite is still the brew classic european beers at home and some of the recipes you get a very close result to the finish article and another is nothing like what it is meant to be.

for anyone who wants to replicate brewdog beer, they can find the recipes at the company website DIY-dog
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This book contains recipes for all grain homebrewing, although many of the recipes have malt extract versions. It is infomative about the brewing process and how to make better ales and beers in the home environment. Printein 1998, many of the breweries and beers listed had already disappeared and it was a heartening look down memory lane to see some of the those I remember back in the 1960's and to read about some that I had never heard of. When I was a student, beer and breweries, with the relative merits of diverse pubs that kept beers well, was the subject of serious discussion and I can remember many times travelling across london and into the home counties because a pub had been discovered selling real ales in the wood or some such other rarity. Needless to say, I am enjoying the planning and execution of starting to make some of the recipes and, hopefully, enjoying the product. A great book for anyone interested in homebrewing some great ales and beers.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)