Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great book, could have added a touch more...
No doubt, this book is great, there are no others like it as far as I am aware. Its informative and well written and takes you through the history of bitters to actual production in good detail, and the book its self is lovely. There are many bitters recipes and also cocktails recipes to try them in (although it would have been nice to see more cocktails using the actual...
Published 12 months ago by RosaCoaster

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars More substance needed.
This book was more about flashy pictures to help romanticize bitters then anything else. There are some recipes for homemade bitters, but then much more of a focus on cocktails that bitters are featured in. As a bar tending guide this book might be somewhat useful, but as a tome on the virtues of bitters it falls flat.

But opinions are like a-holes, so let me...
Published 13 months ago by Dave


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars More substance needed., 28 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bitters: A Spirited History of a Classic Cure-All, with Cocktails, Recipes, and Formulas (Hardcover)
This book was more about flashy pictures to help romanticize bitters then anything else. There are some recipes for homemade bitters, but then much more of a focus on cocktails that bitters are featured in. As a bar tending guide this book might be somewhat useful, but as a tome on the virtues of bitters it falls flat.

But opinions are like a-holes, so let me be a little bit more specific with the critique. I think that the book would have benefited more from better historical research and filling in more background to the story of bitters. This could have unearthed a few more interesting recipes even. If the author had also done more research as to the roles of each of the spices in bitters instead of just listing them as 'bittering' agents and 'flavouring' agents, then the book could have been even more useful.

For people who are very interested in making their own bitters at home I would highly recommend also purchasing 'The Drunken Botanist' by Amy Stewart. This book elaborates more about the specific spices that you can be adding to bitters and what their contributions (volatile oils, bittering chemicals, etc.) would be like.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great book, could have added a touch more..., 13 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bitters: A Spirited History of a Classic Cure-All, with Cocktails, Recipes, and Formulas (Hardcover)
No doubt, this book is great, there are no others like it as far as I am aware. Its informative and well written and takes you through the history of bitters to actual production in good detail, and the book its self is lovely. There are many bitters recipes and also cocktails recipes to try them in (although it would have been nice to see more cocktails using the actual bitters from the book) and also a guide on tools needed for not only producing bitters but for bar tending. BTP has even added a section on recommend uses for bitters in the kitchen, which is a nice, versatile touch.

What would have been nice and perhaps this will come in a revision, would be alternative methods to making bitters. All the recipes in this book are made in a traditional fashion. They take a minimum of 3 weeks. A section on sous vide bitters would be an excellent addition as these can be made in under 1 hour with superb results.

All in all though this book is great, I would recommend this to any new or experienced bartender or chef, or just to the enthusiast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars cocktails plus bitters, 22 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bitters: A Spirited History of a Classic Cure-All, with Cocktails, Recipes, and Formulas (Hardcover)
This is to enhance the book on cocktails we bought our grandson for him to impress his fellow students at university.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 11 Feb 2013
This review is from: Bitters: A Spirited History of a Classic Cure-All, with Cocktails, Recipes, and Formulas (Hardcover)
A bible!!!it's a must to have! for a bartender and not!!thank you very much!very fast delivery!
Very nice and useful
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!, 19 Mar 2012
This review is from: Bitters: A Spirited History of a Classic Cure-All, with Cocktails, Recipes, and Formulas (Hardcover)
The black bible of bitters!!!A book must have each-one who call himself bartender.Really good job with plenty of information like how to make your own bitters plus rally good cocktail recipes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not what I thought it was... but still interesting, 23 Dec 2011
By 
Mimi Moor - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I waited six months to get this book - only to discover it didn't have the information I wanted. I was looking for a book about how to make digestive bitters - but this only talks about ready made bitters and how to use them. It was still an interesting read and I've ended up getting some of the small still bitters as Christmas Presents for those hard to please relatives.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bitters: A Spirited History of a Classic Cure-All, with Cocktails, Recipes, and Formulas
13.60
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews