Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


92 of 92 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Notes from a 'quiet alert witness'
After a series of self-produced locally printed journals - the Moonlight Chronicles - Dan Price has written this 'how to' book encouraging people to be observant, and to be 'mindful' - aware of the uniqueness of each moment and the beauty of ordinary things. There are plenty of drawings, photographs and quotes to accompany Dan's observations, and advice on drawing and...
Published on 5 Oct 2000 by tim.kerry@virgin.net

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars How to make a journal of your life
This is very much a 3 minute wonder, but for aspiring writers or artists it could be incredibly useful :) It has a really cool layout and lots of interesting things but personally I got bored after a while seen as i cant draw!
Published on 20 Nov 2010 by lucymc135


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

92 of 92 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Notes from a 'quiet alert witness', 5 Oct 2000
By 
tim.kerry@virgin.net (Taunton, Somerset, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: How to Make a Journal of Your Life (Paperback)
After a series of self-produced locally printed journals - the Moonlight Chronicles - Dan Price has written this 'how to' book encouraging people to be observant, and to be 'mindful' - aware of the uniqueness of each moment and the beauty of ordinary things. There are plenty of drawings, photographs and quotes to accompany Dan's observations, and advice on drawing and writing.This is inspiring stuff, and it's hard not to be struck by Dan's commitment to his chosen path, that of the 'destinationless traveller' and wandering artist. This is much more than a 'how to draw' book and closer really to a 'how to live' book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quantity not quality, 30 July 2009
This review is from: How to Make a Journal of Your Life (Paperback)
The book was smaller than I expected but still looked good.
As I started to read, a couple of the pages came away from the spine! I wasn't bending the pages back - just enough so I could read the page, like any other book. The next minute, the whole cover came away and the pages just fell out!! The pages had been lightly glued to the paper outer cover quite badly.
Apart from the quality of the book, the ideas in it were quite good actually.
It gives you some great ideas for creating a journal, and not just about writing in it. It suggests you draw, doodle, print, stick things in, etc.
Its words are printed in a hand-written style which is nice to read and easy on the eye which makes it seem more personal to the reader.

If you're going to buy this book, whatever you do - do not pay full price for it in case you get a copy like mine!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


63 of 67 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for any fan of the moonlight chronicles., 9 Dec 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: How to Make a Journal of Your Life (Paperback)
Most people who would of read this book will be familiar to the MC's and will allready know how awe inspiring Dan's work is. For those first time readers, the Moonlight Chronicles are the amazing small zine format journal by Dan Price. Dan is the Jack kerouac of drawing and free thought, he's a wandering vagabond, who travels and draws in the search for simplicity and truth. If you can find them check them out, in the meantime go get a coffee and relax with this great book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring read, 29 Nov 2010
By 
Steven C (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: How to Make a Journal of Your Life (Paperback)
I went to read through Danny Gregory's books. I've read both Dan Price's books now. This one is great and really inspiring. The only downside is that the book is small and thus quick to read, we want more from you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Short and Sweet!, 26 July 2010
This review is from: How to Make a Journal of Your Life (Paperback)
A short and sweet book which may surprise you initally how physically small the book is but once you start reading it becomes sweet and hard to put down. The book fits into your hand and is easy to carry around. One thing about this book that annoyed me slighty, and why it didn't get five stars, was the way it was printed out as some of the pictures or drawings where glued into the spine so you lost half of it. This was the case when two pages had a spread of a picture of his daughter but most of her face was in the spine and couldn't enjoy the full affect of the two pages.
The book mostly comprises of photography, how you can include photographs in your journal, and techniques to edit and 'crop' your photos. Throughout the book you also get the idea that the author loves cookies and invites you to join him in munching a few as you read, or carry out certain tasks instructed.
The book would actually be smaller if it didn't include a whole lot of 'notes' pages at the back and a rather long section on the Moonlight Chronicles which seems to be included to promote his other work and to bulk the book up.
It's a tide-you-over book, enjoyable, shouldn't be taken too seriously, and fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Keep it simple stupid.. a journal that is!, 1 Jan 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Make a Journal of Your Life (Paperback)
The first of January 2009, and its a time for New Year Resolutions. For the last three years, I have committed myself to keep a life journal, but always failed. You need to keep it simple. Don't overcomplicate it.

This book, really helps you learn how to keep a great journal without making it seem that much of an effort. For 2009, I am combining it with my love of Moleskines. I have the Moleskine 2009 Weekly Pocket Notebook and it has a weekly diary on one side, and space for comments on the other. That space is for notes and drawings on my week.

This book helps you fill that gap, so you can look back on life in your old age and contemplate what you have done with it. If you have kids, you could always hand it down to them...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great wee book you can pop in your bag, 25 April 2011
By 
This review is from: How to Make a Journal of Your Life (Paperback)
great wee book packed with ideas,especially visual ones and enjoyable to read.The only thing left is to put the ideas into practice...!Only fault is slightly repetitive but since i forget quickly,that's quite useful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars How to make a journal of your life, 20 Nov 2010
By 
lucymc135 (Preston, Lancashire, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: How to Make a Journal of Your Life (Paperback)
This is very much a 3 minute wonder, but for aspiring writers or artists it could be incredibly useful :) It has a really cool layout and lots of interesting things but personally I got bored after a while seen as i cant draw!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars How to make a Journal of Your life, 9 Mar 2011
By 
Mr A P HILL (WIGAN, LANCS United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Make a Journal of Your Life (Paperback)
Summary Writing, Drawing, Memorabilia and Photo's is the content of this book. You can buy it if you want but this is all it covers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pocket Dynamite, 27 May 2014
By 
J. Parry "Chivers" (Leeds) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Make a Journal of Your Life (Paperback)
This is such a cool little book, I say little because it is much smaller than I expected,about A6 size.
But what it lacks in size it makes up for in personality!
Lots of fantastic illustrations and written in a quirky .
I bought two copies and gave one as a gift
One tip though ********DONT BUY FOR KINDLE FIRE**********
It really doesnt lend itself to an electronic format
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

How to Make a Journal of Your Life
How to Make a Journal of Your Life by Dan Price (Paperback - Sep 1999)
7.15
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews