Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "The missing manual"
Well, there IS a printed manual with the D200, but it's in typical Nikonese, with no discrimination between key features and frivolous add-ons. Stafford's guide is far better organized and enviably clear. I'm not sure it will "improve your photography" as others suggest, but it'll certainly give you a better appreciation of your new camera's functionality. Slightly...
Published on 6 July 2007 by Ian Howarth

versus
10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Save your money
I found this book to bee a bigger user manual, without any insight information of field guide usage that can help you to make a better use of your D200. I regret I bought it !!

PS: finally found the perfect manual on Thom Hogan site [...]
Published on 26 Jun 2007 by Fernando Almeida


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "The missing manual", 6 July 2007
By 
Ian Howarth "ion-h" (WD3) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nikon D200 (Magic Lantern Guide) (Magic Lantern Guides) (Paperback)
Well, there IS a printed manual with the D200, but it's in typical Nikonese, with no discrimination between key features and frivolous add-ons. Stafford's guide is far better organized and enviably clear. I'm not sure it will "improve your photography" as others suggest, but it'll certainly give you a better appreciation of your new camera's functionality. Slightly let down by B&W images (not much help in discussing white balance!) and a completely pathetic index, which seriously compromises its use as a reference work. I prefer the content of Thom Hogan's privately published e-book (repetitive "how to navigate menus" notwithstanding), but Stafford is handier.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 10 Dec 2006
By 
Paul K Dickinson "natureeye" (Liverpool, Merseyside United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Nikon D200 (Magic Lantern Guide) (Magic Lantern Guides) (Paperback)
Excellent book on the D200 camera.I took a one day course with Nikon on the D200,but this book knocks spot off the course.Sorry Nikon.10 out of 10.Simon Stafford understands Nikon cameras and get it acroos so well.All I can say is......GET THIS BOOK and your photography will improve 100%
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Manual for whats now an "older" camera..., 3 April 2009
This review is from: Nikon D200 (Magic Lantern Guide) (Magic Lantern Guides) (Paperback)
I bought this guide to complement the purchase of an (immaculate) second hand D200, a considerable upgrade on my previous D70, in part because the D200 is a "semi-pro" camera to the D70's "enthusiastic amateur"; and in part because things move on so fast in the world of digital cameras. Indeed the D200 is no longer available having been replaced by the D300 which according to all reviews knocks its predecessor into a cocked hat. So anyone buying this book will either have owned a D200 for a while or else like me have made a second hand purchase.
Anyhow, I am does, but gives notes and hints - and these are set out as such in the book - as to the operation pleased with my "old" purchase and this book has really added another dimension to my use of it that the instruction manual alone doesn't provide. The book does go over everything the instruction manual of a particular feature and often a recommendation as to its merit, and how to set it. As the author at one point says, some of the features of the camera seem to have no real value; whereas others are important, especially depending on your use of the camera. In particular his advice on how to optimize image quality and colour are very helpful. Some of the tips are simple - for instance to prevent light entering the viewfinder when shooting remotely, instead of using Nikon's fiddly (and no doubt expensive) cover, he simply drapes a piece of felt over.
It's a useful tome running in at over 300 pages. One can either approach it methodically, it is readable enough for that, just dip into it, or else use the index to pick up on a particular point. Simon Stafford not only knows his stuff, he is genuinely enthusiastic and keen to impart his knowledge, and is able to do so in an interesting and concise way.
The "quick reference card" is not especially helpful but it's a thoughtful idea.
All in all it's been the most useful camera guide I have had. If I ever come to upgrade to a D300 (or whatever the latest model is by then) I would without hesitation buy another of Simon Stafford's guide.
I believe the author has an association with the Nikon Owners Club which itself has an association with the exclusive Nikon dealer "Grays", and I have several seen magazine articles by Simon Stafford in these, usually reviewing the latest offerings from the company, so he is clearly a Nikon "buff".
..of course whether you have a D70 or a D200 or even a D3, any of them are capable of great pictures in the right hands, but then that's what this sort of book can help achieve. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Probably the best guide to the D200, 27 May 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nikon D200 (Magic Lantern Guide) (Magic Lantern Guides) (Paperback)
Simon Stafford has a knack of describing the technical features of each camera he reviews in just the right amount of detail & in a simple,straight-forward manner. I particularly found his Personal Customisation Settings very useful along with his advice about which setting to select. Everything is listed in a logical order & there are a fair number of diagrams + black/white photos to help you . If you just want one book to help you use the D200, get this one - I highly recommend it. It's far superior to David Busch's effort!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What nikon can learn, 2 Feb 2008
By 
C. Alford "chrisalford" (UK Coventry) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Nikon D200 (Magic Lantern Guide) (Magic Lantern Guides) (Paperback)
This is more than a glorified detailed camera manual. It is a summary of what feature and settings to use for different photographic situations such as what autofocus will give tack sharp images and what to do in difficult lighting situations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Save your money, 26 Jun 2007
By 
This review is from: Nikon D200 (Magic Lantern Guide) (Magic Lantern Guides) (Paperback)
I found this book to bee a bigger user manual, without any insight information of field guide usage that can help you to make a better use of your D200. I regret I bought it !!

PS: finally found the perfect manual on Thom Hogan site [...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy to understand guide, smart tips and info for any D200 owner, 7 Feb 2010
By 
Vangelis Makridakis (Heraklion, Crete GREECE) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Nikon D200 (Magic Lantern Guide) (Magic Lantern Guides) (Paperback)
I decided to buy this guide since I've seen many D200 owners bought it already. I wasn't mistaken. This guide explains every part of your Nikon D200 so well that you think the author was there while your camera was manufactured. Has tips that even Nikon don't provide to the owner of the D200. I recommend it as purchase to any D200 owner, no matter how experienced is. It's a must have, easy to read and to bookmark any chapter for future reference.

Maybe the best Nikon D200 guide out there.
Thanks goes to the author of this handy piece of knowledge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars NIKON D200 IN A FLASH., 29 Oct 2009
This review is from: Nikon D200 (Magic Lantern Guide) (Magic Lantern Guides) (Paperback)
INFORMATION IN A FLASH. I have owned this Nikon D200 (Magic Lantern Guide) for approximately 6 weeks in which time I have learned more about the camera's menu settings and methods of operation than in the 2 year plus of owning the camera.
I have in the past bought Magic Lantern Guides and always found them very helpful, this one is no exception.
EXCELLENT CHOICE OF GUIDE BOOK.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unlock the power of your D200, 6 July 2007
This review is from: Nikon D200 (Magic Lantern Guide) (Magic Lantern Guides) (Paperback)
This is an excellent companion for the D200, explaining everything you need to know about this instrument in a clear well ordered manner. This very well written - and therfore easy to read - manual coveres basic to advanced functions of the D200 and how to make best use of the memory banks to store frequently used settings. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars instead of throwing the thing at the wall in disgust. It misses five stars only because the index ..., 14 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nikon D200 (Magic Lantern Guide) (Magic Lantern Guides) (Paperback)
Given that Nikon's standard manual for the D200 appears to have been written by an insane genius hell-bent on melting the mind of anyone who read it, I rushed Amazonwards to buy a Magic Lantern guide because the one for my Canon G10 had taught me more in one read than I'd learnt in five years using the thing. This was much the same - got me up and running post-haste, instead of throwing the thing at the wall in disgust. It misses five stars only because the index is a total afterthought, right up there with the chocolate fireguard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Nikon D200 (Magic Lantern Guide) (Magic Lantern Guides)
Nikon D200 (Magic Lantern Guide) (Magic Lantern Guides) by Simon Stafford (Paperback - 4 Nov 2006)
£14.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews