Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Looses 1 star for not containing the stage play., 29 Mar. 2014
This review is from: Ghost Brothers of Darkland County (Hardcover)
Stephen King's name attracted me to this record sized box.I took a risk and purchased it,after all King rarely does bad in my opinion!
This set contains on CD 1 the soundtrack with dialogue from the play,CD 2 just the soundtrack and a 30 minute DVD.What should have completed this set was a DVD of the play in its entirety.I would have paid more to watch this as from reading the script and listening to the music it must have been quite brilliant.The music in itself is an enjoyable mix of rock and blues.This isn't a style that I would generally like,but it sure works for me here!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Haunting, 9 Mar. 2014
This review is from: Ghost Brothers of Darkland County (Hardcover)
Length:: 0:46 Mins


**Update**. This is NOT a novel. Apparently there is confusion about what you are purchasing. I made a quick video so you can see what comes in the package. (Please forgive the video quality)

This is the musical stage performance written by Stephen King, John Mellencamp and T-Bone Burnett that was performed in Atlanta in April of 2012. What you receive in this package is:

A paper leather-look Libretto (copy of the play script), the CDs of the music and the DVD of the behind the scenes stuff. The DVD has a digital copy of the libretto if you don't want the hard copy. You can purchase the deluxe set of this and get just the CDs and DVD or the Mp3 download of just the music.

This is the link to Amazon Mp3 version of the music CDs, you can sample the music there:

Ghost Brothers of Darkland County

Original Review:

Yeah, this is Stephen King and John Mellencamp who have created an amazing musical ghost story. Those two names should be enough to make you want this. However, I would not feel right if I didn't mention Sheryl Crow...she just blew me away.

This is a must have for any King, Mellencamp, Costello, Crow...or really a fan of any of the stars who were involved. A really interesting twist on storytelling. Don't expect a John Mellencamp album...he really didn't do that much of the music.--meaning that while he wrote most of the music, he didn't sing all of the songs. A commenter pointed out that what I said was misleading.

This was a great way to experience a very compelling and scary ghost story. I LOVE THiS! Heard it and had to have it!

This is absolutely NOT mainstream Stephen King.. Although it contains a lot of the dark humor I love from Stephen King. If you're a King fan, I think you'll love this.

Musical performances by:

John Mellencamp
Sheryl Crow
Elvis Costello
Kris Kristofferson
Taj Mahal
Neko Case
Roseanne Cash
Ryan Bingham
Dave Alvin
Phil Alvin
Will Dailey
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thoroughly entertaining musical., 22 Sept. 2014
By 
M. Kerr - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ghost Brothers of Darkland County (Hardcover)
Although Stephen King is my favourite author I had put off listening to the Ghost a Brothers of Darkland County as I didn't want to be disappointed. I was far from it when I finally got around to it. Even from the first listen some of the songs are catchy and after the second & third listed I was really enjoying the whole musical. John Mellencamp's music & lyrics are sung by a talented cast from Elvis Costello to Sheryl Crow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Brilliant album, a great concept album with excellent music, 28 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ghost Brothers of Darkland County (Hardcover)
A Brilliant album , a great concept album with excellent music . Production by T Bone Burnett is second to none , Fans of John Mellencamp and Stephen King will love this album , Would Highly Recommend it .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ghost Brothers of Darkland County (Hardcover)
gOODS AS REQUIRED
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ghost Brothers of Darkland County (Hardcover)
thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outrageously brilliant and mind gobbling, 6 Jun. 2013
By 
This review is from: Ghost Brothers of Darkland County (Hardcover)
The format is so strange that we remain aghast and flabbergasted for at least five minutes when we open the delivery box. The size of the "object" is that of the long play vinyl record of the old days, and thick enough to contain maybe three or four records of that type, and the whole thing is intriguing. The libretto which is the only thing that comes out is the same size and we find out this libretto encloses two CDs and one DVD.

Let me look at this singular assortment in the most incredible disorder.

The first CD is the songs of the musical play in disorder as for their chronological order in the libretto with small in-between tracks to link them all in a way or another with some dramatic dialogue. That gives dynamism to the music since we are within a story that is being told. We discover the order of the songs is not that of the libretto because we are a good audience and we look for the lyrics. This is a very good idea to give the seventeen songs in a dramatized presentation, hence with an obvious added value. That's ten times better than the second CD that gives the songs in proper order in the classical format, one after the other. I guess that will give choice to listeners, on one hand the traditionalists and on the other hand the innovators. The first CD is like a presentation of the songs on a radio with an actor saying a few words between each song. Pretty awesome it is, as the new generation seems to like saying after Supernatural and the Winchester brothers. This allusion is not gratuitous.

But before moving to the libretto let's say the music is very good and somewhere between some swinging country-leaning rock music and then some more meaty fleshy sanguine music from the rock planet of more recent times and yet the general format is very regular, the way people like Jimmy Hendrix used to do things. It does sound like a good modern advanced form of music for some Broadway show, some musical dramatic production that wants to attract the theater audience of major stages in major cities.

I then got into the libretto, the play itself, the story and there we get two brothers, in fact two sets of two brothers as if we had Dean and Sam Winchester as well as Michael and Lucifer. And of course each pair is duly associated with Cain and Abel, page 31 for Drake and Frank, the more recent real live ones, and page 58 for Andy and Jack, the older ghostlike ones from the past, and that reference to Cain and Abel is in proper order, older brother and then younger brother, because Stephen King knows his Genesis by heart. He of course knows the older son is the killer of the younger son because the older son fails to capture the attention of God and the younger one succeeds..

And of course, since we are in the 21st century we can take some liberty with the Bible, and the two pairs of brothers invert the order of the model, and it is the younger son who kills the older son both because the older son is the failure and the younger son is the winner of something, no matter what, on the background of teenage hatred that has to do with girls, with one girl because these two pairs of hormone-dominated non-castrated draught animals, generally known as brothers, are not satisfied with draught beer, or drafting any kind of plan to conquer the moon: they have to fall in love with the same girls who prefer the older brother at first and is attracted by the success of the younger brother afterward and change their allegiance. More horrible that that you cannot imagine and you may die. It is squalid, bleak, awful this time and in no way awesome, but definitely horrible. Girl-friends sure do not get the good side of the deal.

One generation of brothers (in fact the two older brothers of the father of the second generation of brothers) are playing their parts as ghosts and we learn more or less that they are trapped on the earth because the third brother of this older generation, hence the father of the two brothers of the younger generation, is carrying a deep sense of guilt in his mind about the event that killed his two brothers. It is his telling the truth, in fact a first part that is innocuous and then the second part that is somber and dense, that is supposed to free the ghosts that can move on to another world. Unluckily this telling of this old story starts a whole chain of events that will fatefully get rid of the younger pair of brothers.

But inversion is essential: Stephen King rewrites the Bible in the style of Sigmund Freud who felt so guilty about his Old Testament and his Judaism that he built his psychiatry on the Greek mythological model and in the systematic inversion of Biblical references. It is a basic crime in Mosaic law for a son to look at his nude father, so Freud made the killing of the father a fundamental symbolical crime necessary to get to adult age as well balanced as possible. It is a crime in Mosaic law for a son to desire his mother. Of course Freud rewrites this part as a fundamental desire that will make you a grown up in no time provided you symbolically kill your father and then symbolically transfer your desire for your mother onto another woman who is not a relative or a sister. And he calls that oedipal of course, a good Greek reference.

So telling the tale of symbolical guilt for the surviving third brother of the older generation, who is quite alive as the father of the second generation of brothers, is a way to come to terms with his purely personal and psychological, sorry psychiatric guilt that requires immediate psychiatric treatment, in depth if you please. In other words the telling of it all is cathartic. Cathartic for the father who projects his guilt into the public tale because then it is assumed and carried by other people. But it is anti-cathartic for the second generation of brothers who at once get into a situation that leads them to do the same things as their two dead uncles. And what's more whereas the two dead uncles were only responsible for three deaths, the younger generation of brothers, or nephews if you prefer, are responsible for five deaths. In the first case the younger brother only really kills one person, and it could have been seen as an accident caused by an abuse of alcohol, in the second case the younger brother is directly responsible for four deaths, including his own and his father's. That's Freudian to a maxium peak of intensity, especially when we know the mother of that second generation of brothers preferred her older son. In other words the accidental death of the mother at the hands of a nonsensical fight between the girl friend and the mother leads to a sort of Freudian vengeance that makes the younger son kill the father and the older son. Isn't that twisted and warped, corrugated would some people say, I guess.

Stephen King in his Freudian rewriting of Genesis is making the load of guilt heavier than anything you could imagine and Cain, I am sorry the younger brother Frank in the second generation has seen his guilt multiplied by four. The modern Freudian world is not exactly a happy story.

The question we have to ask here is why that motif of the tale of two brothers is so pregnant in American literature particularly since the Second World War. Steinbeck had done a lot already with his East of Eden, Supernatural and Dexter had been particularly heavy on the subject too, and now Stephen King has transformed the sorry religious or mythical tale of Cain and Abel into an apocalypse, a mass murder, a case of epidemic serial killing. When we think how much effort it has taken for all the Christian churches and temples to hide the fact that Jesus had many brothers, the most important of whom is James supposedly the Minor (James the Major is a fairy tale) who was stoned to death after an illegal decision of the high priest of the Jerusalem temple in 62 CE, when we think of that we can wonder why this story of two brothers is coming out so strong in modern American culture.

Some will be entitled to wonder if the USA are not schizophrenic somewhere, more or less carrying in their collective unconscious the guilt of having killed their brothers, their European brothers, their English brothers, their Indian brothers, their Black brothers? That makes many human brothers they have killed and tortured most of the time to death. The history of the USA sounds like a giant Guantanamo. Are the Americans of the USA in need of a deep and vast cathartic psychoanalysis? Or will it be enough to prescribe one pill of Prozac to all Americans every day starting as soon as the first day of conception (via the pregnant mother till the real birth) and then in the milk bottle of the baby?

The DVD does not add much, except the three artists sitting; one next to the other, like the three monkeys of the fable and the song recorded in Studio given at the end of this making-of is just perfect for them:

But you can see with those eyes
And you can hear with those ears
And you can speak with that tongue

For sure the three members of the jury really see nothing, hear nothing and say nothing that will change my approach, but they are quite fascinating speaking of their work as if it were their new born baby or their teenage high school crush. They sure are sentimental, especially Stephen King. One thing is sure in this DVD, the songs and their lyrics seem to have been written by John Mellencamp first and then Stephen King came along and wove a tale of twice two Cain-like and Abel-like brothers. I am sure Stephen King must have thought of this two sons quite a few times.

Dr Jacques COULARDEAU
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ghost Brothers of Darkland County
Ghost Brothers of Darkland County by Stephen King (Hardcover - 1 July 2013)
£31.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews