Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


39 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth the effort
Some of the other reviews/comments I read had me nervous that this was going to be full of unobtainable ingredients and completely unfamiliar terms, but really it's just exactly what you would expect to find in any American cookbook. Kosher salt, cup measurements, cilantro, "minced" garlic and so on. Anybody who has any familiarity with American cooking terms will find...
Published on 30 Dec 2009 by David Stavros

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not really all that...
To be honest, I bought this book with great expectations and it just turned out to be full of simple recipes with no real structure or linking between the dishes. A beautiful tome it is, but of very little use in a real kitchen.
Published on 12 Jan 2012 by Ms. V. Rjechko


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars you don't need another book, 1 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ad Hoc at Home (Hardcover)
when I was buying this book I felt sure it would be helpful, but it has surpassed all my expectations. Here is a book which is written so clearly and so carefuly it ensures your knowledge and skill goes through a very motavateing improvement process.This is a tool to turn you into the cook you always wanted to be.
Clear step by step instructions
Basic Rules and tips to ensure your success
Some of the most enjoyable food you will ever eat or cook
and after using the book you can feel you have passed on to another level as a cook
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but not great, 17 Jun 2010
By 
This review is from: Ad Hoc at Home (Hardcover)
First thing to say is that this book is unweildy. It's huge (29cm square) and heavy so just getting it about in the kitchen or trying to prop it up can be challenging. I'm going to be the voice of dissent. I was a bit disappointed with this. I knew it was unlike Keller's other offerings so that's not the problem. I was just rather uninspired by the contents. Also the American weights and measures (it's all cups or ounces or sticks etc) is irritating in the end - and ingredients; Canola oil, Fleur de sel, Kosher salt, yes we can work out what they are or get equivalents... yada yada. I just expected to want to get cracking on more of the recipes. Some sound good, fig stuffed pork loin and the chicken soup mentioned in another review looks beautiful in the photo. It's a lovely book to look at and it has some good cookery techniques - do I think it will be a well thumbed addition to my cookery library - sadly no.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars evrything it sugggets......, 28 Dec 2011
This review is from: Ad Hoc at Home (Hardcover)
i'll be short and to the point as you can look inside this book yourself, but owning both this and the french laundry cookbook, i can safely say i will actually make something from this book, and michelin star apporoaches to home cooking is my new favourite thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 'Pleasant' book., 25 May 2010
By 
This review is from: Ad Hoc at Home (Hardcover)
Good quality book, very nicely put together and some great tips throughout. It really is about family meals that are to be shared, rather than recipes that can be beautifully plated. Enjoyable to just sit and read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "there's only one .....Thomas Keller, ...there is!", 8 Dec 2010
This review is from: Ad Hoc at Home (Hardcover)
possibly the best home cook book ever. Hell bent on improving your basic techniques to create simple but truly wonderful food.great photography and some of the best book layout since jamie at home with all the querky drawings
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 28 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, maybe not for the European customer., 17 Oct 2009
By 
D. Loshak - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ad Hoc at Home (Hardcover)
This is a very nicely produced book with some beautiful pictures and some lovely looking recipes however it's aimed squarely at the American cook, many of the terms and ingredients will be unfamiliar and unavailable to the those on the this (European) side of the pond.

I returned the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brady book review on ad hoc at home, 21 May 2010
By 
Paul Mcmonigle Brady "brady" (guernsey ci) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ad Hoc at Home (Hardcover)
beautiful book great recipes well worth the money buy it , enjoy!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa64fad2c)

This product

Ad Hoc at Home
Ad Hoc at Home by Thomas Keller (Hardcover - 1 Nov 2009)
24.80
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews