Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential classic psychological guide to Saturn
Having recently re-discovered this early Liz Greene work, I still consider it as one of the best books, if not the best, on Saturn over the last 25 years. Any relative newcomer to astrology would do well to check out the deep psychological perspectives offered here, subtleties that are lost by more simplistic interpretations of Saturn in the chart.
Perhaps in...
Published on 1 April 2002

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Classic upstaged
I know this is regarded as a classic,unsurpassed to some,in the field of Astrological literature - and it is,and you will learn a lot of relevant info.
However,if you're really in to the subject,obsessively even,you Have to read - you can get it from Amazon - Erin Sullivan - she is a Canadian astrologer,and outstanding,in my opinion.
Check out "Saturn in...
Published on 1 Jan 2011 by bete8noir


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential classic psychological guide to Saturn, 1 April 2002
By A Customer
Having recently re-discovered this early Liz Greene work, I still consider it as one of the best books, if not the best, on Saturn over the last 25 years. Any relative newcomer to astrology would do well to check out the deep psychological perspectives offered here, subtleties that are lost by more simplistic interpretations of Saturn in the chart.
Perhaps in contrast to some of her work, the depth and complexity of Liz Greene remains more accessible throughout this book. The layout is straightforward, a consideration of Saturn in each of the four elements (houses and signs) that combines intelligent astrology with fascinating and practical psychological perspectives. Aspects in the chart and synastry are also covered in separate chapters.
One of the main themes is the Jungian idea of embracing the dark and sinister side of Saturn as necessary for healthy, holistic self-development. "It is only when the Beast is loved for his own sake that he can be freed from the spell and become the Prince". Saturn asks that we take responsibility through accepting limitations, learning to use our painful experiences for growth. The approach is balanced, highly insightful with many psychological and esoteric angles covered throughout. As someone with a strong Saturn myself, I highly recommend this book! Read together with "Saturn In Transit" by Erin Sullivan, and you have just about everything you need to know about Saturn in modern astrology.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A "must-have" book., 14 April 1998
By A Customer
This book has the most insightful interpretations of Saturn in the natal chart that I have ever seen in the 18 years that I have studied astrology. The section on Saturn in synastry alone is worthy of the price you'd pay for this book. I have read relevant sections of this to a friend and this person's relationship was transformed almost overnight, and she thanked me for the clarity that she gained from the information. Saturn is not so intimidating after reading this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A grail of a book, 28 Dec 2010
While it might be hard (and daunting) to read about your negative traits, this book makes it bearable! The trials and solutions of each saturn placement are laid out by Liz Greene with terrifying, comforting accuracy. Highly recommended for anyone struggling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Saturn - Liz Greene, 4 Oct 2011
By 
Ms. M. M. L. Packwood (Wellingborough UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Liz Greene wrote this book on Saturn in the 1980s. It is the definitive book on Saturn. Why read it? Well if you have ever heard anyone speak of their 'Saturn Return'; you'll know why. Saturn returns to its natal position every 29 1/2 years so around 30 is a very significant time in anyone's life - and also 58/59 years. Saturn teaches us the hard lessons of life and also teaches us about boundaries. People at around 29 - 30 are establishing themselves in the job/career they are likely to be doing for some time to come. They are likely to buy property or move to a more stable home, and to settle in a relationship. Relationships which are rocky tend to break down at this time. Saturn brings duty and responsibility. It also highlights the relationship with the Father and its influence on your Life. Or indeed your role as a father.
The second Saturn cycle escalates creating stability for retirement. Not that you may actually retire at this time - but simply that you have to look to creating financial stability for when you do retire. You may move home to somewhere you have always wanted to live or 'downsize' due to children having grown up and moved away. Saturn makes you look at what you value, what is really important to you in Life. Again any unstable relationships may well break down at this time too. Liz Greene looks at Saturn in the astrological signs and Saturn in the houses to show how it will impact on you individually. Saturn is about 'getting real'. And for that you will need to consult your natal Chart.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Classic upstaged, 1 Jan 2011
I know this is regarded as a classic,unsurpassed to some,in the field of Astrological literature - and it is,and you will learn a lot of relevant info.
However,if you're really in to the subject,obsessively even,you Have to read - you can get it from Amazon - Erin Sullivan - she is a Canadian astrologer,and outstanding,in my opinion.
Check out "Saturn in Transit" - you'll see what I mean.
Her other books are equally excellent.
If you're fairly new to Astrology,"Saturn,A New Look at an Old Devil" is a good place to start,though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oh how I have a friend in Saturn, 5 Sep 2009
This book may have been written back in the 1970s but it is still current and a ground breaking astrology book. Saturn has traditionally been viewed as bad juju in the horoscope. Greene takes a modern and more psychologically satisfying take on this archetype.

For anyone who has been learning Saturn's valuable life lessons the hard way, this book is essential for living an alternative, conscious reality. Growing up may be hard to do, but with Greene's valuable insights it just might become less painful and more powerfully transforming.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars As an Astrologer, I love this book., 16 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a very in depth deep book and it really gets to the heart of Saturnian issues in great depth and complexity.
It is a tough read and takes some effort to take it in, great to get an in depth understanding of Saturn and ultimately
into ones self or those around you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 19 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Saturn: A New Look at an Old Devil (Paperback)
As always, Liz never fails to deliver and gives her perspective which is very relative to me. I will never get tired of reading what Liz has to say and would recommend this book to die-hard Liz fans!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars amazing, 16 Feb 2010
By 
No L Coward (flintshire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Liz Greene has always been one of the best authors on astrology I have read, and with this book she does not fail to deliver. Her style of writing is in a class of its own and easy to read. I have read no better book on saturn than this one. She brings the signs alive with her stories....amazing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Saturn: A New Look at an Old Devil (Paperback)
excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Saturn: A New Look at an Old Devil
Saturn: A New Look at an Old Devil by Liz Greene (Paperback - 25 Aug 2011)
£14.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews