Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


50 of 50 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good information and tips for the potter moving away from conventional kilns
This book offers a multitude of tips, photos and help with saggar, raku, barrel and pit firings. It also has recipes for glazes, terra sigillata and includes advice on burnishing that is more detailed and sophisticated than other books I have encountered.

I found this book so full of well-written advice and easy to follow steps that it has inspired me to try...
Published on 19 July 2006 by Norman Yap

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good photos and illustrations
Not keen. Very complicated explanations that could have been simplified. Good photos and illustrations.
Published 5 months ago by happishopper


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

50 of 50 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good information and tips for the potter moving away from conventional kilns, 19 July 2006
By 
Norman Yap "normanyapceramics" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book offers a multitude of tips, photos and help with saggar, raku, barrel and pit firings. It also has recipes for glazes, terra sigillata and includes advice on burnishing that is more detailed and sophisticated than other books I have encountered.

I found this book so full of well-written advice and easy to follow steps that it has inspired me to try some of them out. Few books have this effect on people so I would recommend it without reservation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars clay and fire, 1 Nov. 2009
By 
Gerald Buchanan (Dumfries, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Alternative Kilns and Firing Techniques: Raku - Saggar - Pit - Barrel (Lark Ceramics Books) (Paperback)
This book offers the enthusiastic amateur ways of direct involvement in the firing processes using living flame, be it from gas, wood or sawdust. For the experienced ceramist it suggests ways out of established working methods with the chance of finding new and unexpected surfaces and colours by playing with fire. Commonsense precautions are given throughout,
with intriguing examples of work by many ceramists. You will need some sort of yard or garden, this is outdoor stuff!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another treat from Lark Books, 5 April 2010
By 
Rosalind Lacey (Dorset UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Alternative Kilns and Firing Techniques: Raku - Saggar - Pit - Barrel (Lark Ceramics Books) (Paperback)
In my opinion, you can't really fail with a LARK book. They appear to pick their authors carefully. Wonderful illustrations providing inspiration and concise explanations of procedures. I just can't wait for the better weather (in UK) and getting cracking. Probably more cracking than anything else but this book will hopefully guide me onto a better path. Love the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars perfect for first time users!!, 2 Jan. 2007
This review is from: Alternative Kilns and Firing Techniques: Raku - Saggar - Pit - Barrel (Lark Ceramics Books) (Paperback)
when i read the instructions and learnt all of the different techniques for my course, i was amazed at the simplicity shown to me in this book. i feel that it is a good all round book, and the advice on some of the techniques is brilliant! i want more!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, 17 Sept. 2009
By 
Carrie-anne Utting "Carrie-Anne" (Lincoln, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Alternative Kilns and Firing Techniques: Raku - Saggar - Pit - Barrel (Lark Ceramics Books) (Paperback)
I really enjoyed reading this book. It is very informative and easy to use. There are a lot of helpful pictures and diagrams. If any ceramist is thinking of trying out outdoor firing techniques then this is a good book to get you excited about it and get you started.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good practical book full of lots of ideas, 3 Mar. 2012
This review is from: Alternative Kilns and Firing Techniques: Raku - Saggar - Pit - Barrel (Lark Ceramics Books) (Paperback)
this is well executed , there are clear understandable colour photographic illustrations taking you through the processes, even to a seasoned ceramic artist or potter there will be new techniques and good advise on old ones .. this is a plain speaking well executed book ... it is clear that the contributors love what they do
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring, 23 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alternative Kilns and Firing Techniques: Raku - Saggar - Pit - Barrel (Lark Ceramics Books) (Paperback)
This is an intriguing book with superb photographs. Most of the projects use already fired ware (bisque), to create wonderful surface effects in a second firing. So, this book is probably not for the absolute novice but is nevertheless inspiring. The photographs show the stunning relationship between earth and fire, and the text is clear and informative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very informative, 1 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alternative Kilns and Firing Techniques: Raku - Saggar - Pit - Barrel (Lark Ceramics Books) (Paperback)
Provided all the information I was looking for in an easy to use format with lots of images to show exemplars of techniques..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An Ideal Gift, 27 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alternative Kilns and Firing Techniques: Raku - Saggar - Pit - Barrel (Lark Ceramics Books) (Paperback)
I have a couple of friends who enjoy pottery/sculpting and so forth but have limited space and money when it comes to kilns. This book is the answer to their problems. I paint, I don't sculpt etc. but I found it interesting and the illustrations of finished works by professionals are brilliant. I'd recommend it to anyone interested in this aspect of art.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Having bought this because I was moving to a country ..., 7 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alternative Kilns and Firing Techniques: Raku - Saggar - Pit - Barrel (Lark Ceramics Books) (Paperback)
Having bought this because I was moving to a country with an under-developed pottery industry, I appreciated the rudimentary firing techniques. A must-have for the experimentive maker.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Alternative Kilns and Firing Techniques: Raku - Saggar - Pit - Barrel (Lark Ceramics Books)
£9.98
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews