Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars what a lovely, inspirational book
I enjoyed this book so much. I loved the way Jennette never felt sorry for herself, or needed to blame anyone (including herself)for the way she found herself weighing almost 400 pounds. She "woke up and smelt the coffee" (my words) and decided to do something about her weight, and just got on with it. She was down to earth and very likeable, and had so much common...
Published on 26 Aug 2008 by avid reader

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Not very good
Quite repetitive and boring. Doesn't really give any clues as to how was she so successful in losing all the weight.
Published 7 days ago by bookshelf


Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars what a lovely, inspirational book, 26 Aug 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Half-Assed: A Weight-loss Memoir (Paperback)
I enjoyed this book so much. I loved the way Jennette never felt sorry for herself, or needed to blame anyone (including herself)for the way she found herself weighing almost 400 pounds. She "woke up and smelt the coffee" (my words) and decided to do something about her weight, and just got on with it. She was down to earth and very likeable, and had so much common sense I found myself nodding frequently as I read her story. I have tried blaming my emotions or lack of willpower for being overweight, but at the end of the day I need to eat less and move more. As simple as that. And Jennette made me see the light, even though she was so against becoming evangelistic to others about her weight loss. She plodded on happily and enthusiastically, never making it seem easy, but at the same time she made it seem possible. It was a delightful story and so well written. I think the best compliment I can give to Jennette's book is that it has gone straight back into my bookcase for me to read again one day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars very enjoyable, 31 July 2008
By 
anibani (Cambridgeshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Half-Assed: A Weight-loss Memoir (Paperback)
Jeanette Fulda's memoir is very inspiring and humorous in many parts. What I find most refreshing is that she was someone who liked herself and believed in herself even when she weighed 372 lbs (26 stone 8 lb). She lost half her body weight doing exercises she enjoyed - walking, running, pilates; as well as learning to cook and eat healthy meals. And she seemed to relish everything she was gaining - greater flexibility, ability to run more and more miles without getting exhausted, fitting into restaurant booths and normal length seat belts - rather than getting obsessed with the number on the scale. I tend to think here is someone who succeeded because she enjoyed every step of the journey.

Ms. Fulda is a terrific writer and I am a regular reader of her blog (pastaqueen.com). However, I think she is better at writing essays than an entire book. For one thing, she is reticent about some personal issues (for instance, she skirted around wanting to find a relationship), that's OK for a blog but I expected a memoir to be more revealing. And although she is very witty, the last chapter seemed to run out of material and she exhausted every analogy in order to say the journey isn't over yet and she could still gain back all the weight. These are the only reasons I am not giving it five stars.

Overall, a very worthwhile read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational - even if she doesn't want to be!, 28 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Sorry, Jennette, you have inspired me. Even though you made it clear you didn't want to!
I am a fifty-year-old lifetime dieter and I'm still overweight! Not as much as Jennette was at her heaviest, I just want to lose 2 stones. But these diaries have inspired me to try again and not beat myself up! I even read this book on the beach on holiday. Who would want to read a diet diary on holiday?

Well, this book is entertaining and honest. It makes me remember that I am a good person, no matter how fat I am; I shouldn't expect the impossible from my eating. I've been doing it for half a century FFS!; It really is a simple, boring matter of eating less and moving around more; and finally, don't aim for the unachievable, just an improvement is good enough.

A great read. I've looked at your blogs and they are good too. Nice to know that life goes on after the book.

I'd recommend this to any dieter, struggling or not. It's entertaining, witty and well written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars half-Assed? not at all!, 8 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A full and frank story of a weight-loss journey. Makes you wake up to the truth about weight gain (how it happens - think really hard and honestly about this) and how you get it off (hazard a guess). It comes down to really wanting to ... And for all the right reasons. A good inspirational read if you're looking for that kick up the butt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The perfect book, 30 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Half-Assed: A Weight-loss Memoir (Paperback)
I just love it! xxxxx Its the perfect book for any big girl like me! thank you Pasta Queen x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not very good, 21 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Quite repetitive and boring. Doesn't really give any clues as to how was she so successful in losing all the weight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Half-Assed: A Weight-loss Memoir
Half-Assed: A Weight-loss Memoir by Jennette Fulda (Paperback - 1 May 2008)
£9.15
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews