Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
43
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 July 2006
This book offers a multitude of tips, photos and help with saggar, raku, barrel and pit firings. It also has recipes for glazes, terra sigillata and includes advice on burnishing that is more detailed and sophisticated than other books I have encountered.

I found this book so full of well-written advice and easy to follow steps that it has inspired me to try some of them out. Few books have this effect on people so I would recommend it without reservation.
0Comment| 54 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2009
This book offers the enthusiastic amateur ways of direct involvement in the firing processes using living flame, be it from gas, wood or sawdust. For the experienced ceramist it suggests ways out of established working methods with the chance of finding new and unexpected surfaces and colours by playing with fire. Commonsense precautions are given throughout,
with intriguing examples of work by many ceramists. You will need some sort of yard or garden, this is outdoor stuff!
0Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2010
In my opinion, you can't really fail with a LARK book. They appear to pick their authors carefully. Wonderful illustrations providing inspiration and concise explanations of procedures. I just can't wait for the better weather (in UK) and getting cracking. Probably more cracking than anything else but this book will hopefully guide me onto a better path. Love the book.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2007
when i read the instructions and learnt all of the different techniques for my course, i was amazed at the simplicity shown to me in this book. i feel that it is a good all round book, and the advice on some of the techniques is brilliant! i want more!!
0Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2009
I really enjoyed reading this book. It is very informative and easy to use. There are a lot of helpful pictures and diagrams. If any ceramist is thinking of trying out outdoor firing techniques then this is a good book to get you excited about it and get you started.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 2013
This is an intriguing book with superb photographs. Most of the projects use already fired ware (bisque), to create wonderful surface effects in a second firing. So, this book is probably not for the absolute novice but is nevertheless inspiring. The photographs show the stunning relationship between earth and fire, and the text is clear and informative.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2012
this is well executed , there are clear understandable colour photographic illustrations taking you through the processes, even to a seasoned ceramic artist or potter there will be new techniques and good advise on old ones .. this is a plain speaking well executed book ... it is clear that the contributors love what they do
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2013
I have a couple of friends who enjoy pottery/sculpting and so forth but have limited space and money when it comes to kilns. This book is the answer to their problems. I paint, I don't sculpt etc. but I found it interesting and the illustrations of finished works by professionals are brilliant. I'd recommend it to anyone interested in this aspect of art.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2013
Provided all the information I was looking for in an easy to use format with lots of images to show exemplars of techniques..
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2015
When one considers the price asked by manufacturers of Kilns this book is an eye opener and the effects are absolutely stunning.All sculptors should purchase this must have instruction book
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)