Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


44 of 44 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Some new techniques, and lovely breads as usual
Peter Reinhart's new bread book, like his previous titles, will give you bread of superior quality. Unlike his previous books however, the techniques he uses are very different to Crust and Crumb or The Breadmaker's Apprentice.

The most obvious alteration of his old technique is kneading the bread for short bursts of time several times rather than one long 15...
Published on 7 Aug 2010 by Amazon Customer

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
It was a gift so not sure, will let you know when I've been cooked something....
Published 16 days ago by millie


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

44 of 44 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Some new techniques, and lovely breads as usual, 7 Aug 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Peter Reinhart's Artisan Breads Every Day (Hardcover)
Peter Reinhart's new bread book, like his previous titles, will give you bread of superior quality. Unlike his previous books however, the techniques he uses are very different to Crust and Crumb or The Breadmaker's Apprentice.

The most obvious alteration of his old technique is kneading the bread for short bursts of time several times rather than one long 15 minute knead (a technique similar to Dan Leppard's in The Handmade Loaf for example). Another change he introduces is overnight fermentation of the dough in the fridge to enhance flavour.

The positive aspects of the book for me are that the technique of retardation in the fridge allows you to keep your dough in the fridge for up to 7 days (though ideally it should be used up until the 4th day for maximum flavour). You can have your dough ready for baking any time using this technique without having to mix, knead and proof a new batch. I also find the long overnight fermentation in the fridge very useful - this is great for when you mix your dough but have no time to let it rise and bake it 4 hours later... simply put in the fridge and use it whenever you want for up to a week.

However, some of Mr Reinhart's new techniques are also a bit bothersome. I do not really like the short kneading method as it requires you to knead the dough 5 times every 10 minutes. That means 5 times of washing your hands and scraping the dough off them. I'd much rather knead once for longer and deal with sticky dough all over my hands and sink just once! Also, because you're going back to your dough every 10 minutes, there's not much you can do in between... read 3 pages of your book and then it's time to get up, knead and clean your hands again, and so on for 50 minutes. I actually find this much more time consuming than one long knead of 15 minutes. You also need a good oven for these breads - 260 C is the norm. As my gas oven only heats up to 220 C I have not achieved the oven spring that Mr Reinhart writes about.

Despite this, however, Artisan Breads Every Day is a useful addition to any bread book collection as not many books use the techniques that Mr Reinhart uses here. The overnight retardation has been a great time saver as I can bake fresh baguettes first thing in the morning. And if you're ever called out of the house in an emergency with dough rising in the bowl, this technique will save your bread for the next day - or even a week! It is a beautiful book, printed on smooth paper with lots of luscious photographs that will make you want to start baking straight away. There's a lot of variety and recipes for baguettes and other white breads, rye breads, wholewheat breads, breads with grains, sourdough loaves - though if you're weary of cultivating sourdough you will still find plenty here to bake. Definitely recommend to home made bread fanatics!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars useful book+good recipes+easy to use, 5 April 2010
By 
S. Arturi (italy) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Peter Reinhart's Artisan Breads Every Day (Hardcover)
this must be the easiest to use of all Peter Reinhart's books. I still prefer The Baker Apprentice (more detailed explanations on the whys and hows things happen), still this is a very good book (for novice home bakers and fanatics as well). really good explanations/easy to follow/really good results. if you are into baking, get it. PR has slightly changed some of his methods (pain a l'ancienne, just to name one) and the overall impression is that all the recipes were developed having in mind a kind of "easy/basics/no fuss" approach.
if you have never baked bread try this one - you will become a convert too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good option to cover the basics, 11 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Peter Reinhart's Artisan Breads Every Day (Hardcover)
All of the classics you would expect from Peter Reinhart, but with his new emphasis on greater time leading to a better flavoured loaf.
Easy to follow recipes and covers off the basics really well. The only real criticism is the layout - the recipes are quite protracted, I'd prefer a clear bulleted layout to follow easily when I'm covered in wet dough, and the ingredients in cups, with imperial and direct metric conversion emphasises the US roots. Also, over 200 pages, but only 39 recipes.

Overall, a good book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great bread book, 25 April 2011
By 
Mr. J. D. Higgs (Bedfordshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Peter Reinhart's Artisan Breads Every Day (Hardcover)
This book is everything that people say it is. I have only made one recipie from it so far, but was a success first time.
The concept of mother starter is interesting, and convenient for an occasional baker like myself, who started baking the Jim Lahey no knead bread (NKB). The bread I created from this book was flavoursome, and reading it gave me better understanding of the process to enable me to experiment with a more flexible way of baking bread.

Good info on shaping too.

Worth having on your bakery/kitchen bookshelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bread book, 24 April 2011
This review is from: Peter Reinhart's Artisan Breads Every Day (Hardcover)
Good book. Easy to read and understand. Recipes are easy to follow. Good explanations at start of each chapter on why you're doing what. quite a few pictures of the breads, which I like as it's good to see what you're aiming for! Recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous book, 4 July 2014
This review is from: Peter Reinhart's Artisan Breads Every Day (Hardcover)
Love love love this book, very easy to follow and am now making some amazing breads
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Baking Bread, 20 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Peter Reinhart's Artisan Breads Every Day (Hardcover)
This book was brought for my sister, she thought it superb and has a wonderful time reading all the different recipes
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Necessary reading for home bakers., 19 Nov 2013
By 
C. B. Whitehead Esq "k9cbw" (Poulton-le-Fylde , England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Easy to read, yet informative and instructional. The recipes work, and Peter manages to teach how baking works, so in the end you don' t rely on following a recipe letter by letter, but can work things out for yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 8 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Peter Reinhart's Artisan Breads Every Day (Hardcover)
This book should be considered the bread baking bible. You will need a lot of fridge space for the cold proving of your dough, but it is well worth it. Although more time consuming,. these bread recipes are faultless and require very little hard work. The bread does the work so that you don't have to...your kneading days are over.

Anyone who has ever tried making bread or keeping a natural yeast starter should buy this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ... books before which were ok but these ones were easy to do and taste amazing, 17 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Peter Reinhart's Artisan Breads Every Day (Hardcover)
Had tried cinnamon bun recipes from other books before which were ok but these ones were easy to do and taste amazing. Looking forward to trying other recipes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Peter Reinhart's Artisan Breads Every Day
Peter Reinhart's Artisan Breads Every Day by Peter Reinhart (Hardcover - 1 Nov 2009)
£20.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews