Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars17
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£14.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 April 2002
Having recently re-discovered this early Liz Greene work, I still consider it as one of the best books, if not the best, on Saturn over the last 25 years. Any relative newcomer to astrology would do well to check out the deep psychological perspectives offered here, subtleties that are lost by more simplistic interpretations of Saturn in the chart.
Perhaps in contrast to some of her work, the depth and complexity of Liz Greene remains more accessible throughout this book. The layout is straightforward, a consideration of Saturn in each of the four elements (houses and signs) that combines intelligent astrology with fascinating and practical psychological perspectives. Aspects in the chart and synastry are also covered in separate chapters.
One of the main themes is the Jungian idea of embracing the dark and sinister side of Saturn as necessary for healthy, holistic self-development. "It is only when the Beast is loved for his own sake that he can be freed from the spell and become the Prince". Saturn asks that we take responsibility through accepting limitations, learning to use our painful experiences for growth. The approach is balanced, highly insightful with many psychological and esoteric angles covered throughout. As someone with a strong Saturn myself, I highly recommend this book! Read together with "Saturn In Transit" by Erin Sullivan, and you have just about everything you need to know about Saturn in modern astrology.
0Comment|35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 October 2011
Liz Greene wrote this book on Saturn in the 1980s. It is the definitive book on Saturn. Why read it? Well if you have ever heard anyone speak of their 'Saturn Return'; you'll know why. Saturn returns to its natal position every 29 1/2 years so around 30 is a very significant time in anyone's life - and also 58/59 years. Saturn teaches us the hard lessons of life and also teaches us about boundaries. People at around 29 - 30 are establishing themselves in the job/career they are likely to be doing for some time to come. They are likely to buy property or move to a more stable home, and to settle in a relationship. Relationships which are rocky tend to break down at this time. Saturn brings duty and responsibility. It also highlights the relationship with the Father and its influence on your Life. Or indeed your role as a father.
The second Saturn cycle escalates creating stability for retirement. Not that you may actually retire at this time - but simply that you have to look to creating financial stability for when you do retire. You may move home to somewhere you have always wanted to live or 'downsize' due to children having grown up and moved away. Saturn makes you look at what you value, what is really important to you in Life. Again any unstable relationships may well break down at this time too. Liz Greene looks at Saturn in the astrological signs and Saturn in the houses to show how it will impact on you individually. Saturn is about 'getting real'. And for that you will need to consult your natal Chart.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 1998
This book has the most insightful interpretations of Saturn in the natal chart that I have ever seen in the 18 years that I have studied astrology. The section on Saturn in synastry alone is worthy of the price you'd pay for this book. I have read relevant sections of this to a friend and this person's relationship was transformed almost overnight, and she thanked me for the clarity that she gained from the information. Saturn is not so intimidating after reading this book!
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2010
While it might be hard (and daunting) to read about your negative traits, this book makes it bearable! The trials and solutions of each saturn placement are laid out by Liz Greene with terrifying, comforting accuracy. Highly recommended for anyone struggling.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2016
The thing is, it has to be remembered that this book was a pioneering work. It was written about 30-40 years ago when a lot of the literature on 'modern' astrology was still, often quite nebulous and tended towards a certain amount of esoteric obscurantism. There may be later tomes to be sure that also can offer a lay reader insights on how to deal with natal Saturn issues and Saturn transits without hiding under the bed covers that can be easily understood - but this one was one of those that got there first, in making these ideas accessible.

It truly was a new look at an old devil: Saturn is a malefic and most astrology-literate people even now tend to fear transits from a planet that can often involve a good deal of pain and loss. A great teacher it may be, but however much they may declare otherwise, most people probably still do not like to be confronted with their weaknesses or inadequacies - or experiencing significant loss. 'Modern' astrology offers the hope that with greater understanding and insight, Saturn transits may be less traumatic each time. Enter the Free Will debate of astrology - a topic Greene goes on to discuss of course, in The Astrology of Fate.

But Liz Greene had to start somewhere and her gurus emerge from the channelled works of Alice Bailey on the one hand, and Carl Jung on the other. I have encountered thinkers within the world of astrology who have cavilled with the idea that astrology need to borrow from Jung at all and personally, count myself among those who might not wish to borrow wholesale from channelled wisdom either. The question is then whether or not using these allows Greene to allow us to look more constructively at natal Saturn and Saturn's transit in the natal chart.

From Bailey comes the idea that Saturn becomes a 'friend' once you reach a certain level of awareness, or insight. Jung gives Greene the framework via his concept of the Shadow, where the ego will always disown the 'nasty' parts of ourselves - but which have to be reclaimed if a more inclusive and wise psyche with more free will is to come into being.

So far, so good. Now for the proof in the pudding. First, Liz Greene discusses how Saturn is experienced according to House or Sign. Some have criticised her decision to blend Saturn interpretations via House or Sign: is Saturn in Aries really the same as having Saturn in the First House? Well perhaps, not really, but there are maybe enough communalities between each pair to make a good starting point for more individual interpretations later on.

She then goes on to look at how Saturn pairs with each planet.

Next, she looks at individual synastries. What does it mean is my partner has his or her Saturn on my Venus?

All of these are covered with a good deal of depth - and certainly, a huge amount of wisdom and insight for someone who most likely had herself, only recently experienced a Saturn Return.

In keeping with the topic itself, this can make 'heavy' reading at times. Parents can be jealous of their children, lovers of their partners and try to stifle their potential, much in the way the mythic Saturn swallowed his own children. Or perhaps we are doing it to someone ourselves. And after that, there is the question whether or not knowing all this, actually, really can help change anything.....

Either way, it does remain true that whilst 'heavy' a sense of adventure and optimism does tend to infuse a lot of Liz Greene's book - perhaps because of a more Jupiterian faith that no matter how damage you or I may be by our natal Venus/Saturn afflictions, or by the fact my parent's Saturns were on my Moon/Sun or whatever, there really is the possibility to move forward in life.

Sometimes there is a stuffiness to the language and a tendency to quote ther gurus as ultimate authorities that may irritate at times. However overall, I do not think the ontribution this book made to astrology as it is now can be overlooked.
22 comments|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2009
This book may have been written back in the 1970s but it is still current and a ground breaking astrology book. Saturn has traditionally been viewed as bad juju in the horoscope. Greene takes a modern and more psychologically satisfying take on this archetype.

For anyone who has been learning Saturn's valuable life lessons the hard way, this book is essential for living an alternative, conscious reality. Growing up may be hard to do, but with Greene's valuable insights it just might become less painful and more powerfully transforming.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2011
I know this is regarded as a classic,unsurpassed to some,in the field of Astrological literature - and it is,and you will learn a lot of relevant info.
However,if you're really in to the subject,obsessively even,you Have to read - you can get it from Amazon - Erin Sullivan - she is a Canadian astrologer,and outstanding,in my opinion.
Check out "Saturn in Transit" - you'll see what I mean.
Her other books are equally excellent.
If you're fairly new to Astrology,"Saturn,A New Look at an Old Devil" is a good place to start,though.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2010
Liz Greene has always been one of the best authors on astrology I have read, and with this book she does not fail to deliver. Her style of writing is in a class of its own and easy to read. I have read no better book on saturn than this one. She brings the signs alive with her stories....amazing
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2013
This is a very in depth deep book and it really gets to the heart of Saturnian issues in great depth and complexity.
It is a tough read and takes some effort to take it in, great to get an in depth understanding of Saturn and ultimately
into ones self or those around you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2013
As always, Liz never fails to deliver and gives her perspective which is very relative to me. I will never get tired of reading what Liz has to say and would recommend this book to die-hard Liz fans!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)