Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful book for confident / advanced bakers...and no cups!
I bought this book for my wife as she loves baking but I thought this book might help her take her baking to `the next level'.

She is a very competent baker but not especially refined, having seen the Bouchon Bakery in Las Vegas she was inspired... and hence this book seemed perfect for her.

Some quick things to note about the book (which I've tried...
Published 8 months ago by Chris M

versus
19 of 34 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Three stars, it's ok
Nice book but I have to be critical...for instance the american units and its converting made me lough...recipe for plain scones: all purpose flour 152gr(1 cup+ 1 1/2tbsp), cake flour 304gr(2 1/4cups + 2tbsp)... it seems that all purpose flour is heavier than cake flour... the next recipe of chocolate cherry scones proves that. In this recipe 2 1/4cups + 2tbsp of all...
Published 20 months ago by Tom


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful book for confident / advanced bakers...and no cups!, 16 Nov 2013
By 
Chris M (York) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bouchon Bakery (Hardcover)
I bought this book for my wife as she loves baking but I thought this book might help her take her baking to `the next level'.

She is a very competent baker but not especially refined, having seen the Bouchon Bakery in Las Vegas she was inspired... and hence this book seemed perfect for her.

Some quick things to note about the book (which I've tried to explain in more depth below):

-It's a BIG book. Not too practical for the kitchen worktop
-Each recipe is richly illustrated with lovely photos, really helps you know what you're working towards
-Lots of information / recipe stories to read through should you want to
-Perfect for passionate and confident bakers / Thomas Keller fans, perhaps not for beginners or those looking for a quick and easy baking book
-All recipes have precise measurements in grams, but also American equivalents available too if using cups (although they do tell you to throw your measuring cups away!)
-There are notes on the majority of recipes for `professionals'

Firstly it's worth noting this book's size: it is very large and not especially practical if you wanted to use this in the kitchen and are limited on space.

The book is also fairly text heavy in places, with a lot of information but my wife is very passionate about food so has devoured this information with glee. It gives a lot of context not only to the recipes but also Thomas Keller's development and training as a baker, and passes some tips on along the way. Well worth the investment of time in reading I think if you want to get the most from this book.

I have uploaded a couple of images of typical recipe pages but in general they all have accompanying photos and are laid out in a very practical, easy to follow way. The images are so inspirational although they almost put my wife off doing some of them, thinking she wouldn't be able to achieve the same results.

My wife's favourite recipe by far is for the TKOs, we didn't have the special coco powder but the results were so very tasty, and if you like OREOs you will adore these.

All in all I would recommend this book for those with a real passion for baking / are fans of Thomas Keller and his Bouchon Bakery, perhaps not for those are looking for some basic bakery recipes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A book that covers the middle ground well, 19 Feb 2013
By 
This review is from: Bouchon Bakery (Hardcover)
Yes, this is a physically big book, and if you are looking for an introductory book, or a very complicated book, this isn't for you. However, this is a great book if you want to move on from the basics.

In terms of the recipes, there is a wide range of styles employed. The book covers cookies, macaroons, scones, muffins, cakes, sweets, pastries, breads and more. The instructions often look lengthy and complex, but that is partly because the book makes the effort to fully explain the processes involved.

Yes, it doesn't always give substitutes, but that reflects the more advanced nature of the book and there being some expectation of bakers being able to figure out a way if they don't quite have the right tools to hand (or being able to buy on The internet). Some of the measurements do look a little odd, but that comes down to two factors - first, as the book reflects, they are from larger quantities scaled down, but also because of the cup to gram translation. Most modern kitchens have digital scales so this shouldn't really be an issue - plus, this is about baking with accuracy.

I often rate my baking on how many people ask for the recipe -I've been overwhelmed from this book! Although many of the end products look simple, they taste truly delicious and get rave reviews - hence I have little choice but to give top marks for this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cracking read with expected great attention to detail, 11 Jan 2013
This review is from: Bouchon Bakery (Hardcover)
Superb book for pastry, although a tad disappointed by the short bread section (what's there is good but quite limited to Baguette, epi Etc). Only annoying aspect is that it's very proscriptive about make of tools to use with no alternative size (e.g they say you should use a Ateco #867 french star tip for piping eclairs but no indication what size tip it is if you don't have Ateco).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 July 2014
By 
Miss S. Long "saml82" (Southampton, Hampshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bouchon Bakery (Hardcover)
Love love love it! Great recipes, beautiful results!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely beautiful, 15 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bouchon Bakery (Hardcover)
Wonderful recipes and photos. The kind of food we aspire to prepare at home. As much a coffee table book as a recipe book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must have, 11 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bouchon Bakery (Hardcover)
A fantastic book through and through, great photos, and a lot of reference for the money. Complicated but great for the experienced chef
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful book, 16 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bouchon Bakery (Hardcover)
I have made three things the eclairs were lovely ,the short bread biscuits fantastic ,the brioche was a delight .i just need to perfect the shapes and sizes as per his instructions .The recipes are really easy to follow and come out just he says.The men are genius .i love the book too much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bouchon Bakery, 21 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bouchon Bakery (Hardcover)
This is an amazing book and completes a set I have - I would recommend it to lots of people - Thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE pastry book you need., 29 Oct 2012
By 
Mrs. E. L. Martin "Girl Foodie" (Warfield, Bracknell UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bouchon Bakery (Hardcover)
I've been waiting for the release of this book for ages, and my expectations were blown away! I have a huge book shelf, filled with pastry and baking books and this is easily one of the best. Bouchon Bakery covers everything from homely favourites like home made oreos and chocolate chip cookies, to brioche, croissants, incredible versions of eclairs and macarons, delicate tarts, robust loaves of bread and a wonderful assortment of candies. I would recommend this book to anyone who is already fairly experienced with pastry, wanting to improve or revive your passion, try some wonderful old favourites, as well as beuatiful modern show-stoppers. A-STAR Mr Keller!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful and informative, 28 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bouchon Bakery (Hardcover)
It takes pride of place on my book shelf in the kitchen
It's informative and enlightening on the processes of baking both for pleasure of if you want to apply it to a more commercial application.
All the recipes are advised to use a kitchen aid artisan as that's what they have been tested with. But I don't own one and I 've still gotten very good results from using a hand mixer or just plain elbow grease.

Pictures are beautiful and add to the quality of information presented especially with how to fold battards correctly etc..

It's worth the money and the first recipe of pecan sandies which is like a shortbread with pecans only using icing sugar instead of caster sugar, will have you salivating so much, that you will make them before anything else. And they will forever be a staple of your cookie jar as they only take 5 mins to knock up.

The other recipes are equally delightful although they do advocate have digital scales which can be zero'd.
I had mechanical scales but went a brought a digital one as it is important to get the correct weights to ensure the best results.

Treat yourself and buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bouchon Bakery
Bouchon Bakery by Thomas Keller (Hardcover - 6 Nov 2012)
17.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews