Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One view of bread making
Although the author has a considerable reputation and the book is very good in places I found it less comprehensive than I had hoped.
I have tried 10 of the recipes since owning the book (just a couple of weeks). I have baked about 8 loaves a week for the past decade so I have a moderate amount of experience in home bread making.

I have three issues:...
Published on 28 Nov 2008 by Kitchen Prince

versus
64 of 70 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Well written?
In common with other reviewers of this book I mostly agree on its thorough and inclusive content. It is comprehensive, in what it sets out to do and anyone wishing to know more about the 'hows and whys' of bread making would gain insight from reading this book. The author clearly has a vast working knowledge of his subject and obviously enjoys trying to communicate this...
Published on 19 July 2010 by boo2


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 9 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bread Baker's Apprentice: Making Classic Breads with the Cutting-edge Techniques of a Bread Master (Hardcover)
Can not recommend this enough IF you are keen on complex methods and perfect results.
However do not expect to find easy or quick recipes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The one essential guide to bread baking, 12 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bread Baker's Apprentice: Making Classic Breads with the Cutting-edge Techniques of a Bread Master (Hardcover)
Our youngsters refer to the kitchen at home as 'the laboratory'. Of all the experimenting that goes on, the most delight is found in bread making. Peter Reinhart's informed, beautifully illustrated, well-bound (thread-sewn, hard-cover) guide combines his extensive practical experience as a bread-maker with fascinating information about the chemistry of what is taking place when one bakes bread. This is not a recipe book, although it contains a wealth of recipes, and it is not a 'how to' cookery book, although it contains detailed useful instructions. It is an essential artisan's companion for anyone interested in the art and craft of making a variety of good, workman-like breads.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bread making perfection, 26 Oct 2013
By 
R. J. de Bulat (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bread Baker's Apprentice: Making Classic Breads with the Cutting-edge Techniques of a Bread Master (Hardcover)
There really are a lot of good, professional bread making books available, nowadays and this is definitely one of them. There are a good range of bread recipes in the book, several of which come from world beating bakeries, but the book, as the title suggests, is a training manual. This is not to say that the casual reader will not get a lot of good recipes and you could ignore much of the training information if you are a half competent bread maker; but this misses the point of the book. The Bread Maker's Apprentice is a book to read, to absorb the value of what is being taught and to learn, not merely to be a better bread maker, but to make bread to a very high standard, to develop "a feel for the dough." There is plenty of good advice and training out there - Paul Hollywood can be seen on iPlayer, for instance and there are countless youtube videos on technique and demonstrations of the bread making process - all of which is good. This book begins with the preparation, from the mise en place, the putting together of all the ingredients and equipment, to the preparation of the ferment and all of the things that make good bread extraordinary before you begin to form it and put it into the oven. There is a good back story to the book, including how the author wins a competition and spends a week visiting the bakeries of Paris, encounters Poilane and discovers Pain a l'ancienne, which becomes life changing. This is a book for real bread aficionados - no pretensions here, it really is for people who love the whole panoply of what it means to make good bread by hand and bake it to perfection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Simply the best book on bread ever, 17 Sep 2013
By 
B. Figura (Kings Lynn, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bread Baker's Apprentice: Making Classic Breads with the Cutting-edge Techniques of a Bread Master (Hardcover)
If you want to go deeper into the art of bread making then Peter Reinhart's book is the ulitmate read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiration for the serious baker, 13 Jun 2013
By 
D. Kingston (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bread Baker's Apprentice: Making Classic Breads with the Cutting-edge Techniques of a Bread Master (Hardcover)
This book has an American bias but is well worth reading if you want proper bread. The American bread revival seems to be a decade or so ahead that in Britain where traditional bakers have been driven off the high streets by cheap but inferior breads from supermarkets and the likes of Gregg's. If you want good bread than you should seek out whenever possible one of the few artisan bakers and support their business. However it is also fun to have a go yourself and this book will help you create breads superior to anything available in your supermarket.

Great bread needs time and effort. This book will give you much better results than the quickly risen books pushed out by Paul Hollywood and the like.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Baking joy, 30 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bread Baker's Apprentice: Making Classic Breads with the Cutting-edge Techniques of a Bread Master (Hardcover)
An excellent book. It is technical but provides an amazing insight into bread making. I am still working my way through it and have already made breads I would never have attempted previously
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars masterclass, 23 May 2013
By 
S. A. Hole - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bread Baker's Apprentice: Making Classic Breads with the Cutting-edge Techniques of a Bread Master (Hardcover)
masterclass for keen amateur bread bakers, very informative, lots of recipes, good reference book. for specific science and techniques of baking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, 16 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bread Baker's Apprentice: Making Classic Breads with the Cutting-edge Techniques of a Bread Master (Hardcover)
Very well written book even for non-professional bakers as myself. Tried already few breads and they came out greater than before :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Magnificent., 9 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bread Baker's Apprentice: Making Classic Breads with the Cutting-edge Techniques of a Bread Master (Hardcover)
In addition to the recipes this is a beautifully written book, a joy to read. No bread baker should be without one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Bread Baker's Apprentice teaches you how to make sensational bread, 28 July 2012
By 
PhysalisFranchetti (Anglesey, North Wales, UK.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Bread Baker's Apprentice: Making Classic Breads with the Cutting-edge Techniques of a Bread Master (Hardcover)
Thank you Peter Reinhart for converting my competent bread making into the truly sublime!
The bread that you can bake with the delayed fermentation method brings out such a depth of flavour that all my other bread cookery books feel like second best:-
- For an American cookbook quantities are really easy - its all in ounces (ignore the cups if you're British, an ounce is an ounce); it doesn't matter if you are American of British.
- Make sure you have got one of those 'diet' measuring scales to weigh out the yeast and salt.
- Choose organic flour, sea-salt and spring water - it's really worth it.
- Follow the cooking recommendations to the letter - get a bake-stone, and get one of those plant misters to spray the oven walls with.
- Once you get into the mind-set of expecting a two-day preparation for a loaf, I found it really convenient.
- Be prepared to practise a recipe to get it right.

Once you have mastered the recipe, your bread baking will take on a different dimension! I say this with my hand on my heart - this is truly divine bread!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa50b7c24)

This product

Only search this product's reviews